Numbers on the Scale

Carlee: How often do you weigh yourself?

I go through stages with weighing myself. Sometimes I do it as often as every day or at least every other day and other times I don’t look at the scale for weeks. Like, right now, I can’t remember the last time I weighed myself, but my clothes fit well so I’m not worried about it. I have kind of a scary number that I refuse to weigh more than so if I find that I’m getting close to it then I just make sure that I am being mindful in my eating. I don’t obsess over the numbers like I used to, though.

I will say this, though, “The numbers on the scale no longer define me.” End of story. :)

On a related note, I thought I would share my thoughts on calories and food. Please note, this is what works for me. I am not recommending this for anyone else. :) When I’m not concerned about my weight (most of the Spring/Summer/Fall since I spend so much time being active outside) I really don’t worry about calories. I try to only eat 1 serving at meal times and to only eat when I’m hungry and that works. However, I never limit the number of raw fruits or veggies I can have. I don’t want to skimp on healthy stuff just because I’m concerned about the calories. So I just don’t worry about it. If I want a banana, I eat an banana. :)

During the winter, I’m too cold to spend a lot of time playing outside so I have to workout indoors (treadmill, workout dvds, etc) and I try to watch my calories a little better. Breakfast and lunch are normally 200-400 calories. The reason I eat so light during the day is quite simply because I want to have freedom to eat whatever I want at dinner. Dinner is our family time. Christopher, Tony and I all gather around the table and talk about our days and thoughts and feelings. Sometimes we get into politics or religion. It’s always good conversation. And we love to eat while we talk. So in general, I expect to consume 800-1000 calories at dinner and I’m okay with that. So the least possible number of calories I might eat is 1200 and the most is 1800. And you know what, that is the perfect range for me. :)

I know lots of people argue that you need to eat a huge breakfast and snack throughout the day, but I don’t believe in cookie-cutter food plans. I listen to my body. I feed it when it asks me to. And believe me, eating breakfast at all is a huge improvement from my college days when I skipped the meal entirely. I’m just not normally hungry in the morning. Okies, enough about this!

Since we’re talking about food… let’s LOOK at some food too!

Remember that scone recipe I promised? It’s up and ready for you to go and make! If you want to make the original recipe, you can find it here on Jessica’s page (it’s her friend’s sister’s recipe) or if you want to make the sugar free version you can find it at the link below. :)


Chocolate Chip Scones

Ingredients:

3 1/4 cups flour
1/3 cup Splenda
2 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
3/4 cups cold butter
1 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup sugar free chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425.

2. In large bowl combine dry ingredients. Cut in butter until it forms coarse crumbs. Stir in buttermilk and vanilla. Fold in chocolate chips. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead gently.

3. Divide in half and pat into 7 inch round circles. Brush with melted butter and sprinkle with coarse sugar. Cut into 6 or 8 wedges.

4. Bake at 425 for 13-15 minutes.


BLT Spaghetti
(thank you, Rachael Ray)

Ingredients:

1 onion (original recipe called for leeks, but I don’t like ‘em), minced
2 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
6 slices center-cut bacon, thinly sliced
3 cloves garlic, very thinly sliced or chopped
Salt and pepper
1 28-ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 tbsp Italian seasoning
1/4 cup flat-leaf parsley, chopped
1 pound spaghetti
Freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
A handful of fresh basil, thinly sliced or chopped

Directions:

1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil for the pasta. Cook pasta until al dente.

2. Heat a deep skillet over medium-high heat with EVOO, 2 turns of the pan. Add bacon and crisp. Add onion and garlic, cook 2-3 minutes to soften. Season liberally with black pepper.

3. Add crushed tomatoes and Italian seasoning to pan. Bring up to a simmer and let thicken over low heat while you cook pasta. Stir in parsley.

