Weekend in Dallas

We took a quick little 3 day weekend trip down to Dallas this past weekend. We have family and friends that all live in the Dallas area. I realized earlier this year that my nephew had just turned one and I had never even met him. Then I got to thinking about it at little more and realized it had been 2.5 years since I’d last seen my brother! So we decided to make a Dallas trip at some point this year… well that point happened to be this past weekend! :) Here are some highlights:

What? You’re surprised that I start by talking about food? ;) We went to Freebirds twice while in the Dallas area. Both were great experiences! :) It’s kind of like Chipotle, but tastier!
Freebirds World Burrito on Urbanspoon

I loved getting to see my little sister’s apartment where she lives all by herself (so much braver than me. I can’t imagine living alone with just my highly active imagination to keep me company, haha!) and meeting her friends and catching up on her life. We actually got to spend some time in prayer with a few of her friends and it was really powerful. It made me realize several things and take a moment to step back and re-examine some things. :) It was so great to hear how well she is doing. Texting and talking on the phone just isn’t the same as curling up on the couch together and talking in person. :) Love my lil sis!

There is something so easy about spending time with my brother. I have never felt like I have to pretend to be something I’m not with him. When I was an awkward pre-teen he accepted me as-is. As adults we don’t get to see each other much, but we do text/chat a ridiculous amount. :) I think that’s actually why I didn’t realize it had been SO long since I last saw him (3 years at this point!) – it just felt like we were always together since we talk so much.  And getting together with him again (even after 3 years), we easily pick up just where we left off. Like I said… easy. :)

I LOVED getting to meet my nephew Austin and play with my little niece Kaitlyn. They are just so precious. Their gorgeous long eyelashes and beautiful strawberry blonde hair… just love ‘em to pieces!

Kaitlyn wanted to fix up my hair for me – you can see how much I trust her in that first shot. ;) Sorry the pictures aren’t great. My flash was doing crazy things that night, haha!

Not only do two of my siblings live in Dallas, Christopher’s brother, Michael, lives there too! Michael and his wife, Katy, showed us around their neck of Dallas on Saturday and we had a great time just visiting with them and exploring (um, Ikea store… brilliant!). Christopher and Michael really are two peas in a pod in many ways. The two of them were close growing up and roommates all through college. They are hilarious when they get together. Michael and Katy let us stay at their place over the weekend which was great. We really enjoyed getting to spend time with them. :)

On top of family in Dallas, we also have some close friends from college who live in the area. We met up with Chase and Ashley for lunch and spent a couple of hours catching up on life. We try to keep in touch via Facebook and texting, but it’s just so much better to talk in person! :) I had forgotten just how much I love Ashley’s honest look at life. So often she voices the things I’m afraid to say… she’s a great friend to have. :) And Chase and Christopher picked up right where they left off from the last time we saw each other a couple of years ago.

So you guys know how we take photos of us in all the fun spots we visit? Well, we completely managed to forget all weekend long! We visited Dallas, McKinney, Allen, Euless and Plano and didn’t manage to get a single shot of just us! Just before we crossed the Texas border, we stopped to take some photos. This is us in Texarkana! You like the photo in the middle? That’s one where I fell over after doing a handstand and and we weren’t sure if the timer was still going so I was going back to fix it. Sometimes it takes multiple tries to get good shots and I thought you guys might get a kick out of us laughing at ourselves. ;)

18 responses to “Weekend in Dallas

  1. That’s great! We live in Arlington so you were in our metroplex. I thought for sure you were going to say you went to the Texas State Fair. Ha. But Ikea? Love that place!! Glad you had a great weekend and saw so many friends. :-)

  2. I’ve always wanted to see Dallas. Actually, any place in Texas would be nice! Now, I’ve kind of visited, thanks to you, Rach. So glad you took the opportunity and had a great weekend!

  3. Wow almost everyone you know is there! Sounds a lof of fun, cute photos!

  4. That is why I love siblings, it is so easy to tell them anything and remain close even while living far apart! Dallas looks like a lot of fun :)

  5. Sounds like the perfect weekend!!

  6. Aww what a nice weekend! I love being so close with my brothers too

  7. Love the handstand shots! And I also couldn’t live by myself! I get crazy whenever Shane has to leave to go to training and I’m all alone in the house!

  8. Sounds like a great time. :) My sister and I live far away, but we still tell each other everything!

  9. WOW….It looks like you managed to do a ton of thing in just a few days. So Fun!

  10. YUMMM love Freebirds, so good! Looks like a fun trip glad you got to catch up with your sibs!

  11. What a fun trip! I’ve never been to Dallas.
    It’s always so nice to spend time with family. :)

  12. Love this post. Especially the food, it looks tasty.

  13. Dallas sounds like it was fun! I’ve never been there before. I wish I had lots of family and friends out there to visit – that would be the best excuse to go! So much more fun than visiting just as a tourist.

  14. Awww so glad you had such a lovely time with family and friends….you made me miss my brother who’s on another continent! Hehe

  15. haha love it, you guys are too much fun!!! Dallas is cool, not too far from us and it’s been a while since we’ve been there! hope you all have a wonderful week

  16. What?!?!!? I was in Dallas the 5th – 9th! So sad I didn’t communicate better or else we could have met up too :( I was there watching my boss’ babies while he and his wife went to Las Vegas but I did have some free time. It would have been fun to meet in real life! Although it did seem like you guys had quite the busy schedule…guess there are too many people in Dallas who love you!
    Good thing we are moving back to Texas in February so maybe we can plan for a meet up sometime in the future ;)

  17. Pingback: Memorial Weekend in the Lone Star State |

Leave a Reply

