Sister Wives [and “man pleasing chicken”]

We don’t have cable and about a year and a half ago we got rid of our Netflix account because we were literally trying to put every single penny toward our student loan payoff. We figured we can watch stuff for free on Hulu to keep up with the shows we really liked. Plus it wasn’t like we were home enough to watch TV anyway, ha! Aaaanyway, as I’ve mentioned before, we are getting super close to being done with our student debt payoff so we are a little more lax with our spending. We decided to get Netflix again! Well, technically we are still in our first free month, but we are planning to keep it after this too. :) One of the shows we’ve discovered this month is Sister Wives.

Sister Wives Portraits{Source}

I know I am way behind the times here because I’ve heard several people talking about this show over the last couple of years, but it blows my mind. Christopher and I watched the first episode together and we both just sat there with our chins practically on the floor. It’s just so hard to wrap our minds around something that is so different from anything we understand. I think it blows my mind how happy the women seem even though they all share one husband/father to their children. I watch episode after episode looking for answers to why they have chosen this lifestyle. Anyway, definitely has made for some interesting conversations lately. :)

A while ago, I came across this pin on Pinterest called “Man Pleasing Chicken” from Witty in the City blog. I made it last month and just now realized that I never got around to posting it on the blog. Not only was it “man pleasing chicken” it was also “Rach pleasing chicken” ha!

man pleasing chicken
Maple Dijon Chicken (aka “Man Pleasing Chicken”) 

Ingredients:

1.5 lb chicken breast
1/2 cup honey dijon mustard
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
fresh rosemary
salt and pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450. Whisk together honey dijon mustard, maple syrup, and rice wine vinegar in small bowl.

2. Season chicken with salt and pepper then place in a foil-lined baking dish. Pour maple mustard mixture over them, turning the chicken until they are fully coated.

3. Bake 30 minutes then remove from oven to baste chicken again. Put back in the oven for another 30 minutes or until meat thermometer reads 165F. Plate chicken and add extra sauce on top. Top with a little fresh rosemary.

So today I am hanging out with Hadley again which is fabulous. She is super sweet and makes my heart smile. I think I hear her starting to wake up, though, so I am going to end this. Hope you guys have a great Thursday! :)
Love Rach

 

23 responses to “Sister Wives [and “man pleasing chicken”]

  1. I love watching Sister Wives. I love getting the inside look on their lives – I think it is incredible how their family works!

    That chicken looks delish!

  2. I am totally in awe over Sister Wives, too! It’s really hard to imagine choosing that lifestyle, but to each their own. If they’re happy doing it, then more power to them! Chicken looks simple and delicious!

  3. I’ve never seen Sister Wives but I’ve heard about it. I could never live a life like that but to each their own.

    That chicken looks delicious!! :)

  4. This chicken actually looks pretty amazing. It seems easy enough too. I might have to try that one day.

  5. We watched that show too! I couldn’t share my husband! This chicken looks incredible!!!! I love that you post recipes!

  6. I’ve never seen Sister Wives…but it seems like it could suck you in! That chicken sounds delish :)

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  7. That chicken looks good (and easy to make) so I might have to try it! I’m sure it would please my man, because he’s always raiding the fridge at dinner time looking for sauce to add to whatever we’re having. I bet he would like that sauce! Haven’t seen Sister Wives, but we have Netflix, so I’ll have to look it up. Netflix has got me stuck on Make It Or Break It–one of those ABC Family teen dramas about competitive gymnasts. :-)

  8. I have all these ingredients! Adding it to my weekly menu right now!

  9. Personally, I have never seen Sister Wives, but I know people who see Sister Wives, and they love it.

  10. mmm this looks so good.

  11. That chicken recipe must be tried in this house. I am optimistic that it will be Amy pleasing as well!

  12. Sister Wives… crazy! I’ve only seen bits and pieces of it, but my parents don’t even let me watch it. They’re like “turn that off right now!!!!” I guess it’s kinda crazy!

  13. I love that show! It’s so interesting, especially because it is so foreign of a concept! But they somehow make it work! Miss being in the blogosphere but I have been back lately! Hope you and hubby are doing well!

  14. Maybe if the dude was hot? No, still couldn’t share my hub

  15. Sister Wives is such a fascinating show!

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  16. Hahahaaa how did I miss this post! I HATE to love Sisterwives, it is SO entertaining to me..but I am with you 100% I just DON’T GET IT!! I could never share my husband..NEVER!

  17. I loooveee Sisterwives! So fascinating to me.
    And that recipe looks delish!!!!
    Please come to Austin and lets watch sister wife marathon’s whilst we cook together? ;)

  18. my punctuation was completely off in that comment and it’s bugging me. lol. just thought i’d let you know. :P

  19. I could not handle a “Sister Wives” set up. My jealousy would get in the way in terms of husband sharing. I also really don’t like Cody (at least from the episodes I have seen). He seems so arrogant and pompous.

  20. I have never heard of that show, but it does sound interesting to put it mildly! My mouth would hit the floor, too.

  21. Don’t know how I just saw this post in my reader but the title cracked me up thanks to a ridiculous joke that I have with one of my best college girlfriends (on the topic of chicken lol yea dont’ ask..) Just texted her the recipe and it totally made her morning! Hiliarious recipe name but also sounds really tasty!

  22. I can’t understand Sister Wive’s either. I don’t EVER want to share my man. Haha. I think that would be “Janna pleasin’ chicken” too!

  23. I’ve watched Sister Wives for about three seasons now and it is one of my favorite shows. I could not wrap my head around it the first season and I had people (family) watching it with me trying to figure the Brown family out. Now after three seasons I just feel like at now 45 years old I missed out on something another type life.

Leave a Reply

