Blog Awards!

A couple of blog awards have come my way recently and since the requirements for them always involve sharing things about yourself, I thought it would be a great way to incorporate them into my Q&A! So some of these facts I share will just be ones I feel like sharing and others will be answers to questions. :)

From Jamie&Courtney, Stacie, and Nicolette we have the 7 Facts Award!

Also from Colette, the Breathtaking Award!

And from Ellie, the Versatile Award!

Thank each of you ladies so much for these. You are all just so sweet and I love you all! Since one of the rules for accepting these awards is to share 7 things about myself… well here we go!

1. I would really like to be at the pool right now. I love summer and sunshine and the beach and laying by the pool and my tan. Oh my tan, how I miss it!

2. I was never a huge basketball fan until I started dating Christopher. Then I learned that if I wanted to see him in the Spring that I had to get used to basketball being part of our relationship. He played free play for 2 hours a day, on his social club’s team, for intramurals and in at least one league off campus most every year. He was a huge Illini fan so we watched college basketball. On top of that, we went to every one of our college’s home basketball games (girls’ and guys’ games) – in fact, just before we graduated we were both honored as leaders of the Rhodes Rowdies. So you see, if I didn’t get on the basketball train pretty quickly I wouldn’t have seen my boyfriend from January-April, haha! Currently he plays at lunch every day, at our church gym 2 days a week and then in 2 leagues. Yeah, he loves the sport. ;)

Christopher shooting a 3 at his league game last night! So far they are undefeated!

Before almost every basketball game he played in college, Christopher would have my put his hair in all these little ponytails. Definitely a distraction to whoever he was guarding. ;)

3. I love pizza like you cannot believe. I grew up eating our homemade pizza recipe every Friday night as a kid and Christopher and I still do that today. But I really don’t discriminate – I will eat pizza from most anywhere. Sad story: this whole deal with my body deciding it doesn’t like dairy means I can’t eat pizza unless I make it at home with my soy cheese. I mean, my homemade pizza is definitely my favorite anyway, but it’s sad not to be able to eat pizza whenever I want. I mean, we work with teens. Teens = Pizza. ;)

Eating S’Barros at the mall while waiting for my engagement ring to be sized. This was just before we announced our engagement! :D

4. I don’t think I could pick out my favorite movies because I like so many, but I can certainly talk about genres! I refuse to watch scary, horror, suspense or thriller type movies. You think I’m kidding? Even the non-animated Scooby Doo made me nervous for a little bit. Oh yeah, it’s bad, haha! If I just hear absolute rave reviews about a movie that I know will be sad (aka Boy in the Striped Pajamas or Gladiator, etc) I’ll watch it. Usually the story makes up for the fact that it makes me so sad. But! In general, I’m a comedy/romance (or romantic comedy) kinda girl. There is so much pain and sadness in real life – I see hurting people who are struggling with so much every day, so when I sit down to watch a movie, I want it to make me smile. (Vixter, that should answer your question the types of movies I like).

5. I love Panera. Their bagels are so incredibly deliciously fabulous! Oooh yeah!

6. Most of you know from my “Say What?!” post that I limit my sugar and caffeine intake. I can, however, have fruit! I’m not sure if I can have agave or date syrup since I had never heard of either of those things 6 years ago when I found out about this, though. I spent a little bit of time googling it, but it’s pretty inconclusive. Definitely a question I would have to ask my doctor. I know I cannot have honey, molasses, or sugarcane, but I’m not sure beyond that. Oh! And I can have decaf tea or coffee, but only in limited amounts since even decaffeinated tea/coffee still has some caffeine in it. (Emma and Elle that should answer your questions).

7. I host a princess party twice a year (once in the summer, once in the winter) for the teen girls I work with. It is so much fun and I love every minute of it! :)

The first ever princess party: July 2010!

So, I know that I’m supposed to tag people in this to pass these awards on, but you guys, I gotta admit… I don’t think I can do it. This is such a fun thing and I’m so honored to have been picked, but I hate to pick people and end up making someone else feel discluded. That probably sounds ridiculous, but I just would so hate to hurt anyone’s feelings. So… since this is my blog and I make up the rules… I am officially tagging every person who comments on this post. So, there you have it… Tag. You’re it! :D

54 responses to “Blog Awards!

