Serious Deliciousness!

Thanks for all the feedback on the last post both in comments and in the emails I received. Some of you are superstars at responding to all the comments left on your blog plus visiting your reader’s sites. And some of you have felt the same time crunch that I have with not having time to both respond to comments on your site and visit the commenter’s site. I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who only responds to some comments and spends the majority of time visiting reader’s sites instead.

However, please hear me: this does not mean I don’t care about comments left on this site. You guys, each comment makes me feel special and loved that YOU would take the time out of your day to read my rambles and let me know that you’re with me. You guys are seriously the best and I am SO grateful to be part of this community. I just also have to balance this community with all the other life stuff. :)

Okies, it is SO recipe time!

First up… 94 calories muffins! They will actually be 86 calories muffins when I make them again next week. I just didn’t have any applesauce on hand this week so I used butter instead. Either way, delicious, moist muffins under 100 calories… I’m so in! :D


94 Calorie Muffins

¼ cup all purpose flour (110)
¼ cup oats, pulsed into fine powder (75)
¼ cup whole wheat flour (100)
½ tsp baking soda (0)
¼ tsp baking powder (½)
¼ tsp salt (0)
½ cup Splenda (0)
½ tsp vanilla (6)
½ tsp cinnamon (3)
1 dash nutmeg (½)
1 egg, beaten (70)
2 tbsp Country Crock Light (100)
1 banana  (100)

565 calories total. 6 muffins = 94 calories each

Directions:

1. Spray nonstick cooking spray on six muffin tins. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. In one bowl, whisk together flours, oat flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and Splenda. Mix in slightly beaten eggs, melted butter, vanilla and mashed bananas. Pour into prepared muffin tin.

3. Bake 15 minutes.

Jessica made risotto a couple of months ago. It had bacon and shrimp and looked divine. I thought to myself “I should make this. I mean, I’m married into an Italian family – I should be able to make risotto.” And Jessica claimed that it was nearly foolproof. Good enough for me. So this week I went for it. I was amazed by 2 things: 1. How incredibly EASY this was (what was I so afraid of??) and 2. How much better this tastes than I even imagined. Oh gracious it was delightful. Jessica’s original recipe can be found here. I adapted a few things based on what I had so definitely check out her recipe too.


Bacon and Shrimp Risotto

Ingredients:

1 cup arborio rice
4 slices turkey bacon, chopped
1 cup dry white cooking wine
2 cups chicken stock + more if needed
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp olive oil
1/2 clove garlic, minced
6 ounces cooked shrimp
1/4 cup dry white cooking wine
2 tablespoons chopped parsley

Directions:

1. Heat a saucepan on medium heat. Chop bacon slices and add to pan, frying until crispy. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on a paper towel, leaving bacon drippings in pan. Measure one cup of rice and add to pan, along with minced garlic. Stir to toast rice, about 2-3 minutes.

2. Pour in one cup of cooking wine and turn heat down to a simmer, and allow rice to soak it up. Add chicken stock one cup at a time, allowing rice to absorb it. The easy way for me to do risotto is to pour enough liquid in so it is about 1/4 inch above the rice, let it absorb, then taste it for doneness. If it is not soft, add another 1/2-1 cup.

3. While rice is absorbing liquid, saute shrimp in a olive oil, garlic and cooking wine for 1-3 minutes. Stir in shrimp and fold in bacon, reserving a few pieces for garnish. Stir in parsley. Serve immediately.

Recipe from Jessica @ HowSweetEats

Christopher has an addiction to chips. He does okay if they aren’t in the house, but oh my golly, if they are in the house he can SENSE it. And he will find them. And will ‘accidentally’ open them. And before I know it, half the bag is gone. So when I buy chips for a specific meal we usually have to have that meal pretty quickly because otherwise there would be no chippos left. I think a quarter of the bag was gone this time. Christopher claims Oreo did it…


Nachos

Ingredients:

1 lb ground turkey
1 recipe of your favorite taco seasoning
1 bag chips
1 can whole kernel corn
1 can black beans
1 can refried beans
cheese
guacamole (avocada + tomato + cilantro + onion + lime juice)
1 jar salsa

Directions:

1. Cook ground turkey over medium-high heat until completely cooked. Add Mexican Spice Mix and 2/3 cup water, let simmer until water is absorbed.

2. On large platter or individual plates layer chips, ground turkey, corn, black beans, refried beans, and cheese. [Side note: I used soy cheese for myself and it worked out great]. Heat in oven (at 350) or in microwave until cheese is melty. Top with salsa and guacamole. Then enjoy!

For some reason, when we eat pork, we pretty much eat the same dish: Pork and Rice. Probably because it’s so incredibly tasty. But it’s not healthy. Not even remotely, haha! So I decided to try a healthier pork recipe:

Pork Pasta Toss

Ingredients:

1/2 lb whole wheat spaghetti, uncooked
1/2 cup Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing, divided
1 lb. pork tenderloin, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 cup chopped red onions
3 cloves garlic, minced
1-1/2 cups  cherry tomatoes, halved
1/3 cup fat-free reduced-sodium chicken broth
6 cups  loosely packed baby spinach leaves

Directions:

1. Cook spaghetti as directed on package, omitting salt. Meanwhile, heat 1/4 cup dressing in large skillet on medium-high heat. Add meat; cook 5 to 6 min. or until done, stirring occasionally. Remove from skillet; cover to keep warm.