4. Drain pasta and toss with sauce for a minute or so. Serve in shallow bowls with cheese and basil on top


Turkey Cheese Melt

Ingredients:

3 tbsp reduced calorie mayonnaise
2 tsp ground chili powder
2 tsp onion powder
8 (1oz) slices lean turkey breast
4 (3/4oz) slices French bread, toasted
1 small avocado, peeled and cut into 8 slices
4 (1oz) slices Colby Jack cheese
Dash of ground red pepper

Directions:

1. Combine first 3 ingredients in a small bowl, stirring well

2. Place 2 slices turkey on each bread slice; spread half of mayo mixture over turkey. Top each with 2 slices avocado and remaining mayo mixture. Top each with 1 slice of cheese

3. Broil 5 1/2″ from heat (with electric oven door opened) 5 minutes or until cheese melts

4. Sprinkle with red pepper. Serve warm.

Have a super fabulous weekend! My sister and her family will be here tonight and I am SO excited! Expect to see pictures of some seriously beautiful faces soon! :)

49 responses to “Numbers on the Scale

  1. BLT spaghetti! holy cow. i’ve got to try this!

  2. Those scones are happening when I get back to the states. For sure!! :)

  3. I think we are exactly on par with our calorie intake. Crazy! I like to save most of my calories for the evening as well. And my intake (during the week) is about 1300-1600 depending if I got a good workout in!

  4. Turkey Cheese Melt….OMG It looks soooooo good.

  5. Love your viewpoint, Rach — eat what you want, when you want, and when your body tells you it’s hungry! So happy that YOU are at such a happy place now :) And don’t ever feel like you need to “defend” yourself to others. Thank you for sharing!! You’re a great role model :)

  6. Ah so many yummy pictures!!! I use to weigh myself everyday but I gave up on that. I started to get really sensitive when my weight fluctuated and never realized that its a normal part of life! I’m just taking it day by day, counting my calories and eating right :D

  7. holyyyy moly! That turkey cheese melt looks insane rach!!!!

    I totally agree. People in the blog world seem to FARRREAAAK out if you eat 1600 per day. only if its one day. ya know? no day will be perfect. If i eat 2100 one day and don’t excersise and 1400 the next day? NBD. Our bodies will do what they want. I agree with you to a T. that is why I don’t post everything I eat. cuz right now I AM trying to lose weight Enter: EVERYBODY in the blog world freaks out. and I don’t want that. I am eating a very very healthy amount for my body to lose weight and I upped the cardio.

    I completely agree with the scale. I might weigh myself once a week. I really try to go by what I see.

    This morning I looked in the mirror and I can tell my body is looking a little more trim and I was about to weigh myself. Honestly I could not bring myself to do it for the fear it would “get to me today”. So i did not.

    I am very mature when it comes to this now because it used to define my every mood.

    I know when I can step on or when I can’t.

    Love your view! Completely! Whatever works for YOU!

  8. Oh my goodness all of that food looks SOOOOO good…and it’s making me very hungry! But…I JUST ate lunch- hahaha :D …especially the scones- YUM!

  9. Ahhh, all of those look soooo delicious! I love your perspective on things!

  10. I think your viewpoint is GREAT!! I love how you are so chill about it! :)

    And those chocolate chip scones are CALLING to me!! They look SO good!! :D

  11. I only have to look at food to put on weight. Is it possible to absorb calories? I don’t do enough exercise. Fact. :(

  12. I try to have about the same number as calories as you too!
    And all your food looks amazinggg :) You need to start posting it more often!!

  13. Wow, the chocolate chip scones look amazing!! And I’m loving the BLT spaghetti. I’m still checking the scale pretty regularly, but I’m trying to cut back. I love that you have your own eating plan and you don’t care if it matches anyone else’s! That’s the way to go :) We’re all different, and just as long as we all listen to our bodies, I think that’s fine :)

  14. I do not own a scale. I cook and eat what my body craves… Most of my cravings aren’t fatty foods… Chocolate Chip Scones look terrific!

  15. Hi sista! I totally think like you do in regards to eating and fitness. Listening to my body is what keeps me healthy and active. I eat big breakfasts usually, as well as big dinner. Not necessarily over indulging, but you know what I mean. :D And perfect sized portions throughout the day! This helps with digestion and I never feeel deprived or anything. So good to know you do this too! :P I feel like dinner is so important with loved ones, and therefore ‘easier’ to eat a lot…haha!

  16. totally agree – we all have kind of a system of whatever works for us in terms of meals and eating. Everything looks delicious – the crock pot chicken even looks tender. Yum! Have a great weekend!

