Birthday Eats!

So like I mentioned yesterday in my birthday recap, Christopher took me to Ciao Bella for my birthday and it really was absolutely delicious!

ciao bellaFrom his Facebook. :)

ciao bellaCiao Bella’s cute little outdoor porch. It was drizzling a bit when we arrived so we ended up sitting inside, but hopefully we can sit outside the next time we come!

ciao bellaChristopher’s carne amante calzone. He absolutely loved this! It’s his definite favorite calzone in Memphis. An all meat calzone isn’t high on my list of favorites in general, but even I enjoyed this. They stuffed it full of fillings and cheese and the crust was delightful!

ciao bellaThe bolognese on linguine. This isn’t technically on their menu because their bolognese sauce comes with penne pasta, but when I requested a pasta change our waiter was more than happy to accommodate. Speaking of our waiter, the service was great! And my bolognese was delicious! It’s not my top favorite ever, but definitely my favorite in Memphis so far!

ciao bellaBut what really stood out to us the most was the makaronopita. We ordered this as a side to split because we had heard that the “mac and cheese” from Ciao Bella was to die for. Oh, it was. But this is no ordinary macaroni and cheese! Oh no, this is “macaroni noodles baked with imported feta and mizithra cheeses and layered between phyllo” (from the menu). If you go to Ciao Bella, you must try the makaronopita! It is unbelievably good! And it officially tipped the scales in favor of Ciao Bella being our new favorite Italian place in Memphis!

Ciao Bella Italian Grill on Urbanspoon Ciao Bella Pizza on Foodio54

And then yesterday one of my teen girls and her mom wanted to take me out to celebrate my birthday so we met up at The Elegant Farmer which is one of their favorite restaurants. :)

with elise Elise and I outside the restaurant. She’s 16 and dresses like this all the time. I’ve never not seen her looking classy. She is the very description of a lady. I just love her. :)

the elegant farmerIs this place not adorable? I just loved it! This is a “Project Green Fork” restaurant which means that they recycle, use sustainable packaging, compost kitchen waste, conserve water and energy, prevent pollution, and use nontoxic cleaning supplies. The hippy in me loved that about this place! :)

the elegant farmerI ordered the pot roast because I loved that the description had extra o’s: “slooow cooked angus brisket, oven roasted vegetables, natural gravy.” The pot roast itself was excellent and I loved all the fresh herbs. :)

The Elegant Farmer on Urbanspoon The Elegant Farmer on Foodio54
My absolute favorite thing about living in Memphis is the group of amazing friends we have here (reference yesterday’s post!), but all the delicious local food is pretty high up on the list of things we love about Memphis too! :)

Love Rach

24 responses to “Birthday Eats!

  1. Both of those restaurants look and sound amazing. I’m going to have to MOVE to Memphis to try all these great spots you find – a visit simply won’t cut it.

  2. AHH what a great way to celebrate, both of these places look adorable especially ciao bella!! Adorable!!!!

  3. Delicious!!!! How fun!! Both restaurants look so cute. Happy late bday!

  4. Oh yum! And HAPPY (Belated) BIRTHDAY, my lovely, sweet friend! :D

  5. Ciao Bella is amazing! They have some of their items out at the Ridgeway theater too – like I need another excuse to go to the movies OR eat delicious food from there!

  6. Wow the makaronopita looks amazing!! So happy you had an amazing birthday!!!

  7. I want….no….need that macaroni & cheese!!

  8. Everything looks so good but the makaronopita sounds amazing. I may need to make a trip just to try it :)

  9. I love how much y’all love food! My favorite part of traveling is trying new foods!

  10. Happy (belated) birthday, girl!!! That food looks delish :)

  11. All of this food looks amazing especially the makaronpita! I’ve never heard of that before. Memphis really does have some amazing looking food :)

  12. Aww! Happy Belated! That place looks A-Mazing.

  13. gorgeous birthday meal ;)

Leave a Reply

