Roll Tide Roll…

Confession: I am not a football fan. It’s not that I hate the sport as much as I find it incredibily difficult to sit through it for FOUR hours. Don’t think I’m not a sports fan. I love basketball (not really much of a choice marrying a basketball athlete, haha). But football is just sooooo boring! Plus it’s outside so it’s nearly always too hot or too cold.

Saturday A-Day!

However, I live in the Southern United States. It is so part of the culture here. Christopher watches football some just to keep up with conversation with friends, but he doesn’t really have a team [other than the Bears, but we’re talking about college football here]. My sister, Holly, and her family are all HUGE Alabama fans.  And so we cheer for Bama on the rare occasions we watch games to support my sis. But now we’ve decided to put a stake in a team. So I do believe that we are Bama fans now… I think… :P

Us at the stadium!

So this weekend we went to visit one of my old college roomies. She happens to be in grad school in Tuscaloosa, Alabama home of the Crimson Tide. She also is a major Bama fan so I heard a lot about Alabama’s football team over the 4 years I knew her.

Mary and I as seniors in college (Fall 07). We worked together (notice our super fly uniforms, name tags, and head sets) and sometimes we spent some serious time goofing off and dancing. ;)

Getting to hang out with Mary and her sister, Abbey, this weekend was so great! :)

Us with all our Bama influences

My sister, Holly, and I watching the Alabama scrimmage

Christopher compares his hand size to Tyler Watt’s

Every where we travel we always pick up an ornament for our Christmas tree… this little place was cute.

Look at our cute little Bama snowman! He plays the fight song and says “Roll Tide!”

Another thing we always do when visiting a place, is check out the local food. This place was super delicious!

Us waiting outside the Waysider. The place was packed the whole time we were there and there were always people waiting for tables. Definitely a good sign of tasty food!

The Waysider had all you can eat biscuits that come with anything you order. They were so tiny and cute and amazingly scrumptious!

My breakfast from the Waysider. Oh my gracious, it was DELISH! Well, except the grits, but that’s just because I’m not a grits person.

Christopher’s breakfast. That’s meat stuff is called steak o’lean and it is the saltiest thing I’ve tasted. He said it was okay and worth having once, but he probably wouldn’t order it again.
Waysider on Urbanspoon

Speaking of food – we nearly always try to stop at Panera for breakfast while traveling. We LOVE their bagels!

Aaaand of course… our jumping shot!

We had a great time experiencing A-Day for the first time and getting to hang out with my sister, brother-in-law, and old college friends.

What did you do this weekend?
 

70 responses to “Roll Tide Roll…

  1. Looks like you had an AWESOME weekend!! I’m so jealous- you’re weather looks AMAZING! And that bagel looks so YUM!! I’ve never had a bagel before…I really think I should soon! :P

  2. omg love the pics girl :) what a fabulous weekend you had! xo

  3. Looks like you had an awesome time and I’m envious of the nice weather! It was raining all weekend here but I still had a great time at my track formal :D
    I have never tried a bagel from Panera, good to know that they are among your favorites!

  4. AHH I love biscuits, they look ah-mazing!
    You are Gorgeous girl!!!!!

    WOW, I would never be able to sit through a full football game, 4 hours… no, thanks.

  5. I have always wanted to place my hand in cement and leave a mark! ;)

  6. Yeah I’m not a sports fan I’m afraid and prob would have no clue about what was going home as we have soccer here :) Good for you getting involved tho, nice to bond! Love the jumping pic at the end, looks like you jumped really far lol.

  7. Not gonna lie, I have to completely disagree about football :) But I still love ya! I celebrated my bf’s birthday at a bar this weekend!

  8. It looks like your weekend was a blast! Those biscuits look so delicious too! My weekend went well but I pretty much baked all day Saturday so it was exhausting!

  9. I’m not a huge fan of football…but I do like going to games :) I’m so hungry for bagels now!

    Adorable pictures, you and sister look so much alike!

  10. What a great weekend! I’m not a huge fan of football (or really any sports) either. A bunch of guys running after a ball for four hours sounds like no fun. Watching crazed fans, however, is a lot of fun.

    Now I want a Bread Co bagel. Have any extras you can send me? ;)

  11. NOOOOO!!! Auburn all the way!!!!! It’s ok, I’m not a die hard football fan either…so I guess I’ll still read your blog.;)

  12. Those biscuits look SUPER delicious!! I want them :D I love cute breakfast places!!

  13. Hmm Gridiron. I’m probably one of a handful of girls in my country that have a vague understanding of the rules. It’s an upandcoming sport here. It’ll never replave Union and the All Blacks, but there’s an interest. My brother’s been playing. So I get forced to watch the Superbowl. And he gets to skip school to watch it.

    All of a sudden I need bacon…

    • Ooh I had friends in grad school who were huge All Blacks fans! They had the cutest little onesie that was an All Blacks jersey lookalike for their daughter. And that is the extent of my knowledge of Rugby, haha!

  14. Looks like you all had a fun weekend! I love that you all get ornaments when you travel- that’s so cool!

  15. What an amazing weekend. I’m not really into the whole sports thing and neither is my bf which is kinda weird but good I guess haha No fights over the TV :D I celebrated my boyfriend’s bday with some pizza and home made oreo pie this weekend :P

  16. Wow I love this post, it totally made my day!
    I like the jumping picture and all the yummy foods!!!

  17. you guys are too cute! i love the jumping shot! :) it sounds like a great weekend. i miss my college friends!

  18. Love your jumping picures! I’m convinced that if the fiance and I even tried something like that one or both of us would end up with a broken ankle! Probably me – the clumsy one!

