A little authentic Mexican dinner

Remember that one time I was a wedding coordinator? The bride, Mandy, is my go-to person for reliable information when it comes to authentic Mexican food. She has spent lots of time in South America (Dominican Republic and Panama to be exact) and knows the food and language well (she’s a Spanish teacher at a local high school). So when I heard that there was an authentic style Mexican restaurant called Taqueria La Guadalupana off Summer, I knew she needed to come with Christopher and I! And since we like her husband, he got to go come too. ;) And of course, two of our other close girlfriends who also love Mexican food!

la guadalupanaThe first thing we noticed when we walked in was that everything was ORANGE! But in a festive happy sort of way. :)

la guadalupanaThe chips and salsa were ah-mazing! They never refilled them for us, though. So I’m not sure if a refill costs extra or if they just didn’t get around to it.

mattMatt (Mandy’s husband) waiting anxiously for our food!

la guadalupanaI ordered the chicken fajitas and they were yummy. You can find the full menu here.

la guadalupanaChristopher got the steak burrito which he RAVED about. I think he managed to eat half of it before he had to call it quits. It made a great lunch the next day (as did my leftover fajitas). :)

la guadalupanaI had heard that the goat taco was a must-try here so we ordered one and passed it around the table for everyone to try. It was interesting. I think the flavor I could most closely associate with it was deer meat. It had kind of that gamey wild flavor. Anyway, not my favorite, but definitely interesting to try!

Taqueria la guadalupana As we got ready to check out, we saw all the bottles of Jarritos!

DSC_1013We all went home with leftovers and happy bellies!

So how did this place do on authenticity? Mandy called it a win. She had a torta (Mexican sandwich) and said it was definitely on par for food she has eaten in the Dominican Republic. :)
La Guadalupana on Urbanspoon
Taqueria La Guadalupana on Foodio54

Love Rach

23 responses to “A little authentic Mexican dinner

  1. theres a little mexican hole-in-the-wall kind of joint around here and its decorated the same way! bright, bold colors and ooooh their queso is to die for! and the best part about it being such a small authentic place? its cheap too!

  2. The food looks amazing!

  3. I think Mexican food is my favorite!! One of my best friends is Mexican and he always cooks me delicious food when I go visit him in Texas!

  4. Yummmmmm you really can’t go wrong with Mexican…chips and salsa = yum!

  5. Mmm, your husband’s burrito would be my pick – looks soooooo good!

  6. Haven’t been there yet but I’ve heard good things! Love Mexican food!

  7. ah crap now i really REALLY want mexican ha.

  8. that steak burrito looks like something my BF would love and probably devour rather fast! I love mexican food, it`s a very social kind of food!

  9. This all looks delicious! I love anything with peppers and CHEESE! :-D We’re still looking for a good Mexican place near us….we haven’t found one yet.

  10. Looks awesome! I grew up in San Antonio so I am a HUGE lover of Mexican food. Chips and guac = my life.

  11. Gosh I love Mexican food…it’s my favorite!

  12. Yum! I love Mexican Food. We finally found an awesome taqueria close to our house. Looks just like this one :)

  13. I’m a Mexican food lover, but have always been a little apprehensive to try this place! Glad you liked it!!

  14. Dang that food all looks so good!! I LOVE me some Mexican food!

  15. I love authentic Mexican! Most of the restaurants around here do nottttt do it right so it’s definitely exciting to find a place that does. Authentic Mexican food is so packed full of fresh ingredients & great flavor, it is by far the cuisine that fascinates me the most! Have you ever read Diana Kennedy? I love her book on Oaxacan cuisine, the recipes are amazing!

  16. Aww, this place sounds delish! I love that it was all ORANGE! When restaurants are bright like that they make me so happy, haha.

  17. Wow the food looks so delicious!

  18. YUM! Maybe I should change up my dinner plans to Mexican!! Goat taco? Don’t know if I’d be up for that, but the rest looks incredibly delicious!

  19. I want a bite of both of those meals!!

  20. Yum!!! I love Mexican! Haha

  21. That goat taco is on the 100 Foods to Eat in Memphis list! I’m glad you tried it!!

Leave a Reply

