Sweet Week

I love hearing that I’m not the only closet country music fan. My 17 year old self (when I first started dating Topher) would be so disappointed. But ah oh well, I live in TN now… I might as well embrace the country music. Speaking of embracing it… some of mine and Christopher’s favorite marriage advice is summed up in a country song. When people ask us for marriage advice this is more or less what we say:

Be your best friend, tell the truth, and overuse “I love you.” Go to work, do your best, don’t outsmart your common senseNever let your prayin’ knees get lazy and love like crazy. Always treat your woman like a lady. Never get too old to call her baby. Never let your prayin’ knees get lazy and love like crazy…

Okies, movin’ on!

I have a BUNCH of recipes to share with you guys this week and they all have a theme… SWEETS! I didn’t realize how many sweets I had made until looking back on my pictures from this week. Though, in my defense, I did have a ninja dog who forced me to bake a new batch of muffins… ;)

Remember the post of me holding the plate of cookies? How about a close up…


Chocolate Chip Banana Oat Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup Splenda
1/2 cup packed Splenda Brown Sugar
1 large egg
1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup mashed ripe banana (about 1 large)
1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
8 ounces sugar free chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Whisk together flours, salt, and baking soda in a small bowl; set aside.

2. Put butter and Splendas into large bowl and mix until pale and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla; mix until combined. Mix in banana. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined. Stir in oats and chocolate chips.

3. Using a tablespoon, drop dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing about 2 inches apart. Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until golden brown and just set, 12 to 13 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks 5 minutes. Transfer cookies to wire racks; let cool completely.

Slightly adapted from Martha Stewart

And since I was so taken with the banana + chocolate + oat mix… I decided to make them in muffin form! Granted, Oreo really liked these muffins so they didn’t last long once he went all ninja on us


Chocolate Chip Banana Oat Muffins
 (These only look so-so in the pic, but trust me, they are delish!)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour
½ cup oat flour
1/3 cup Splenda
½ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp baking soda
½ tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp salt
1 large mashed very ripe banana
½ cup egg beaters
¼ cup applesauce
¼ cup almond milk
½ tsp vanilla
¼ cup sf chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 375. Spray bottoms of 6 regular size muffin cups with cooking spray.

2. In large bowl mix flour, Splenda, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

3. In medium bowl beat bananas, egg beaters, applesauce, milk and vanilla until smooth. Stir into flour mixture until just moistened. Gently stir in chocolate chips. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups. Bake 20-25 minutes or until light golden brown. Remove muffins from pan to cooling rack.

Adapted from Eat Better America

So then I decided that we should have breakfast for dinner, but dessert style! So I made strawberry shortcake pancakes, chocolate chip oatmeal and muffins that taste like donuts… oh yeah! :D

Strawberry Shortcake Pancakes (side note: these were inspired by Angela from Oh She Glows and I gotta say, mine look pretty until you see hers… and then mine look like a 5 year old made them, haha!)

Ingredients:

1 recipe pancakes
6 strawberries
1 frozen banana

Directions:

While pancakes are cooking, blend 3 strawberries with 1 frozen banana until they become soft serve. Slice other 3 strawberries into circles and use to layer between pancakes. Top with soft serve and enjoy!

Inspired by Angela from Oh She Glows

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal (this was my first time making one of Katie’s recipes or using her voluminous oats  trick. It worked out super well!)

Ingredients:

1/3 cup dry oats
1 1/2 cups water
Dash of salt
2 tbsp sugar free chocolate chips
1/4 cup almond milk
2 drops vanilla extract
3 tbsp dry oats
Drizzle sugar free chocolate syrup
extra oats and chocolate chips for garnish

Directions:

1. Using Katie’s Voluminous Oatmeal trick, add 1/3 cup dry oats to 1 1/2 cups water with a dash of salt. Microwave for 4 minutes then allow to sit in warm microwave for 5 minutes (don’t worry, they are supposed to look watery). Put in fridge uncovered. After a few hours (I waited 4) oats will have absorbed all the liquid.

2. Remove oatmeal from fridge, add chocolate chips and reheat for 1 minute in microwave or until chips are melty. Blend together almond milk, vanilla  and 3 tbsp dry oats. Mix milk mixture with oat mixture. Top with chocolate syrup, oats and chocolate chips.

This recipe comes from Katie at Chocolate Covered Katie

Recipe for Muffins that taste like Donuts (Tony said they definitely taste like donuts. Christopher said not as much, but they were still really good. I honestly can’t remember what donuts taste like since it’s been so many years since I last had one, haha! But these were super yummy!)

Ingredients

1 cup white flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon
1/3 cup no sugar added applesauce
3/4 cups Splenda
1 egg
3/4 cup almond milk
1/4 cup butter
1/3 cup Splenda
1 tbsp cinnamon

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Spray 6 muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray. Combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.

2. Combine applesauce, Splenda, egg and milk. Add dry ingredients and stir only to combine. Divide evenly into muffin cups.

3. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Meanwhile, melt the butter in a bowl. Combine Splenda with the cinnamon in another bowl.

4. Shake muffins out while still hot. Dip muffins in butter, then into the Splenda/cinnamon mix. Let cool.

Adapted from Tasty Kitchen

And I’ll leave you with this: Remember how I told you guys that Oreo uses pillows like a human? I wasn’t kidding. Earlier this week I walked into the room and he was sacked out on his back, pillow under his head, snoring like a lawn mower. I should’ve gotten video footage, but this photo will have to suffice

 Yeah, our dog thinks he is human…

38 responses to “Sweet Week

  1. Hahahah about a five year old making the pancakes!!! I’m going to have to try those. Looks like a great way to get my kid to try strawberries.

  2. OHMAN all your food looks AMAZING!! I have a MAJOR sweet tooth (surprise surprise! :P) and everything looks DELISH!! And those pancakes look awesome! I have to try them!! :D

  3. Love like crazy is such a good song!

  4. I’m drooling over the strawberry shortcake pancakes!

    Have a fabulous weekend =)

  5. banana, oatmeal and chocolate? sounds good to me!!!! only which one too choose? HMM :)

  6. Those pancakes sound amazing!

    Hahaha, I love your dog! What a cutie :) Have a wonderful weekend Rach!

  7. Omg, those pancakes look amazing!!!

  8. Hahahaha! Oreo is so funny! I am getting a puppy next month when I get out of the Navy, and I am really excited!

  9. Wow those pancakes have me running to your house :D

  10. Ohh my those all look so tempting! That stack of pancakes is calling my name..

  11. Ha! Oreo cracks me up!! I wish I could just come over there and hug him!

    Your breakfast-dessert dinner is probably the best thing I’ve seen all week!! I love nothing more than dessert-y breakfast! I’ve gots to try those pancakes!!

  12. That’s some good advice in that there song! :)

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner

    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  13. Your dog is hilarious, so cute, great pic!

  14. Your cookies are so puffy! I love that. Have a great Friday!

  15. Lee Brice is pretty awesome as well as country music :)
    I love when my dog acts like a total human, it makes me laugh!

  16. Ohmygosh I can’t believe you guys started dating when you were my age! That’s so cool/cute!
    I love how you muffinized those cookies. I muffinize just about everything :)

  17. Hahaha, all my food looks like a five year old made it! I think your pancakes look lovely :)

  18. Oreo is so cute! My cat always lies in weird positions like that too. All your food looks delicious…isn’t it great when “healthy” food tastes like junk food?

  19. Hahaha! Oreo is such a man. I’m sure the remote is nearby. He reminds me of my neice’s boxer. She sat on the couch like a person. It cracked me up.
    It’s early and I’m hungry. Those pics look sooo good!!

  20. I’m not much of a [successful] baker but those look very tempting. I think I’ll bust out my kitchen aid and give it a try. Hopefully mine will turn out as good as your look!!!

  21. Ah, I haven’t baked for too long! ;) Love how your dog occupies the sofa! Have a good weekend! :)

  22. Oh my gosh these eats all look GREAT! I am loving the cookies- they look so good! And those pancakes look even better XD

    Have a great weekend!

  23. HAHA Oreo..I love the little spots on his belly!! I like select country songs, I LOVE Johnny Cash..I guess 1970s prision music speaks to me :). Oh does taylor swift count?

  24. uummmm, talk about YUM!!

  25. haha Oreo is too funny!! at least he doesn’t use the toilet like humans. blech! I heard of cases like that hahaha. Your food looks delicious Rach!

  26. I love pancakes, and those looks yum!

  27. Hahahaha ok so your dog is named Oreo, right?! He is too funny! I love that he snores and sleeps all sprawled out like that:) The strawberry shortcake stack you make looks amazing, regardless of how awesome angela’s pic is (which i’m sure is also really good!) and those donut muffins sound BOMB. I’m checkin’ out the recipe now:)

  28. Gosh your recipes are the BOMB! :D

  29. Wow you were in quite the baking mood! WIsh I lived closer so you could share haha. I love country music and especially that song love love. My bf hates it and won’t give it a chance oh well.

  30. ummm strawberry shortcake pancakes?? YUMMMMM

  31. I have banana, chocolate chip muffins on my “to-make” menu this week! All your treats look delish :)

  32. That song does contain a lot of good marriage advice! Though you really shouldn’t have shown us that close-up girl, my mouth is starting to water… ;)

  33. I love your strawberry shortcake pancakes! And that Lee Brice song is one of my favorites!

  34. When I moved to Tn over 19 years ago, I was a closet country music fan. When you live in TN, you don’t stay in the closet long! LOL One of my favorite songs for parenting is, “When you’r going through hell, don’t slow down, keep on going, if your skeered don’t show it.” LOL Oneof my sons thinks he’s a country boy, which totally cracks me up.

  35. I love how your dog makes cameos. My wife and I live in Arkansas, if I recall that’s where you are too, but I could be wrong. I thought we were the only people who didn’t follow college football!

Leave a Reply