    I love discovering cute local food places – it’s usually where the best foods at anyway! I ate at this little B&B in Vermont that claimed to have the “world’s best breakfast.” Had to stop at that one. Not the best breakfast ever, but I feel cooler for saying I ate there! ;)

    • Haha! You never know until you try. ;) Jumping pictures are just so much fun!

      That is totally the kind of place we would stop at! We love trying out places that claim to have “the best __fill in the blank__”. Good stuff for sure! :)

  19. I totally get not liking football. I always stare at the game and have no idea what’s going on.

  20. i love panera bagels too! have you had the cinnamon crunch!? sooo good.
    I am a HUGE football fan – so i’m jealous!

  21. What an awesome weekend. Even if it was a Red weekend! Go Cats! LOL BTW – football bored me to tears, too, until my son started playing!

    • I completely understand that. The only time I’ve ever really cared about football was when Christopher played flag football for intramurals in college. It helps to know the players for sure. I get more invested that way. So now I just have to get to know these Crimson Tide players…

  22. I had to work this weekend so mine was not as enjoyable as yours was. Looks like you had a great time!!

  23. Wow this just looks like you all had an awesome time!Those biscuits look delicious!

  24. Oooh, I have to say Australian Rules Football is too awesome! It’s a shorter game and they don’t use helmets or planet-sized padding! Come to Melbourne and catch a game, I reckon you guys would love it!

  25. um. can I have those biscuits. please? send them…perhaps? lol :D

  26. The jumping shot makes me smile! What a happy weekend:)

  27. Y’all look like you are having so much fun in all of these pics! :D

  28. mMmMm blue berry bagels! also your hair looks great…YAY FOR THE SHORT HAIR CLUB! haha

  29. Confession: I was born in Mobile tho did not live there long. An obscure fact about me! I am not a football fan either. The food… An acquired taste :). Looks like you had a fabulous time. You’re simply gorgeous!

  30. LOL so I’m a Football fan tried and true. (True Story) Alex had to catch a drink that I threw at the TV in excitement / anger last major game I watched.

    With that said.
    GOOOOOOOOOO DAWGS!

  31. This looks like such an amazing time! I hope you have a wonderful week girl :)

  32. “So I do believe that we are Bama fans now… I think… :P” Hahaha, great! :D

    Four hours is *looooong*! 8O I don’t watch a lot of sports (only the football (soccer) games of the German national team in world’s or European championship, but those only last 90 minutes, and I usually watch them on tv with friends … It’s a funny kind of social gathering with beer and lots of cheering), but my mom is a sports watcher, especially biathlon and olympics, and tennis a few years ago (in the Boris Becker and Steffi Graf era). However, I have a hard time sitting still for more than half an hour. Even a movie is often hard for me. At the movie theater, it’s often easier because then there’s lights off and the special atmosphere, but when I watch a movie at home, I’m always happy for the ads breaks so I can jump up and move and get something to drink etc.

  33. lucky you!!! you had a great and fun weekend..i am sick and this spring break isnt going as planned!!!..the food looks great btw

  34. awesome weekend Rach! btw I tried Panera’s cinnamon bagel the other day and although it’s super dessert-y, it was bomb……I was missing out on their bagels! I think I like bagels now haha. I had an awesome weekend too! busy on Sunday getting ready for a Linguistics symposium Monday. But best part–my sis chose to get baptized! She received the Lord into her life really recently! whooowhooo God is so good. :D

  35. I’m with ya, girlfriend. I’m not a football fan, but I AM quite the panera bagel fan. ;)

  36. I’m not a huge fan of football either but shhh don’t tell my dad ;)

    This looks so fun though…and the food – mmm good ole’ classic deliciousness! Ya’ll are beautiful!

  37. Looks like you had such a great time! I loved going to UF, and those pics reminded me of it :) It was definitely a football town!

    Love going to those local places for a good meal. The biscuits looks SO good!

  38. I’m not a football fan either! But I went to Ohio State, so it’s like CRAZY that I’m not!!

  39. i am SOO excited for football season. but i’m an auburn fan. don’t be mad. :) :) i loveeeee your blue and yellow shirt. so pretty.

  40. Rach you are so Flippin Cute!! Your weekend looked like so much fun. Thanks for always leaving such sweet comments. Big Hugs, Anne

  41. Ha, ha. I’m actually a football fan and watch every Sunday game with the hubby come fall… But ask me to watch basketball, hockey, or baseball and I’ll yawn and say “no thanks!” :)

  42. While I don’t enjoy watching football on tv, I can appreciate getting out in the fresh air for a game.

  43. I’m not a football fan either. Actually, not a sports fan at all =p Looks like you had fun! =D and looks like you enjoyed the food =D

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  44. Love Panera’s bagels! Wish I could still eat them :(

  45. Girl! You are an honorary Bama fan now!! In proud company with YOURS TRULY! Cute cute shots! I can’t believe you were at the A-day Game! We usually go, but my best friend had a “gender reveal” party on that day so we didn’t make it. Now I’m just reflecting on a missed opportunity for us to bump into each other and have a random blogger friend meetup in Tuscaloosa. ;) HA!

    Roll Tide. :D

    • Aww that would’ve been SO cool! And I gotta say I love that you ended with “Roll Tide”… we got indoctrinated into the “say ‘Roll Tide’ to anyone and everyone one wearing Bama’s insignia no matter where you are” this weekend. My bro-in-law travels for his work and he’s had people as far away as Hawaii and California say “Roll Tide” when they see his Bama tie or dress shirt. ;) Love it! :)

      And hey, we can totally have another random meet up somewhere! We come through AL a lot since my family lives down there! :)

  46. Pingback: Let’s Get Together, Yeah Yeah Yeah… « This Italian Family

  47. Pingback: My biggest concern last night… « This Italian Family

  48. Pingback: Roll Tide Roll |

  49. Does Chris have the ornament on his ear? Those biscuits look amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

