Tracy Lawrence and Tyler Farr Concert {Memphis BBQ Co}

Last night Kix 106 hosted Tracy Lawrence and Tyler Farr as the free concert of the week! There was a monsoon with tons of lightning so I actually left my camera in the car which means I don’t have photos of the concert itself, BUT! I do have photos of our group of friends going out to dinner before the concert! So I’ll share those! :)

tony and memphis bbq coI was trying to take a photo of the restaurant, but Tony stepped right into my photo. So please enjoy this sultry shot. ;)

memphis bbq coMemphis Barbecue Co! I knew that they had been featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives which as why they were on my to-try list, but I have to tell you – this wasn’t at all what I was expecting. It was bigger and cleaner than I anticipated which isn’t bad! It just wasn’t the hole-in-the-wall dive I thought it would be.

pork rindsThey start you off by bringing bowls of free pork rinds to your table. I can’t remember if I’ve had these before or not, but I wasn’t a huge fan. There just wasn’t much taste to them.

Memphis PeacemakerChristopher got the Memphis Peacemaker. A double decker sandwich with pulled pork and brisket. It was really good!

bbq nachosI got the BBQ Nachos and they were ENORMOUS! The chips tasted like they were fired over a grill. I’m not sure how to describe them other than that. They were crispy and had almost a smokey flavor. They were really good! I couldn’t believe how much food this places gives you!

baby back ribsWe also got a side order of baby back ribs. They were actually a real disappointment. They weren’t terrible by any means, but when you are used to really great Memphis BBQ, you tend to get a little picky. These were super sweet, without any sort of smokey or spicy flavor to give them depth.

friendsAll of us after dinner

girlsAll the girls

christopher and tonyThe boys. The shots at the top are from the restaurant and the shot below is from just before we left for dinner. Tony kept talking about how weird his belly button felt and asked Christopher to poke it. So yes, that shot is of Christopher poking Tony’s belly button in our bedroom. It’s nice that they are so close. ;)

All in all, dinner was pretty good. The portions were enormous and the food was good. Not outstanding, but still good. I’d eat there again if we were in the area. By the by, the Memphis BBQ Co is actually in Horn Lake, Mississippi about half an hour from Memphis.
Memphis BBQ Company on Urbanspoon
Memphis Barbecue Company on Foodio54

Like I said before, I don’t have photos of the concert so here’s a video of my favorite song that Tyler Farr performed:

I hadn’t heard this song before last night, but it was pretty cute. Tyler Farr is actually best known for his song Redneck Crazy (which you can see here). I enjoyed hearing him play, but he wasn’t exactly the most family-friendly performer. 

Tracy Lawrence was up next and oh-my-goodness… the crowd literally went wild for him. I’m sort of new to the country music scene, but apparently Tracy Lawrence is a pretty big deal. There was hardly a song he sang that you couldn’t hear the crowd singing loudly with him. It was a pretty cool experience. The one song that I did know by him was this one:

This song is great. It’s a little sad, but sweet. {Though, it would be super sad if you were going through a break up while listening to it.} Christopher and I actually got kinda PDA-ish with this song. He snuggled me close and we danced a little and we sang this one together. As a side note, I really love when we sing together. Makes my heart smile. :)

Okay so this post is crazy long, but I just had so much to share! :) Happy Friday, friends!
Love Rach

19 responses to “Tracy Lawrence and Tyler Farr Concert {Memphis BBQ Co}

  1. I adore Tracy Lawrence. He played near my city a few years ago right around Kevin’s birthday, so I bought us tickets to go watch. We were right in the front and I thought TL put on a great show. My favorite song that he sings is Texas Tornado. And Stars Over Texas. And Alibis. Really he’s just great!

    I’m glad you enjoyed the concerts. Those nachos – yum!!

  2. My mom loooooooves Tracy Lawrence. I grew up on country, so I know a lot of his songs. And what a voice!

  3. Those nachos look amazing! I love Paint Me a Birmingham so much! :) Pork rinds seem so random!

  4. Too cute girl. How much fun are those free concerts? I wish we had something like that here!

  5. So fun! I’m glad to hear your review of MBBQC. My dad is a big Food Network fan so he was asking me about MBBQC just this month. Also, I don’t think I’d realized that you’re a relatively new country music fan. Welcome to the party! :)

    • Yeah, it wasn’t terrible. It’s just that when you are used to the amazing bbq choices we have in Memphis, you start to get a bit picky, haha! If you are in the area already and looking for a place to eat, it would be a good option, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to go back again.

      And yeah, I started to listen to country music about two years ago. I love it, though! :)

  6. Tyelr Farr…Awesome…His song, “Redneck Crazy” is one of my favorites right now!

  7. I was at the concert too! It was really fun. I felt like I was hanging out with a bunch of children though! I think several parents just dumped their kids off for the night.

    • Oh I know! We had a row of teenagers behind us that were pretty ridiculous. They were so busy flirting with each other that they kept running into us. We just laughed about it, though. We find lots of good people-watching opportunities at those concerts. ;)

  8. Pingback: Random Bits and Pieces |

  9. Those BBQ Nachos were soooo yummy!!! I was just laughing about when Chris and Tony were in the bedroom…haha!!!

  10. Omg…the food pics…the music…the pork rinds…I can’t get enough! I really like Tyler Far…had to go look up his other songs. Redneck Crazy is worth listening to, as well. :)

Leave a Reply