2. Add remaining dressing, onions and garlic to skillet; cook and stir 2 to 3 min. or until onions are crisp-tender. Add tomatoes; cook 1 min. Add broth and meat; stir. Bring to boil, stirring occasionally.

3. Drain spaghetti. Add to ingredients in skillet with the spinach; mix lightly. Serve warm.

Slightly adapted from Eat Better America

In other news… Christopher has Twitter now. I asked him if he wanted me to share his twitter on our blog so he might get a few readers. His response? “Really? Would they be interested? Fame… publicity… attention… I’m in.” ;) So, if you want to help him in his quest toward fame, publicity and attention, you can follow him on twitter. ;)

Finally, apparently all my comments on WordPress blogs have been going to spam folders. So check your spam and see if I’m in there!

46 responses to “Serious Deliciousness!

  1. I am so glad you liked the risotto! :)

  2. Your muffins look great! I love that their low cal cause that means you can eat more! :)

    I CANNOT wait until Easter is here so I can finally bake AND eat sweets! lol

  3. That risotto looks good! My hubby is the same way with chips, I hardly get any before they’re gone, but I guess that’s for my own good :) I know what you mean about responding to comments, I have a hard time keeping up sometimes too. But they do make me very happy and I really appreciate them :)

  4. 94 calorie muffins? Yup I’m clicking on the recipe right now ;)

  5. Alll of this food looks so good! And low cal muffins have got to be my favoutite! :D

  6. mm i think im digging the pork pasta tacos!!!

  7. Yum! I love muffins any way you cut it – but less than 100 calories is pretty awesome, too!

    Yeah, I’ve had that spam problem before. Sometimes random blog comments filter into my spam, even if the person normally comments. It’s strange, but at least you figured it out!

  8. I’m not really a baker but i might have to try those muffins yum! And I’m with Christopher on the chip (crisps) addiction – once I start I can’t stop!

    Heads up – you’re not in my spam although you may not have commented lol but as you often do, thought I better point it out in case :)

    • Uhoh! That’s not good news. I think occasionally the comments are deleted instead of sent to spam folders. :( Don’t worry, I will definitely keep trying to comment, though! :) I love reading your blog. :)

      • Rach!! did you contact wordpress genius guys that fix it all?! :) They’re seriously so quick and responsive!! Great service actually I was impressed.

  9. okay… now i’m drooling! definitely bookmarking the muffin recipe… i go nuts for anything <100 calories! have a great weekend, Rach!

  10. Hehe, have you been commenting so much that the filters have decided you’re spamming them? ;P

    That muffin recipe looks delicious! I’m going to have to try it soon!

  11. You are helping me plan my wedding AND giving me recipes to ensure I can fit in a dress! LOVE it!

  12. Wow, that risotto looks insane. I’m so making that.

  13. You seriously have so many delicious recipes! Especially that Bacon and Shrimp Risotto! I would devour it!

  14. Those muffins and that risotto look Amazing YUMMMMM!

  15. Delish! :D I absolutely love all of your recipes! :D

  16. I can’t wait to make those muffins!!! I love low-cal sweets because I’d rather splurge on main-dish type of items :)

  17. The 94/86 calories muffins make me think of those magazines that are like “30 ways to look fabulous” vs. “31 way to look fabulous” on another cover! Really, those look way better than VitaMuffins which are 100 calories each..so I’m sold on your muffins!

  18. What delicious eats, Rach!
    My husband has a serious weakness for chips and dry roasted peanuts!

  19. These muffins look amazing! I love muffins :)

  20. Mmm those muffins look DELISH!! And I haven’t had risotto in WAY too long…that needs to be rectified soon! :D

  21. I’m obsessed with muffins. I need theseeeee.

  22. Haha I’m following Christopher on Twitter! Love it!

  23. I love Christopher’s response to the Twitter question! It made me giggle!

  24. runyogarepeat

    I agree with the whole comment thing – I just wish I had more time to read and comment on everyone’s blogs!
    My boyfriend loves his nachos too, and he just made us some topped with colorful veggies.
    Have a great weekend!

  25. yum– those muffins look great!

  26. awww, Rach, too cute. I’ll totally follow your boy!

    …on twitter I mean. ya know.

    aaand those muffins look SO GOOD.

  27. AAH that muffins look too good!! I wish I had some right now :D

  28. That pork dish looks awesome!
    Congrats on finding a 94? uh 84? Calorie muffin! They look awesome!

    I am so follwing Chris on twitter!! hehe.

    OH AND YOUR MESSAGES ARE IN MY SPAM BOX! ALL 3!! HEHEHEHE.

  29. yum, I love a good muffin, those look delicious. Have a great weekend!

  30. Katherine: Unemployed

    my oh my those muffins look good! they have an identity crisis with the exact calorie count, but I’m sure it’ll work out in the end (93 or 95 calories? smalories when you’re eating a muffin!)

  31. I wish I had time to spend on making new dishes :(

  32. Those muffins look sooooooo good!!!

  33. Ooh those muffins look really good! I just got some reusable baking cups (is that what they’re called?) so I’ve been looking for a good muffin recipe to make in them! :)

    Megan

  34. I have a chips addiction too!! Does Christopher like other crunchy foods? That why I think I like chips so much bc they are crunchy!

  35. Those muffins look delicious!! :) And you were right, your comment was stuck in my spam folder… I took care of that right away though!

  36. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    Love your pork noodle dish! :D

  37. Great looking muffins :) Nice stats on them, too!

  38. 94 Calorie muffins sound PERFECT!!

  39. Nommm! I love risotto, so much flavor and creaminess!

Leave a Reply