  1. You are so CUTE girl!! Bless you- that’s why I never did this whole Blog Awards thing because I didn’t want anyone to feel underappreciated either! :)

    And just so you know, I am SO gatecrashing your next Princess Party!! Looks like the best thing EVER! :D

  2. Mmm…pizza and panera bagels are two of my personal faves too. Love it! :D

  3. I love pizza too! And I’m totally with you on the movies. Everyone makes fun of me for hiding under blankets, during scary parts, so it’s good to know I’m not the only one!

  4. I love the picture of you eating pizza! Lol you look adorable :D

  5. That bagel looks amazing! They don’t make them like that in the UK, im sad to say.

  6. I love pizza, too!! I know it’s bad for you and stuff, but it is just so delicious. And rom-coms are totally where it’s at. When Harry Met Sally = Greatest Movie Ever.

  7. is it really bad I’ve never had a bagel from Panera to this day? I just love bagels so much… I’m afraid to get really, really addicted. ;)

    and I’m lovin’ that YOU love pizza as much as I do! congrats on those awards.. they look so fun!

  8. i LOVE LOVE LOVE your involvement with teenage girls. SO inspiring. i actually would love to work with college-age girls the same way.
    i have a heart for them, since they are generally away from home, under new influences and not as readily protected by their parents/families. i’d love to be a guide to help them navigate through all the temptations and negative influences and help them find their place in the world without compromising their integrity and virtues.
    anyway-you go girl!!

  9. Thanks for answering my question :-) I think we all love a good rom-com! And I’m so jealous of the princess party – I want to be a princess!

  10. hahahah Chris’ hair!! Oh my goodness, the guys would always put their hair up like that back in band. No hair could be showing under the hats, so a lot of guys with longer hair would do that. It was pretty funny when we got to take our hats off in the 3rd quarter but they had to keep their hair up. :P

  11. Mmmm, pizza and bagels. Now I’m craving a bagel pizza!

  12. So great! The Princess party looks great, I love the idea. Don’t tell Christopher… but I used to do my daughter hair like that for “crazy hair day.” Panera and Pizza, I think you are my long lost twin. lol
    Great Post!

  13. ahahaha! I love how you did that to christopher’s hair. Tooo funny. Did it work? lol.

    Love the princess party! AND I love pizza too! Delicious! That kinda stinks that you cannot have honey and stuff like that. What do you like to eat for breakfast? Like without sugar or anything?

    Oh and I’m so ready for summer! But I can get by with spring since I get to see you ;) YES everybody I’m meetin this pretty lady!! :)

    Stinks that you can’t have pizza anywhere! BUT HEY…neither can I! lol.

    Stupid gluten… hehe

  14. OMG can you please invite me to your next princess party!?!?! i will make sugar free princess cupcakes!!!!

  15. HA! Awesome! I always hated picking people on blog awards, then I just stopped doing them and STILL felt guilty about not acknowledging the person who gave it to me. Oh gee. The guilt. Bloggy Bling is tough!

    But congrats to you! You deserve all the blog love and more. :-)

  16. haha this was soo fun to read Rach!! I agree~it was reaally hard to do that picking thing too~ :( good choice I say! I can’t believe Chris actually let you give him piggy tails! And it’s sooo cool that you host a princess party for teenagers~I’m sure those girls feel loved and a sense of confidence that only God can give them.

  17. The princess party sounds so fun! Everyone looks so nice in their pretty dresses!

  18. Yum! That bagel looks delicious. I’ve always wanted to go to panera. And that princess party is so cute! :)

  19. The princess part sounds awesome! Petes hair used to be super long to and he would try and wear it in intimdating ways for bball HAHAHA! Coincidence!… I also know pizza is my favorite food ever!

  20. Aww, I love the princess party idea — such a fun, creative way to get people together — and dress up in faaancy dresses.

    And I love pizza too, probably too much ;)

  21. Congratulations on your awards!

  22. Love your princess party idea – that must be so great for those girls :) You definitely made me start thinking about pizza…mmm. Is it dinner time yet?

  23. You look so happy and relaxed in the beach picture! I love summer. Favorite season! I’ve never had a panera bagel, but I’m obsessed with panera’s fuji apple salad and black bean soup. I guess I should actually try their bread sometime. I’ll take your word and try a bagel to see what the dealio is.

