S’mores in the backyard!

Last night we went out to dinner at a local joint called Pete and Sam’s. I’ll be honest, it was a pretty big disappointment. We’ve heard it’s one of the best Italian places here, but we would beg to differ. The food wasn’t bad, but it certainly wasn’t amazing. And definitely not worth the hour wait to get our food (the people at the table by us still hadn’t gotten their food when we left and they ordered just after we did – they were pretty angry).


Pete & Sam's on Urbanspoon
Pete & Sam's Restaurant on Foodio54

Despite the long wait for food, we had a great time reliving the past 7 years together. We flipped through a book on relationships that we had originally gone through 7 years ago (before we were even dating!) which was a lot of fun. It was funny to see how different our answers were to some of the questions as adults instead of teenagers. :)

We headed home after Pete and Sam’s and decided to make S’mores in the backyard! :)

We built a little fire in our grill since we didn’t want to set the backyard on fire, haha!

Roasting marshmallows!

Christopher getting ready to chow down on his s’mores!

Dinner may have been a bit of a disappointment, but we still had a great night. Just taking a night out to spend some time together alone was so much fun. :) Star gazing, sitting by the fire and just having a romantic little night was lovely. I am so grateful that  a smokin’ hot 18-year-old with a gorgeous smile and beautiful curls convinced me to give up my not-interested-in-dating stance 7 years ago… :D

18 responses to “S’mores in the backyard!

  1. I think the difference among reviews of those sorts of places lies in whether you’ve every had REAL Italian food or not. A close friend of ours {whose mom rarely cooked and hadn’t had the privilege of growing up Italian} thinks Carrabba’s is fine, while the mere mention of it makes me gag. No offense to those who like it, of course. Anyway, Happy 7 … s’mores make up for everything! {And Rach … I’ve got a great recipe for s’mores ice cream on tll…check it out!}

  2. Boo I am sorry you didn’t have the best dinner… but smores make everything better :)

  3. I love this. :) My boyfriend’s family has a fire pit in the back yard so we’d have lil s’more parties back there when we last visited.

  4. Oh the s’mores look great!! Sorry that you dinner experience wasn’t all that good.

  5. I haven’t had smores in… gosh i don’t even know how long! Totally makes up for a lackluster dining experience. Definitely one of the most fun and delicious desserts ever!

  6. S’mores are the best. I would have s’mores cooking outside in the middle of winter. :-P

  7. Looks like fun! I don’t like marshmallows so I usually just have melty chocolate and graham crackers haha.

  8. Wish i had a book like that!!
    S’mores are the BEST! I have to make them in the microwave :/

  9. Those look super delicious! Totally redeemed your night. :-) Congrats again! I think you two are the cutest couple together. :-)

  10. The hubby and I have had nights like that… We make the best of it (like you did), even if the food wasn’t great. I hope that next time you go out to dinner, though, the food and service is much better! It definitely looks like making and eating the s’mores was a ton of fun!! :)

  11. S’mores are so good, I haven’t had them in forever!!! Glad you guys made it a great night even though dinner was less than stellar, chocolate and gooey marshmallows was definitely the right move there :)

  12. Yummy! I love it all from the Pizza to the Roasted Marshmallows. I have to get the stuff to make some yummy treats in my back yard!

  13. 1. your “smile” post made ME smile so big. :)
    2. you and steph are making me want s’mores SO BADLY.

    …I need to just make a bonfire in my backyard and call it a day. I’m sure my dad would looove that.

  14. There is nothing I love more than a well made s’more!!!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  15. Oh I love s’mores!!! I wish my bf craved them as much as I do. Though maybe I don’t because then we’d be having them every night! Glad that you were able to make the most out of the long wait – how annoying!

  16. Sorry dinner wasn’t all you hoped for but it sounds like an amazing night. That goes to show how good a relationship you two have.
    I haven’t had smores in forever. That sounds soo good!

  17. Y’all are so sweet!
    P.S. I’ve been to Pete & Sam’s and I kind of thought the same thing. I was waiting to be wowed!

  18. sounds SO WONDERFUL! the smores making in the backyard that is :)
    i also love just sitting out by a fire outside with some beers, good friends, and nice chats! those are the best.

Leave a Reply

