Braided Spaghetti Bread

It gets dark at 5 o’clock.

This is a problem when you need nice natural light pouring in your kitchen for good quality photos of food.

I think I need to build a light box.

But until then, you guys will just have to forgive me for the less-than-stellar photos of food.

Speaking of… how about a photo of some Braided Spaghetti Bread?

Braided Spaghetti Bread

Ingredients:

1 loaf frozen bread dough, thawed
6 oz spaghetti, cooked
1 1/2 cups thick spaghetti sauce
6 oz mozzarella cheese, cut into 1/2 –inch cubes
1 egg white
Parmesan cheese
Parsley flakes
Garlic Salt

Directions:

1. Spray counter lightly with non-stick cooking spray. Roll loaf into 12×16-inch rectangle. Cover with plastic wrap and let rest 10-15 minutes.

2. Cook spaghetti according to package instructions. Drain and let cool slightly. Mix with sauce.

3. Remove wrap from dough. Place spaghetti lengthwise in a 4-inch strip down center of dough. Top cheese cubes.

4. Make cuts 1 1/2-inches apart on long sides of dough to within 1/2-inch of filling. Begin braid by folding top and bottom strips toward filling. Then braid strips left over right, right over left. Finish by pulling last strip over and tucking under braid. Lift braid with both hands and place on a large, sprayed baking sheet. Brush with egg white and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, parsley, and garlic salt.

5. Bake at 350°F 30-35 minutes or until golden brown. Cool slightly and slice to serve.

This stuff is so good. I mean, c’mon, spaghetti PLUS freshly baked bread all mixed into one delicious bite?! I think YES! :)

31 responses to “Braided Spaghetti Bread

  1. That braided spaghetti bread looks amazing. Yum! I know what you mean – it’s like pitch-black outside by 6:30 pm. :-/ And getting up while it’s still dark is interesting. haha

    -Tia

  2. Ummmm…yummmmm! That looks amazing! :P

  3. I can’t eat this because I’m allergic to wheat, but I just have to say that I LOVE this concept! Maybe I should find wheat-free bread and make it with Shiritaki noodles :D

  4. It is getting dark so early, you are right Rach!
    I actually had halogen spotlights installed in the kitchen last year over the breakfast table, and it is a huge help.

    Mhmmm, I wonder if I could make that using garlic bread? Yummmy!

  5. I need a lightbox. And a fox in a box. And a cat in a hat. And a mouse in a house.

  6. Girl you are quite talented, this looks fab :) My gram would love something like this!

  7. oh myyyyy oh myyyy, this is a phenomenal idea! i love it and you bet it’s been tagged in the reader, this one’s getting made next time I have a certain few guests in town that I know will also go nutz over it!

  8. That is so unique!! I’ve never heard of it but it looks SO SO SO good!!! My sister would be all over it!

  9. I agree with you about the light! Doesn’t the time change know we are food bloggers. ha.
    This delicious! My two favorite foods combined! :)

  10. omgggg this recipe is genius!!!
    i made a lightbox once, but i need to remake it after looking at angela’s… hers put mine to shame!

  11. This looks so good! Spaghetti and bread, two of my favorites :)

  12. goodness GRACIOUS, Rach. that looks absolutely delicious!

  13. Ahhh I tried making that the other day when I saw it on Pinterest, but I accidentaly bought heat and serve rolls instead of the dough! DUH! I am such an idiot some times! I am really jealous of how well yours seemed to have turned out! Hope it was delish! :)

  14. Is the bread filled with spaghetti? If so that is brilliant! I’m not sure I’m up to make this right now, but hopefully soon. I hear ya on the dark early, I think sunset is around 440 here in Seattle, so dark so early.

  15. The getting dark at 5 thing is getting pretty old already! I’ve never seen spaghetti bread before wow!

  16. I’ve never even heard of spaghetti bread! Such a cute idea :) And I also totally agree with the light issue, it is terrible and so restricting!! I need a light box as well :)

  17. Thanks for sharing those amazing recepies… My husband would be eager to try it out, since I, myself, am not much of a cook…. Btw, what did you get as a result of the quiz? :)

  18. Oh my goodness, braided spaghetti bread is a genius idea!! Why eat spaghetti and cheesy bread separately when you can enjoy them all in one bite?! Love this recipe!

    And I completely understand the light issue. I do almost all of my cooking and baking at night, which makes for less-than-stellar photos. A light box may be on my Christmas list!

    • Hah yeahhh that’s why sometimes, I just wait until the next day to photograph certain recipes :P Doesn’t always happen though. And Rach, this looks delicious! I can almost taste it and feel it~Mmmmmmm you are truly the most Italian person I know! ;)

  19. if you build a light box, build one for me too, k? I am not that crafty. haha. Spaghetti with braids? Comfort and genius!

  20. Wow, I’ve never heard of that, but it does sound so good!!

  21. it has been dark here by 5pm!! i cant stand it.

    girllll i am eating this right before my 1/2 marathon!

  22. How did you come up with this…..It looks amazing, I have to try it!!!!!

  23. Oh I forgot…..How is Oreo, hope he is feeling better and his tummy went down.

  24. Yes, yes yes. That a perfect combination right there. I ADORE spaghetti and bread together; heck, I typically pile it up on my bread to eat it anyway so why not just stuff it in there and make it a whole lot neater? Nice one Rachel!

  25. Yum! Girl, I love seeing your recipes – too bad they always make me hungry WAY before it is lunch/dinner time :)

  26. OH, that looks amazing! I am going to have to try.

Leave a Reply

