Taco Soup and Homemade Seasonings

For all those recipes that call for a “ranch packet” or a “taco seasoning packet” and you cringe when you sprinkle in that packet of preservatives and sodium… fear not! You have another option! :)  A couple of years ago I came across a taco seasoning recipe from AllRecipes and have used it ever since. It seems like a lot of spices, but you more than likely already  have all of these spices in your kitchen!

homemade taco seasoningHomemade Taco Seasoning: 1 tbsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, 1/4 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp paprika, 1 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp black pepper. 

And since I have had such success with the homemade taco seasoning, I decided to give the homemade ranch mix from $5 Dinners a try. I’m glad I did! Again, it was just spices I already had in my cupboard and as always I love knowing exactly what goes into my food. :) 

homemade ranch mixHomemade Ranch Mix: 2 tbsp dried parsley, 1 tsp dried dill, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp onion powder, 1/2 tsp dried basil, and 1/2 tsp black pepper.

And you know what delicious meal you can make with a taco seasoning packet and a ranch seasoning packet? Taco Soup! :)

taco soup

Taco Soup

Ingredients:

1 lb lean ground beef
1 onion, minced
1 (16oz) package frozen corn kernals
2 (15oz) cans pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 (15oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 (14.5oz) can no-salt-added diced tomatoes
1 (14.5oz) can Italian style diced tomatoes
1 envelope taco seasoning (see above for our substitute!)
1 envelope ranch seasoning (again, see above for our substitute!)
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Brown ground beef and minced onion together in large stock pot. Drain excess fat. Put meat mixture back into stock pot and add all other ingredients. Bring to boil then lower heat to let simmer for at least 15 minutes.

Also, I just realized that I never showed you guys the two cutest Valentine’s cards I got this year! First up, from Paisley:

valentine baby feetIs that not precious? Her little feet in the shape of a heart! I just love it!

And from one of my besties, Courtney, who has a soft spot for rescue dogs and understands my love for my pup…

valentineIt’s the PITs without you… Oh so cute! Speaking of sweet little pitbull pups…

Oreo Sun BathingHe is loving all this sunshine lately. Basking in the glow! :)

Happy Tuesday, friends!

Love Rach

24 responses to “Taco Soup and Homemade Seasonings

  1. I usually add a some dried minced onion and a some cornstarch to my taco seasoning mix and leave out the salt. Adding some paprika also gives the mix a little bit of a “smoky” flavor. I Usually use about 2 TBSP in place of a package of seasoning mix.

  2. I NEVER even thought about creating my own spice packets. You are a genius! I use taco seasoning all the time. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Homemade taco seasoning is ‘definitely’ the way to go!! :)

  4. I love homemade taco soup but have never made it myself. I’m definitely trying this recipe out!

  5. That taco soup looks insanely delicious!!

  6. It’s never crossed my mind to make my own seasonings. So smart.

  7. I am all over that ranch spice mix! The vegan ranch I occasionally buy is not cheap!

  8. I was just thinking an hour or so ago how I wanted a taco soup recipe to make this week – may be using this one!!!

  9. Smart. I had to do this the other day because I was out of taco seasoning.

  10. I would much rather make my own seasonings! Thanks for the recipes :)

  11. AHhh that puppy box is the cutest! And taco soup?! Oh my goodness…yum :)

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  12. This looks SO good! I don’t eat meat, but based off everything else that is in this, I think I could probably enjoy it without the meat. Thanks for sharing the recipe. It looks really great :) And that puppy container is SO cute!!

  13. I have a ziploc of something similar a friend gave me! now i can make it myself , thanks :)

  14. YUMMO _ i will be using this recipie!

    PS pass it along – giveaway going on at my blog :o)

  15. Yum! Taco soup! I just bookmarked a recipe for chicken tortilla soup the other day, I’ve been craving Mexican! I’ve made my own taco seasoning before too (like you, the packets weird me out) but I’ve never tried my own ranch seasoning. Great idea!

  16. Cutest Valentines ever! And who knew you could make your own Ranch?!

  17. Homemade taco soup sounds pretty perfect right about now!

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  18. I have always made my own taco seasoning, but I never knew a recipe for ranch seasoning… thanks girl!

  19. I agree about homemade taco and ranch seasonings… you know what’s in ‘em AND you can adjust exactly for your own tastebuds. Plus no icky stuff. :) This soup looks delish!

  20. I actually think I`ve got most of those spices in my kitchen! hm.. thanks reminding me how easy it really is!:-)

  21. I have made my own taco seasoning before but never ranch! I will definitely be trying this before buying another packet!

  22. I love this! I always try to avoid pre-made things with preservatives and such, so obviously I can’t wait to try these! And that soup looks amazing!

  23. So yummy looking!
    Never thought of making up the seasoning myself… Great idea! I hate buying packs of stuff with all the preservatives.
    and those are some cute cards!

  24. I do the homemade seasonings too! Way better for you and better tasting.

Leave a Reply