  17. I love how you do whats best for you and not worry about “the rules” that so many people live by. Ive been doing the same! Esp since Im not trying to lose weight, I just trust that my body knows what it needs!

  18. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on calories. A lot of bloggers claim to live by the “don’t count period” method..and honestly, I don’t think half the people who claim that actually live by that, so it’s nice to hear someone admitting that they do watch calories, even if you don’t all the time. I actually keep a food diary and track my calories mainly to make sure I’m getting enough…because if I don’t, I’ll undereat and start to lose weight again since I work out so intensely. But it’s tracking calories period that make people think it’s to lose weight or limit food…which it’s not always, obviously.

  19. Weight has been a constant struggle for me for most of my life… Up and down, up and down… At this point in time I am on the “up” side and have just begun to work on heading back “down.” It’s hard for me… but as in anything else, having faith, will power and determination is important… I know I’ll begin to see and FEEL a change soon. Have a wonderful weekend Rach… Enjoy your sister time :)

  20. That’s the range I try to shoot for too. I still have my scale and use it about once a week. I feel no guilt or shame in that nor do I find guilt and shame if the number goes up a little sometimes. It doesn’t define me but it doesn’t mean I don’t want to know sometimes. :)

    Have a great weekend!

  21. I hope you have fun with your family! All of your pictures looked so wonderful! I will most definitely have to try to make those chocolate chip scones very soon! :)

  22. I love hearing this because I eat similarly. I eat way less during the day, but at night I like to snack. It helps break up my homework, studying, and all the other things I need to get done. I end up having about 600 calories worth of snacks (healthy, balanced snacks that would be components of a meal) after dinner. Most people think it’s bizarre, but it works for me!

    I looked at the chocolate chip scone recipe! What kind of sugar free chocolate chips do you use?

    • When I was in college, I was the same way! Though I have to admit, my late night snacks were not anywhere near “healthy” haha! Usually it was whatever I found in the student center (normally coffee, tacos, or pizza). ;)

      Hershey’s sugar free chocolate chips. Mostly because they are the only ones I’ve found available in this area. They are crazy expensive, though. :( Like $5 for a small bag. So I try to use them sparingly, haha!

  23. That is the same calorie range I try to shoot for too. I very healthy for breakfast and lunch, but sometimes I swear I don’t know what happens at night. I get some major cravings…but I noticed that if I brush my teeth, it doesn’t sound appealing anymore. Nothing is worse than eating something right after brushing your teeth. Haha! Those scones look amazing…Yum! :)

  24. AMEN girl! me and my mom threw our bathroom scale out ceremoniously when i was in grade 12. it was about time since we were so tired of having it decipher whether we would be happy that day or not!

    xoxo

  25. btw- FREAKING WANT ONE OF THOSE CHOCOLATE CHIP SCONES!!! NOW!! <3

  26. All of that food looks DELICIOUS!!!

    Have fun with your sister and her fam this weekend! :-)

  27. I love your outlook on food/calories. Listening to our bodies is so important!!! Numbers don’t define us :)

    The turkey melt and winter pasta look amazing…now I’m craving some pastaaaa !!!!

  28. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    Great you’ve found such a fine calorie balance! I believe listening to your body is key. I’m not a big breakfast eater (or even a breakfst eater at all) either, although everybody says it was *soooooooo healthy*. Unfortunately, it makes me feel sick. :( I rather eat more later in the day.

  29. BLT spaghetti sounds incredible :D I love your attitude about cals and weighing yourself–seems like a REALLY healthy attitude :)

  30. I loved hearing your thoughts on this! I used to be a bit obsessive when it came to weighing myself…every morning, after using the restroom and before showering…and then I would form my mood for the day, which most of the time was negative. I actually packed up the scale and put it away for months, but just recently got it back out out of curiosity…yeah, it’s back in the box now! I, like you, have a “magic number” that I’d like to stay under, but I figure by just listening to my body and paying attention to how my clothes fit, that I should do just fine. And that way, I don’t ruin my day obsessing about a number!

    PS, that turkey melt looks fantastic!