  24. This was a great way for me to know more about you! You know I love pizza too and I have to try non-dairy cheeses too!

    PS I love the work you do with those girls – amazing!

  25. I love Chris’s hair! Very distracting I would think on the court! I love that you don’t want to pick people for the blog awards! It’s so sweet! :)

  26. I am a pizza fiend too :) If I had to live off one food, it would be pizza!

  27. I completely understand your last comment – I’ve been tagged with several awards recently and it stresses me out thinking of tagging people myself!

    Love the Princess Part idea – so fun!

  28. Stacie@sugarandsneakers

    Aw I so want to go to a Princess Party! haha

    I also have a slight dairy intolerance which makes pizza hard to eat out too. Sometimes I take the risk, but most of the time I’ve found that the places are willing to make pizzas without cheese. Not as tasty, but it still does the trick.

  29. I’m in serious need of a tan. I think I could light up a dark room right now I’m so white! Love what you did to your hubby’s hair! That would definitely be a distraction if I was guarding him! Congratulations on your awards. You are definitely deserving of them!

  30. That princess party looks so adorable and fun!
    I refuse to watch horror movies too these days, too many bad experiences. Even a movie preview gave me a nightmare once. :D

  31. I would SOOO love to be on the beach or at the pool right now!! Summmmer, I’m calling your name! ;) omg that princess party looks bomb. You girls all look so pretty and ahh! it just looks like so much fun!! love the idea! :)

  32. i love christopher’s hairstyle hahah.. you’re so right. that’s a total distraction to his opponent! haha

    you should come over to the philippines and bring back your tan! =p so many beautiful beaches here! =D

    …and congrats on the awards!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  33. This is such a fun post! I love learning random things about people…it makes me feel like I know them so much better :)

  34. First off, you have made me want to go into the kitchen and whip up and homemade pizza!! Yum! Second, I love Panera and their bagels and cream cheese, and soups and breadbowls, and salads..i could go on forever!! Third, so glad to have found your blog! :)

  35. Pizza!!! I cant ever get enough of it!! I want a princess party!!!!! Those teens will forever remember the positive impact you have had on their lives. You are amazing!

  36. Oh how I wish I was sitting my the pool right now too..summer cannot come fast enough! Haha! :)

  37. aww princess diaries?? I love this post!

  38. I’m in love with Panera, and those mini ponytails!

  39. I love Panera, and those mini ponytails!

  40. Hehe, I’m also terrified by scary/creepy movies, but I adore them XD I’m weird like that.
    The princess parties sound so awesome and sweet!

  41. Oh my gosh, I can’t get over his hair! haha!

    A princess party sounds like so much fun! I love getting dressed up for special occasions! What do the parties consist of?

  42. I’m the same exact way about pizza!!! Definitely the best food ever!! And the pic of Christopher’s hair!! So funny!

  43. Princess party?!?! That sounds like so much fun :)!!! I’m obsessed with pizza too. Did you ever hear people say…pizza’s so good, even when it’s bad it’s still good!

  44. i love pizza too. I am quite obsessed. it just tastes so freakin; good!!!

  45. I WANT TO GO TO THE PRINCESS PARTY!

    At least you know not only is the homemade pizza made with soy cheese, but with love. :)

  46. That princess party is so cute! i want to come :)

  47. Ha1 Love the Princess Party! It looks like so much fun- how cute!

  48. Haha! I LOVE the ponytails! I’m with you on scary movies! I can’t even remember the last time I watched one.

  49. i feel really spoiled saying this but i can’t even imagine not having a hot shower! we are so blessed here in the U.S…..and ok your princess parties sound too cute, i wanna hear more about them!! :)

  50. lol! i used to put my dad’s hair in those little ponytails when i was a kid!

  51. A princess party! Should be mandatory for everyone! I love this idea so, so much…

  52. PRINCESS PARTY?! I am beyond jealous! I love dressing up all pretty for no good reason :) And then wearing jeans and a t shirt every other day lolll :)

    You are so pretty, Rach, really. :) You have a wonderful smile!

    I loved learning more about you. :)

  53. LOVE Panera bagels!!! I once had a friend who worked at Panera, and she would give me bags of day-old bagels in exchange for homemade brownies :)

  54. Those girls must love the princess party! I think I’d have fun too…. ;) Any excuse to dress up!!

Leave a Reply

