Little Lasagnas for Leap Day!

Happy Leap-Year-Day, friends! But more importantly… today is only the second time in 7.5 years that Christopher and I have been able to celebrate our month-iversary in February! Today marks 89 months together… my oh my! To celebrate we are going out for frozen yogurt with friends! :)

Earlier this week I made little individual sized lasagnas based on this recipe from Can You Stay for Dinner (originally from Hungry Girl’s Lasagna Cupcakes). I took them to our small group on Sunday and they were gone in a flash (I even doubled the recipe and made 24 of them!). One of my friends who dislikes Italian food (I know, I know… it’s hard to believe she and I are friends, haha! The girl doesn’t even like pasta!) actually liked these! Not like “oh my goodness these are my favorite ever,” but she didn’t hate them and sorta kinda liked them. This is super high praise from her. ;) Anywho, I hope you guys like ‘em too!

Little Lasagnas

Ingredients:

1 16oz jar spaghetti sauce with meat (I use the Aldi’s brand because it has the lowest sugar and is inexpensive)
1 8oz tub part skin ricotta cheese
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp basil
pinch salt and pepper
1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1 (48 count) package small square wonton wrappers

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375. Coat 2 12-cup muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray. Place 1 wonton wrapper into each of the 24 cups, pressing firmly in the bottom of the cup and up the sides.

2. In a large bowl, combine the ricotta, salt and pepper, oregano, and basil. Stir to mix well. Using half of the ricotta mixture, divide it among the 24 muffin cups. Next, using half of the sauce, spoon it evenly over each of the ricotta filled cups. Sprinkle with 2 tsp of mozzarella.

3. Gently press another wonton wrapper on top of the mozzarella layer. Repeat the process by distributing the remaining ricotta, then the remaining tomato sauce, and finally the rest of the shredded mozzarella.

4. Bake for 10 minutes, or until the cheese has melted. Let the cups cool, remove them from the pan, and serve!

Enjoy today! You won’t see another Leap Year for four more years! :)

 

38 responses to “Little Lasagnas for Leap Day!

  1. These are so freaking adorable!!

  2. Those look really good! A good dish for a party. Happy months-versary! Enjoy your extra day of February!

  3. These look better than many other similar ones that I’ve seen… I may have to actually try them out! ;) Happy 89-months together ~ milestone if I’ve ever heard one! Terry and I started dating on November 2, so I guess we always get a month-a-versary, although we don’t celebrate them.

  4. Those look delicious & solve the problem of cooking for one. :) Happy Leap Day!

  5. happy anniversary!!! ;)

    and I’ve seen those in HG. I need to try them!

  6. I can always count on a rumbling stomach after reading your recipes. Plus, they are great ideas for entertaining.
    http://kateschannel.wordpress.com/

  7. Oh, these look amazing! Thank you for sharing this recipe

  8. These not only sound amazing but they look so delicious!

  9. I love making mini lasagnas!!! So much easier, but still so delicious.

  10. I love mini versions of any food! These are adorable!

  11. Happy Anniversary! :) These lasagnas are so cute! I definitely want to make them! Great tip about the sauce from Aldi. I’m definitely going to check it out!

  12. Ooo, these look so good. Definitely going to have to make them.

  13. Love the idea of these little lasagna bites! Remember seeing them on Andrea’s blog a while back and bookmarking to make them, definitely need to get on that!

  14. I’ve seen these all over the place! I need to suck it up and finally make them!

  15. These are so cool!! And perfect for a party. Ive never seen wonton wrappers, do most stores have them or do I need to go to a specialty asian store?

    • I found them at my local grocery store (Kroger) so hopefully you can find them at your grocery store as well. They were in the refrigerated “health” section at Kroger (with the soy milk, almond milk, soy cheese, vegan ‘meat’, etc). Hopefully you can find them easily! :)

  16. Those are so adorable! I love Aldi’s too! Makes shopping so much nicer :)

  17. These are soooo cute, and they look so tasty. Easily poppable into my mouth! Happy month-iversary to you sexy kids!

  18. mmmm this looks delicious and so delicate! and *gasp*!!!! I don’t think I’ve EVER met anyone who doesn’t somewhat enjoy Italian food….haha!

  19. Wait, what?!?! Doesn’t like pasta?!?! I can’t believe it!

  20. Those look amazing! I need to try them very soon:)

  21. I should have eaten your lasagne, had a bought one on Sunday it came back into view shortly after! Not my favourite dish currently.

  22. These are just the cutest thing in the world. Or that I’ve seen today, at least :P

  23. Cupcake Lasagna! great idea! :D

  24. Those are sooooo stinkin’ cute! And I love the Puppy Play Date post. Awh!!

  25. Little lasagnas are adorable. Anything made miniature is just so cute!!

  26. What a cute, fun idea! Oh, and Happy Anniversary, I think I forgot to tell you! (I just added a post on my blog called “True Beauty” and would love to know what you think) :) Have a great Sunday tomorrow!

  27. Oh I love it! So cute and they look so yummy!

  28. those are too freakin cute!! they look tasty too!!

    happy anni!!!!!!!!! :D

    Have a wonderful Monday, and a happy week!
    best,
    gc

  29. Those little lasagna’s are adorable! How cute :D

  30. Little lasagnas? SO awesome!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  31. Dang girl! Look how tasty these are! I think I would eat like 10 of them in one sitting though, which probably wouldn’t be so good, but that’s the Italian in me ;)

  32. Awesome.. I love this recipe.. I will surely try this!

  33. These little lasagnas are so cute! I am going to make them for a potluck.

  34. Pingback: A Summer Preview: Coming to My Backyard in 13 Days | kateschannel

Leave a Reply