  31. Oh man, that turkey melt looks awesome and I am a vegetarian! :)

    I love chocolate chip scones, but I end up making the biggest messes with my 6 cups of flour flung everywhere. I think I am the messiest baker ever!

    Thanks for your honest answers to these food/calorie questions. It’s nice to see how others approach food issues.

  32. The Mexican Crock Pot Chicken looks so yummy!

  33. All of those look so delicious!! Especially the mexican crock pot chicken!

  34. I’ve been fat all my teen years and I’ve always struggled with weight until I gradually lost weight after college. Since then, I’d never weighed myself as much.

    I don’t usually like eating much for breakfast and I promised to eat less during dinner but like you.. I eat dinner with Hubby so it’s hard not to eat much ‘coz I enjoy out dinner table conversation with food~

    love these foods! woah!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  35. Oh goooosh those scones look so perfect! Your food looks incredibly tasty, girl. Man, I don’t even want to think about the weighing thing. My hubby and I weight ourselves once a week just to keep things in track, but recently with the numbers creeping up a tad each week I find myself so blue. It’s un-motivating, ya know? But also helps me push a little harder during workouts and watch how much I eat, eat, and eat :)

    I love eating huge breakfasts’ since those calories are burnt off during the day, then a nice-sized lunch and a mini-dinner, making sure I save room for something sweet!!

  36. I’m so predictable… I’m most in love with the scones ;) I think calorie counting can be a very slippery slope for many people, but if you’re able to control it rather than letting it control you, then you’re golden :P

  37. Mmmm that Mexican crock pot chicken looks delicious!

  38. Love that scones!!

    As regards calories and scale, I have a different approach, while I weigh myself every day, just as a habit since I see the scale and I step on it, but my weigh is quite always the same, so it’s really only an habit for me (and in general I’m more concerned about the loss of muscle tone than the weight if I don’t exercise for a long time). I don’t count calories, I work with number all day long for school so I give my brain a rest when it comes to the food =)

  39. Ahh I am totally the same with weighing myself! Sometimes it’s everyday and sometimes it’s once a month – if that! I love how you said “I do not believe in cookie-cutter food plans”. I completely agree :D

  40. I have such a bad habit of weighing myself every morning. I’ve been getting better though. I do stay away from it when I know I haven’t been eating too well and I don’t want to get discouraged. You’re right that listening to your body is the best thing. All that food looked so yummy!!

  41. I still weigh myself pretty often, I can’t seem to shake the habit!! Maybe some day!

    Those scones are beautiful!! I have been really wanting to make some, this post makes me want to make them right now!!!

  42. All of those dishes look delicious!! I am so glad you talked about the infamous scale! I used to obsess over the number on the scale but now I eat when I’m hungry and that’s that. Although I too, have a number on the scale that if I start drifting towards it…I might reevaluate my eating and exercise habits and make a few changes. On that note, I’m going to enjoy a yummy breakfast! :)

  43. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts about these “weighty” issues, Rach! Whether we like to admit it or not, I think most food/fitness bloggers are acutely aware of numbers on the both the scale and the label. I 100% agree with your laid-back, balanced approach. Life is too short to obsess about being that “perfect” weight! As long as we’re eating mostly healthy foods, getting sufficient exercise and engaging with others, we’ll be healthy and happy. :-)

  44. I love your outlook on food and weight. I weigh myself about once a week, and I have a “scary” number that I don’t want myself to get above. If I’m under that and my clothes are fitting with no problem – there’s nothing to worry about :)

  45. Ok, all that food looks SO good! But I definitely think I need to try the mexican chicken in the crockpot – yum!

  46. I love your food philosophy and how you don’t let calories and your weigh define who you are. I struggle with my body image a ton but I’m working on it. I’m always looking back thinking I looked skinnier but never feel it! Your food pictures are amazing! Some creative ideas and recipes I will have to try and things I’ve never even thought of!

  47. I hope there is a day where the scale doesn’t define me but I am not there yet :(

  48. I try not to worry about calories, but sometimes I do. It’s more that I want to keep myself in check and make sure there is balance. I don’t weigh myself though… ever. When I went to the doctor’s and got on the scale, that was the first time in MONTHS.

Leave a Reply

