The Best of Friends

So over the past few years Christopher and I have had several different groups of really good solid friends. But unfortunately at our stage-of-life, people are not often ready to settle into one spot. Which means that we’ve had to learn to say goodbye… a lot. I’m not much of a fan of goodbyes, but that’s a post for another time. Instead I thought I’d give you a quick run-down of the best friends we’ve had since senior year of college until present day! :)

My prayer group from college. A group of ladies that became some of my best friends over my four years at Harding. We met every week to talk about the week and our highs and lows and then pray together and over each other. Some precious memories. These girls got me through some of the hardest times. The photos on the left are us from our freshman year and the ones on the right are us as seniors! :)

Our college couple friends! I blogged about our latest reunion just last week! :) These were truly the best friends we had in college. We had lots of different friend groups over the years we were there, but these were truly the best! Then of course we all graduated college and spread out across the globe.

After we graduated college and I started grad school, we lived on the grad school campus and got to be really close to several of the other couples there. We did EVERYTHING with these guys. Loved our many adventures! Then they all went and finished their grad programs and moved across the country so we had lots of sad goodbyes. :(

Our current group of friends! Truly love these guys. :) Though, Megan and Brian just moved away last month so that has been really sad. :( And in a couple of years Abigail will finish grad school so she and Tony might move after that as well. But no thinking about that yet!

Ever since Megan and Brian moved, I’ve been reflecting a lot on friendship. It’s really sad to say goodbye over and over again to different groups of friends, but at the same time I understand that life changes. We grow up. We graduate. We get married. We move away. I’m just looking forward to the day when we all have roots planted in the same spot. :)

Anyway, back to my reflecting on friendship thing… over the years we’ve had lots of friends, but only a handful of really quality friends (note pictures above). For me, I’ve realized that the girls I have truly counted as my best friends have been the ones who I enjoy spending time with. I know that sounds obvious, but there are lots of people I used to hang around with that were just full of negativity. They were nice enough people, but they were always putting others down to make themselves feel better (lots of insulting other people in a “joking” way to get a laugh, but truly it’s not funny to mock someone else). Anyway, back to the besties:  they are the ladies who encourage me to be an even better person. The ones who I laughed with. The ones who I cried with. The ones I really  have the best times with. The ones that inspire me. 

These recent reflections make me realize that I want to be a better friend. I have worked for a long time to tone down my sarcasm and be more positive and uplifting. I hate hurting people’s feelings so I don’t like that sarcasm comes so naturally to me. I love my friends that are so positive and uplifting all the time so that is really something I work toward as well. :)

23 responses to “The Best of Friends

  1. I see someone with Apples to Apples on their heads. :)

    You’re so right and I can definitely relate. Being around negative people really affects me! I notice that I’ll start lashing out at my parents and being more of a grouch. It wasn’t until last year that I really surrounded myself with positive and godly people and it motivated me to become a better person. :) I think it’s awesome that you have such a tight-knit group of besties. And although it stinks that some of them are moving away, when you guys get together again, it’ll be so worthwhile and you’ll make tons of mems. :)

  2. Oh I can definitely relate to this… I actually wrote a post on friendships on Monday as it’s been on my mind a whole lot recently.
    Being around negative people certainly affects me, I become rather negative (err more so) myself. I already lack a bit of self-confidence, I don’t really need to be around others that make me feel even worse about myself.
    I love that you have a group of friends like that! Relationships and friendships are such an important part of life, and looks like you are doing so well with this :)

  3. Wow so many pictures!! Love it :)

  4. I love this post! I got a package in the mail from a “lost” friend in London a few weeks ago. I just sat next to my mailbox and happy cried forever. Her effort just makes me want to be that good of a friend in return!

  5. Yesss goodbyes are so hard! But, they’re truly a blessing in disguise b/c when you meet again, the bond is just that much stronger!! This made me reminisce of my goodbye days too~but in a good way :D

  6. I totally hear you. having moved recently, we are still struggling to find friends. Also we live in a big military area so most peole in our young marrieds class are military and moving in and out every two years, makes it ahrd for lasting friendships!
    believe it or not my two best friends live hours away and are people I have met online. we have gotten together several times over the years and text and e mail every day!

  7. I think sarcasm brings humor, and any friend who makes me laugh is a good friend to have :)

  8. I have a feeling that you’re an excellent friend already! Judging by your blog, you seem to have a great heart! :)

  9. What a nice post. I really think friendship is so important. I have had a lot of friends move away and it’s so hard to stay close. I think you have done a good job. :)

  10. I know I keep saying this, but you guys seem to have an AWESOME group of friends :) It’s nice to be so close to people, even when they move away!

  11. I agree with you. I have had a lot of friends over the years, but only a few select remain, and those are the ones I have a mutually beneficial relationship with. :-)

  12. Sarcasm comes pretty naturally to me, too.I have a whole bunch of acquaintances, but a few wonderful, lifelong friends. They are the ones I know I can count on for anything.

  13. Love all of these pictures!! I love my best friends, too :D

  14. I have had so many acquaintances over the years especially girlfriends. At the end of the day my 3 best friends from high school and I are still best friends today. We have been friends for 15+ years I love them!

  15. What a nice post about your friends. I had dinner with an old high school friend tuesday night and we realized it had been a year since we saw eachother. Life gets so busy sometimes, but we both said how we’re going to be better friends and get together more often!

  16. it is crazy how many groups of friends we go through in life! totally relatable post.

    a few good college peeps and i are going to try to meetup at least once a year in the same spot for a mini vacay. hope we carry out the tradition for a very very long time!

  17. Being a good friend is often really hard to do! I need to work better at it…but as you get older life really changes the way your relationships unfold.

    You are lucky to have held on to some very special long time friends!! I have a handful of bests and I wouldn’t trade them for the world. :)

  18. Great post. I so agree friendships are so important!! What a blessing that you all have been able to stay friends with so many of them!!

  19. I know the heartache! Travelling and growing up has resulted in so many of my close friends being in different cities/countries. It hurts!

  20. You always look like you are having so much fun in all if your pics! I love that!

  21. Many of my friends from high school (some from elementary!) went to college with me, and now that we’re all graduating and going our separate ways, I’m pretty sad about it. I am excited to start a new life and move somewhere after school, but I’m going to miss them so much. Thanks for the great post. It gave me a lot to think about. :)

  22. I have found this to be a difficult aspect of my life as well especially with my husband being in the military. In the past year I have had two incredible friends move back to the states. I miss them every day but fortunately we still remain connected through phone calls and facebook. Saying good-bye is by far one of the hardest things to do. I tend to be sarcastic at times as well as allowing people to get the best of me. Something that is definitely going to be worked on. I really enjoy your blog, and how uplifting your posts are. Thank you for sharing such a relatable topic =)

  23. i am so glad that you have friends like that :) makes me smile

Leave a Reply

