Rock ‘n Dough Pizza!

It is no secret that I love pizza. I’ve been in search of my favorite pizza in Memphis for a long time, but with little luck. That is, of course, until I came across the Rock ‘n Dough Pizza food truck at Soup Sunday. And when I found out that they had opened a brick-and-mortar store over on Ridgeway, I knew we had to check it out.

rock'n dough pizzaIt’s small inside with enough seating for maybe 20 people, but there is plenty of seating outside as well. Big windows let in plenty of light so it feels bright and airy inside during daylight hours.

rock 'n dough pizzaYou walk in and tell them which slice of pizza you want and whether or not you want a salad to go with it. Then you pay and sit down. Within minutes, your food arrives at your table! I don’t think we’ve waited more than five minutes for our food when we dine-in.

rock 'n dough pizzaYou can also order an entire pizza pie and they will even do half with one set of toppings and half with another set. Their fresh-from-the-oven pizza is unbelievably good! This is a great reason to go when it’s busy because they are constantly pulling new fresh pizzas from the oven to keep up with the influx of costumers. There might be a little more of a wait, but it’s so worth it!

ol smokey This is a slice of the Ol’ Smokey Pie. BBQ sauce, shredded pork, caramelized onions, ricotta cheese, and plenty of mozzarella. It’s absolutely delicious and my second favorite of theirs!

bacon cheeseburger pizzaChristopher got a slice of the Bacon Cheeseburger Pie. Beef, bacon, grilled onions, cheddar, and Dijon. It was pretty good. He really enjoyed it.

classic pepperoniMy absolute favorite… the Classic Pepperoni! I’ll be honest, I’ve been here a couple of times and I still can’t bring myself to order anything different. I was so convinced that I would get a slice of the Margherita last week and yet I still ended up with a slice of pepperoni, ha! It is just that good!

Hands down, it’s currently my favorite pizza in Memphis. The sauce-to-cheese ratio is perfect (adequate sauce, TONS of cheese). They aren’t skimpy with the toppings so you get a bit of everything in every bite. The crust is thin and crispy, but still substantional enough to hold up to the sauce/toppings. The slices are ENORMOUS  and range from $3.50 – $5.50 a slice. I’m pretty much ready to go back now after writing this post! ;)

Rock'n Dough Pizza Co. on Urbanspoon
Rock 'N Dough Pizza on Foodio54
Love Rach

34 responses to “Rock ‘n Dough Pizza!

  1. That BBQ pizza looks so good! Gosh, now I want pizza and it’s only 8:45 in the morning…. :)

  2. This pizza looks amazing. I LOVE anything with BBQ sauce. YUM! And food trucks normally are fantastic…so awesome they have an actual restaurant too!

  3. We love pizza too! The BBQ pizza looks amazing! To be honest, we just love food!

  4. I think that I could devour that ol’ smokey right now! Looks terrific!

  5. mmm I love BBQ pizza and that one looks awesome!!

  6. I think I would love the BBQ pizza! Glad you found a new favorite spot :)

  7. The Ol’ Smokey Pie. Wow. I’m speechless. And add this to the list of places we’ll eat when I make it to Memphis someday.

  8. Yum. I love Rock ‘n Dough so much! I’m just like you though, I tend to find my favorite dish/pizza wherever we go and just order that. Why mess with a good thing?

    • I know, right?! My husband teases me for getting my same-old favorites and for not trying something new, but why order something else when I know what I love! Especially since I can usually snag a bite of his food since he always orders something new. ;) Also, I’m glad you’ve tried Rock ‘n Dough! It’s so good!

  9. Sometimes being g-free is hard! That looks delish :)

  10. Never heard of this place but I LOVE pizza, so I will be bookmarking it for sure. Also, I kind of stopped blogging for a while and I plan on being back, but boy oh boy have I missed your blog! Hope you’re doing well!

    Morgan – (Formerly Quite The Blog)

  11. Looks delicious. Pizza is one of my favorite foods (we eat it quite a lot), as is tomato pie. There is plenty of the good stuff in NJ, but when I moved to PA, it took me years (YEARS) to find great pizza. Luckily, we moved right around the corner from my local favorite, and I go there so frequently, I get a personal hello (and so does Jude) each time we’re there!

    • So sweet that the people at your favorite pizza place know you guys! I love that! I’ve always kind of wanted to have a place that we frequent so often that the people there know us by name. They know me at the library and the gym, though… so that counts for something, right? ;)

  12. Oh yum! There’s nothing like finding a great pizza place!!!!

  13. My mouth is watering, that pizza looks delicious!!! Love a good bbq chix pizza too!

  14. Oh my gosh YUM!!! I love ricotta on pizza! We had some on Tuesday and my boyfriend thought it was going to be COTTAGE cheese. He’s like “Um, does that go on pizza?…” ;)

  15. I’m totally craving pizza now!

  16. Yum! I’ve been craving some good pizza lately–this just inspired me to go get some soon!

  17. That pizza looks SO good! I love when pizza places have a huge variety of pies to choose from. It makes trying new kinds fun but I’m like you, once I find something I really like, it’s hard to try anything else :)

Leave a Reply

