Celebrating 9 Years Together!

This past weekend we celebrated 9 years together! On September 29th, 2004 we had that all-too-important “DTR” (you know, the “determine the relationship” talk). We were best friends who decided to take our relationship a different and more romantic direction. I’m so glad we did. :D And this weekend we celebrated!

ferris wheel midsouth fairWe started by going to the MidSouth Fair! That’s us on the ferris wheel on your left. :)

animals midsouthMy favorite part of the fair is always the petting zoo! Some of you have probably already seen it on Instagram, but I got to pet a kangaroo! Her name was Molly Roo and she was adorable! I’ve always wanted to pet a kanga so that officially came off the bucket list that I’ve never written! ;) I also got to chill with a llama which was pretty cool because I think llamas are pretty much amazing.

pig raceAnd of course there was a pig race because what is a fair without racing pigs? ;)

artAnother thing we love about the fair are all the art entries. It’s fun to see the local talent!

After the fair we went thrift store shopping where we found some amazing finds which I will blog about later this week. Oh, and the place we ate for lunch was so great that it also deserves it’s own post later this week so stay tuned for that. ;)

usAfter thrift store shopping, we got all dressed up and headed out to dinner!

sakuraDinner was at Sakura which was really delicious! We both enjoy sushi and chicken teriyaki so we have been a quest to find the BEST in the city. Christopher really enjoyed this chicken teriyaki and while I enjoyed it too, my favorite remains at Edo’s. Sakura’s sushi was excellent. Especially their shrimp tempura roll which was enormous! The spicy tuna rolls were a little lacking in size, but they were definitely still delicious.
Sakura Japanese on Urbanspoon

The best part of dinner, though, was actually the part when Christopher got to open his present. I made a GIF of his reaction (it’s hilarious to watch his face as he figures out what I mean by what I wrote in the card):

surprise on Make A Gif
I got him FLYING LESSONS! Yuuup! When he was a kid, he wanted to be a pilot and while that dream changed as he grew up, he has still had a fascination with flying planes. I just knew he’d love this. I love watching this GIF because he is reading…confused…eyebrow quirk…surely this doesn’t mean what I think it does…it’s FLYING LESSONS!…huge smile! Not even going to lie, I’m pretty proud of myself on this one. ;)

us29 years ago I knew I was a lucky lady, but I really had no idea just how lucky I was. I knew he was smart and made me laugh and that he loved God, but I didn’t know what a great leader and servant he would grow up to be. I definitely didn’t know that he would grow up to be so classy and a better dresser than me. I knew he respected me, but I didn’t know just how amazing it would be to be loved by a Godly man. I am overwhelmed with the blessings this man has brought into my life. I am richly blessed indeed. :)

Love Rach

40 responses to “Celebrating 9 Years Together!

  1. Ahh, I love that final paragraph in this post. Beautiful. Just like the beautiful couple you are (see Exhibit A of the dressed up before dinner photo above). Love the .gif of him opening the card! What a fun present for him.

    Also, I love the racing pigs photo. And you know I love a good fair, so this really looks like a wonderful day!

    • Aww thanks, friend. I wasn’t really planning on writing it… I just started typing and it didn’t stop, haha! I’m glad you don’t mind me getting all mushy when I talk about him. ;)

      And yes! I was pretty stoked to get that shot of the pigs. They were so funny running around. Their handler promised that they were never poked or prodded, but only trained using treats so I’m hoping that was really true. I hate the idea of animals being mistreated and the pigs were actually kind of cute!

  2. Happy anniversary! You are a beautiful couple. I wish you many more happy years together.
    HUGS!

  3. YAYAYAYA!! Happy 9 years to you both!! I love that GIF! I have no idea how to make those haha. MEERROOWW YOU guys look SNAZZY all dressed up!

    • No worries, I didn’t know until I Googled it, haha! I just Googled “how to make a GIF” and it popped up with the MakeAGIF.com website, haha! You just put your photos in it and choose the speed you want them to show up and viola! All done! :)

  4. Y’all are Sooo cute! Flying lessons is a great gift! I can tell from the clip he is so excited!

    • I knooow! I was SO proud of myself for getting him those. I told him a couple of weeks ago that I had gotten him the BEST present ever and that he should start getting excited. I could tell that he was a little concerned that I was building it up too big and that when he finally received his gift that I would be able to tell that it wasn’t as impressive as I had led him to believe. But nooooope! He was so shocked and excited! I was pretty stoked. ;)

  5. Awww, Happy Anniversary! Love all these pics. Wow, a lil’ kangaroo! So small. And a zebra?! Great assortment of animals. You two look fantastic all dressed up for dinner. His reaction to your gift of flying lessons is priceless!

  6. =) HUGE SMILES!
    It looks/sounds like y’all had so much fun to celebrate 9 years. and petting a kanga = jealous!!!
    What a thoughtful gift you gave him, he looks so elated!

  7. Happy 9 years! The fair looked fun! I have never seen a pig race before haha. Awesome gift and love the gif.

  8. Congrats on 9 years!! That’s awesome! And I’m so jealous that you got to pet a kangaroo…I would love that haha. Good present idea too :-)

  9. Oh how fun! Happy Anniversary and Happy Fall :)

  10. Happy Anniversary to you two, sounds like you had a great time celebrating!

  11. Happy, happy anniversary!!! :) It sounds like you celebrated in style, and I love that you captured his confused-to-excited expressions. What an amazing present! (Oh, yes, and that dress you’re wearing for the dress-up part is so absolutely gorgeous)! :)

    • Thanks, friend! We definitely had a lot of fun! And I’m so glad I got that series of photos. He is so like a little kid when he gets excited. Loved it. :) And thanks for the compliment on the dress! I really liked the black lace overlay to it. :)

  12. Happy anniversary!! What a great gift, love the GIF! :)

  13. Being loved by a Godly man is one of the best things in life! I am so happy for your and Christopher.

    And really. Best wife award… goes to you! Flying lessons make an AMAZING gift!

  14. Awww what a cute gif!! & gift haha

  15. aw, congrats!! and what an awesome, thoughtful gift!!

  16. Happy Anniversary! That is such a sweet gift!! :) I LOVE your hair in the last picture. How do you curl your hair like that? I am so bad at it.

    • I use a curling wand! I looked all over for a tutorial to explain sort of what I do, but I can’t find one that is exactly it. This girl’s ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5kyoMCq5HaM) is pretty similar, though. I do amp the heat all the way up and usually only curl from halfway down my hair. After I have it all curled, I run my hands through it a couple of times and viola! It’s done. Hopefully this makes a little bit of sense. It’s hard to explain with words. If you are ever in Memphis, I’ll be happy to give you an in person tutorial! ;)

  17. What a sweet post! And an amazing gift – how cool!

  18. Congrats girl! Looks like you guys had a great time celebrating! Love that you gave him something he has been thinking about since he was little!

  19. awww, such a sweet post! Happy 9 years to you both!! :-)

  20. Happy Anniversary!! Here’s to many, many, many more!

Leave a Reply

