Jerusalem Market and Challah Bread

For those who don’t know, Purim begins this evening and goes through tomorrow. Purim is a Jewish holiday that commemorates the story of Esther (a Jewish girl who became queen) who saved the Jewish race from extermination. You can read about the story in the book of Esther (in the Bible) or read about Purim here. Neither Christopher or I are Jewish by race, but as Christians we really enjoy learning more about the Jewish roots to our faith. :) In honor of this Jewish holiday, I made my favorite Jewish recipe: Challah Bread!

challah challah(recipe from AllRecipes.com)

And since we will be busy all day tomorrow, we decided to celebrate Purim today by reading the story of Esther and going out for some Middle Eastern eats at the Jerusalem Market! :)

jerusalem market From the outside

jerusalem market

They brought us a huge basket of pitas to snack on while we waited on our food. They were warm and fresh and absolutely delicious! They also brought us olives and pickled cucumbers which Christopher particularly enjoyed. We ordered four balls of falafel at 25 cents each just to try. But our real meal was…

jerusalem market

Christopher got the Chicken Shawarma and I got the Lamb Shish Kabob in a pita. They were both absolutely excellent. Our waitress told us that the chicken shawarma is the most requested item and we can definitely understand why. It was delicious!

menu(click on photo for better quality)

And did I mention how inexpensive this place is? Less than $5 for each of our pitas stuffed with all kinds of deliciousness. :)

jerusalem market

The restaurant is connected to a market that sells all kinds of interesting Middle Eastern foods. It was fun to just walk through and explore everything. :)

baklava

And it’s a good thing we walked through the Market because they had a pan of freshly made baklava that called Christopher’s name. He said it was sweet and excellent. :)

Jerusalem Market on Urbanspoon
Jerusalem Market & Restaurant on Foodio54

“And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?” – Esther 4:14

Love Rach

22 responses to “Jerusalem Market and Challah Bread

  1. i love challah bread! my father’s family is jewish, and my mom’s is catholic (italians…holla!) and i was raised christian with a mix of both of them! long story short, i know all about purim! i think that’s awesome y’all learned about it.

  2. Hmmm, I haven’t made Challah bread for years!! I just pinned this recipe! :)

  3. We love Challah bread!! Though, it’s such a heavy bread, it really gets tiring kneading it for five minutes, haha! But so delicious. :D

    -Tia

  4. OMG that market/restaurant looks totally legit! I LOVE small ethnic places that. Falafels are are my jam!

  5. The lamb in the pita looks so, so good!! Love falafels!!
    walkinginmemphisinhighheels.com

  6. Sweet Mercy! Challah bread is so dreamy!

  7. I love that you celebrate this…what a cool tradition and amazing story to celebrate!

  8. So cool that you celebrate this! I have never really paid much attention to the Jewish roots of Christianity, but I think that would be super interesting. We just discovered a Middle Eastern restaurant that we absolutely love. The one you went to looks great too :)

  9. Mmm I love falafel! I just made some today for lunches this week!

  10. Falafel is amazing! And only 25 cents each? What a bargain!

  11. Hey Rach! It was great meeting you last night at the blogger meetup! Can’t wait to catch up on some of your posts! Have a great week! -Bekah

  12. I love Challah bread! I’ve never tried making it at home though. Definitely want to try it :)

  13. I did a Bible Study on the book of Esther and loved it! Challah bread is amazing!

  14. My best friend is Jewish, and I just happen to LOVE that type of food.

  15. I love challah! My husband’s family is Jewish and I’ve been introduced to so many new, delicious ethnic foods since meeting him. I love all of the new holidays I am able to celebrate and, of course, all of the food that comes with the celebrations!

  16. Yum, I love challah bread!

    xo, Yi-chia
    Always Maylee

  17. Mmm, I enjoyed a delicious Sunday dinner of Chicken Souvlaki so we were practically food twins this weekend! Those pitas look amazing.

  18. Oh, I love Jerusalem Market! It’s such a hidden gem. Found your blog through the blogger meetup post on Alyssa’s blog… nice to meet another Memphis blogger! :)

  19. yums! Middle eastern food is sooo deliscious! Have to make it more often! I do make some super good pita breads though!

  20. Pingback: Celebrating Passover |

  21. Pingback: Dinner, Dessert, and Sunset |

Leave a Reply

