Tokyo Grill

Christopher grew up eating sushi and he loves it. In fact, it is because his family enjoys it so much that I have acquired a taste for it. The only time I had eaten sushi before meeting my in-laws was on a plane from Japan to the States. So yeah, it was authentically Japanese, sure… however, it was still airplane food. Not a good first experience, ha! Anyway, Christopher loves sushi just as much as his parents do so with much persistence they finally converted me to the dark side several years ago. ;)

tokyo grillWe had heard great things about Tokyo Grill so we decided to hit it up! I’m so glad we did. The staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful and the food was great!

tokyo grillThe decor was bright and (obviously) Asian inspired.

tokyo grillThey brought these dumplings out to us on the house! They were absolutely delicious!

tokyo grillChristopher’s tempura shrimp roll and spicy tuna roll. I’m not a big fan of spicy sushi so I didn’t try that one, but I did snag a piece of his tempura shrimp roll and it was amazing!

tokyo grillI got the chicken teriyaki bento box. I love the concept of this! I got to try a little bit of everything in one meal. The shrimp tempura and California rolls were absolutely and completely amazing! The shumai (little dumplings) were very tasty too! The chicken teriyaki was pretty good, but not the best I’ve had. Next time I’ll get the Bento box again, but try a different main dish. Because believe me, I will definitely be back! :)

Tokyo Grill Kirby on Urbanspoon
Tokyo Grill on Foodio54
Love Rach

32 responses to “Tokyo Grill

  1. I’m so glad you moved over to the dark side. I’m kind of obsessed with sushi! And your little box of everything looks amazing!! So fun!

  2. i went there for the first time a month or two ago…and i really liked it, but there are some other local places that i think are better haha.

    • So I totally did not realize that they had more of these outside Memphis! Nifty! :) Yeah, I really need to try more sushi here in Memphis… it’s just that so many of the places that people rave about are SO expensive, ha!

  3. I grew up eating sushi too (my mom is Japanese, and she’d make it at home for us all the time!). I love bento boxes – something about them is so cute, and they’re a great option for people like me who can’t decide what they want off a menu! :)

    • I didn’t realize your mom was Japanese! How cool! I visited Japan a couple of times (went to Disney World in Tokyo, haha), but never spent an extended amount of time there so I don’t know much about their food or traditions. Did you grow up celebrating any of the Japanese holidays?

      And yes! The bento box is BRILLIANT for people like us! I can’t ever decide what I want because I want to try a little of everything! I wish all restaurants had these, haha!

  4. This looks so good! I am obsessed with sushi. I just love it!

  5. We love sushi! Not only do I like the taste, but the experience is always fun! I love trying new foods and the options with sushi seem endless.

    • I know, right?! It’s so fun to watch the sushi makers work! There was a place right by our house where you could request your own custom made sushi, but unfortunately they closed earlier this year. That was definitely a lot of fun!

  6. My sister has recently gotten in to sushi and LOVES it. I’ve never tried it, but need to asap!!

    • Yes, definitely! Just remember that if you don’t like the first piece you try, try a different type! There are some that I love and some that I really really don’t like! I bet your sister can give you some great ideas for places to start! :)

  7. Major drool fest over here girl! What are you doing to me!!

  8. Did they have vegetarian options? I have always wondered whether sushi can be very vegetarian-friendly.

  9. I love sushi! We´ve got loads of great take away sushi in Oslo, so we often get it for a quick lunch. We´ve also started making it at home, which is super easy and so incredibly good!!

    • We make California rolls at home because they are so easy and we both like them. We haven’t tried making homemade sushi with any sort of fish, though. Christopher wants to try making spicy tuna rolls at home sometime, but we just haven’t been brave enough yet, haha!

  10. I like some sushi–mostly the veggie kind. :) But that’s ok!

    • Still counts! My favorites are the California roll and shrimp tempura roll. So not exactly the most “adventurous” options. I like trying pieces of the other ones, but I always come back to these two staples. :)

  11. I am a sushi addict. When my boyfriend and I started dating, he swore that he didn’t like sushi because the only kind he had eaten was from his college cafeteria (I don’t recommend it!). I can gladly say that he has now joined the dark side too! I love Bento boxes. You get a little but of everything!

  12. I love sushi! That’s so nice that you were served free dumplings! :)

  13. I’ve only had sushi once, and I wasn’t a fan. But my family LOVES it! So I think I need to give it another chance. :)

    • Definitely give it another chance! I hated it the first time I had it on the airplane, but it wasn’t like I just absolutely loved it the second time I had it. I remember thinking that it was “okay” and “not as bad as I expected”. It wasn’t until the third time I had it that I realized that I actually liked it. Part of it was discovering which types I liked the best. For me, it’s the California roll and shrimp tempura roll – oh yum! :)

  14. Yum! I’m a vegetarian but I do like veggie sushi! I know it doesn’t really count but I still like it ;)

  15. Airplane sushi is definitely a terrible first experience! Glad you were able to try some real sushi :)

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

Leave a Reply

