Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze

The first year that Christopher and I were married we cooked dinner together every night since it was something we both loved. However, after that first year, his work hours changed (from 7-4 to 8-5) and we started volunteering nearly every night which meant we had to be leaving our house by 6:30 nearly every evening. Not a lot of time for co-cooking to happen during the week. So these days most of our “together” cooking happens on the weekends (like our Friday night pizza night!) or late at night when inspiration strikes.

For example, earlier this week, late one evening Christopher decided that he needed to make scones. I said that we had leftover pumpkin puree in the fridge so we went straight to Pinterest and typed in “Pumpkin Scones”. It came up with hundreds of photos and links, but after going through several of them we realized that most of them were bloggers trying the same recipe. All with wonderful success. So we decided to go for it using the Brown Eyed Baker’s blog post.

They. Were. Ah-mazing.


Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze

Ingredients:

For the Scones:
2 cups all purpose flour
6 tbsp granulated sugar (I did try a batch with Splenda as well, but they didn’t turn out as well so I am still working on a sugar-free version)
1 tbsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
½ tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp ground nutmeg
¼ tsp ground cloves
¼ tsp ground ginger
6 tbsp cold butter
½ cup canned pumpkin
3 tbsp almond milk
1 large egg

For the Glaze:
1 cup plus 3 tbsp powdered sugar
2 tbsp milk
¼ tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1 pinch ground ginger
1 pinch ground cloves

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.

2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger in a large bowl. Use a fork to cut the butter into the dry ingredients until mixture is crumbly and no chunks of butter are obvious; set aside.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, almond milk, egg and vanilla. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients, and form the dough into a ball. Pat out dough onto a lightly floured surface and form it into a 1-inch thick rectangle about 3 times as long as wide. Use a large knife or a pizza cutter to slice the dough twice through the width, making three equal portions. Cut each of the portions in an X pattern (four pieces) so you end up with 12 triangular slices of dough. Place on prepared baking sheet. Bake for 14-16 minutes, or until light brown. Place on wire rack to cool.

5. To make the spiced glaze, combine all of the ingredients for the spiced glaze. Drizzle over each scone and allow the icing to dry before serving.

I hope you are able to resist these better than we could – we’ve made 4 half-batches of them this week alone! Granted, Oreo ate one batch (we left them out to cool unattended by accident) and I completely forgot to put baking powder in another batch (euuuw so gross!), but still! Two half-batches of these in one week! They are super delicious! :D

25 responses to “Pumpkin Scones with Spiced Glaze

  1. Oh my gosh, those look SO yummy! Thanks for the recipe, Rach!

  2. YUM!! I make pumpkin scones each year as well. My daddy and brother LOVE them, and I inhale my fair share as well :)

  3. Yummy! My hubby loves pumpkin. :-)

  4. Thank you for another successful recipe! I am pretty sure I will try this recipe for Thanksgiving :)

  5. those scones looks Heavenly!

    -Tia

  6. Those sound really good and look easy to make. I have some pureed pumpkin in my freezer and I’ve been wondering what to make with it.

  7. Those look awesome & I want to make them like right now!

  8. Aw that’s so sweet that you guys made these together! Will & I love to cook together, but I must admit that he has never been one to bake with me haha. Pumpkin scones sound like something I would be completely responsible for ;)

  9. I love love loveeee scones!!! Especially pumpkin ones. Well, I love pumpkin anything. It’s so worth working on a sugar free version – I don’t want you missing out on it!!

  10. These look super delish! I’ve never made scones before….but I shall give these a try. :D

  11. YUMMMMM!! These look amazing!! Thank goodness for Pinterest!!

  12. I think it’s really cute that you both made these scones together! I love cooking with my fiance. It’s fun. :) These scones look amazing. I’m loving all of these pumpkin flavored treats lately.

  13. I love cooking together! :) I just wish we had more time during the week.

  14. Mmmm looks so good! What a great way to welcome Thanksgiving! :)

  15. Your pumpkin fetish is killing me:) Every recipe looks better than the next!!!

  16. These scones look great! I love everything pumpkin.
    I love cooking with my boyfriend. As much as I enjoy going out for dinner, making it together at home can be an even better date.

  17. I am in love. These look SO good!

  18. Yum-O can’t wait to try these!! Thanks for sharing.

  19. WOW it looks amazing…..Yummy!

  20. Mmmmm…these look SOOOOO good :P I love just about anything pumpkin!

  21. Trying so hard to stay away from sweets, yet this is a feast for my eyes. Delicious!

  22. aahahhahaa, that’s really cute/funny about oreo eating an entire batch!

  23. Pingback: Taco Salad |

Leave a Reply

