Wiseguys Chicago Style Pizza (or is it?)

I mentioned yesterday that I would fill you guys in on our anniversary lunch later… well later has arrived! :) Since the fair was just across the state lines in north Mississippi we stopped at a place in Horn Lake, MS that has been on our to-eat list for a while. We had heard that the pizza was just like Chicago style pizza and since we love Lou Malnati’s and Giordano’s from Chicago, we knew we wanted to try this place out!

wiseguys pizzaWiseguys’ Chicago Pizza and Sandwiches in Horn Lake, MS

wiseguys menuMenu inside

wiseguys insideNearly all the walls are covered in photos of Chicago or news articles about Chi-town. But my favorite part was that the ceiling was covered in coloring pages. :)

South Side Italian sausage sandwichSince we had a 45 minute wait for our deep dish pizza to cook (also the norm in Chicago). We ordered the South Side Italian Sausage Sandwich to share as a sort of “appetizer.” This was Christopher’s favorite thing about this place. He raved about this sandwich. In fact he wants to drive to Mississippi again just so he can order this sandwich again, ha! It really was pretty tasty. The sausage was just a bit spicy and bursting with flavor. And the bread was a perfect level of crispyness and density to hold up next to the sausage.

wiseguys pizzaFinally… the main attraction… the deep dish pizza! This is the small size, but we each couldn’t eat more than one “slice.” If we hadn’t had the sausage sandwich we might have been able to split a third piece, but my oh my… this is filling and delicious!

wiseguys pizzaAnd cheesy. The amount of cheese on this pizza was unbelievable.

wiseguys pizzaMy “slice” of pizza. It was enormous. And delicious. Absolutely delicious. Christopher would return just to eat the sandwich and I would return just for another slice of this pizza. Oh goodness, it was good.

However, was it true Chicago style? Well, we aren’t from Chicago and haven’t eaten at every Chicago pizzeria, but we’ve eaten at both Lou Malnati’s and Giordano’s (two of the most famous ones). So while we aren’t experts, here’s our opinion:

pizza comparison

At Lou Malnati’s and Giordano, the sauce is the top layer of the pizza while the cheese is mixed in the middle with the other ingredients. Also, the crust is closer to the texture of thick pie crust than it is of plain pizza dough. Wiseguys’ did have deep dish dough, but it just tasted like regular pizza dough and not the like the buttery flaky crust of Lou Malnati’s and Giordano. Also, Wiseguys had far more cheese than either of the others.

So is it true Chicago style pizza based on our experiences? Not really. However, it’s by far the closest thing we’ve found in the Memphis area and it was DELICIOUS! So it’s still a huge winner!

wiseguys lionAlso, Wiseguys’ had a couple of random lion statues outside by their patio (where we sat) which was pretty nifty. I mean, why not go eat a delicious meal while being protected by stone lions? Sounds like a great idea to me!

Wiseguys on Urbanspoon

Love Rach

32 responses to “Wiseguys Chicago Style Pizza (or is it?)

  1. My gosh, talk about a pizza PIE!
    All that cheese – I’d die and go to heaven. :-D

  2. Wowza!! That looks like some really, really good pizza, and I KNOW you know your pizza!!

  3. Oh my cheese! That looks so amazing!

  4. That looks really, really gouda. (Like how I threw that cheese pun in there?)

    I love the lion statues too – wonder what the history behind those are!

  5. Sweet home Chicago <3! Lou's is my favorite for sure. Since I've grown up eating it, it's basically ruined all other pizza for me. Nothin' beats it ;)

  6. Wow, that looks AMAZING! Soooo cheesy!

  7. Wow this looks good!! And love the ceiling. Ok going to enjoy the bowl of oatmeal I am having for dinner :O

    Ali of Dressing Ken

  8. Yum!!!! That looks amazing! Glad you 2 had fun and ate well. :)

  9. That pizza looks wonderful/amazing/delicious/decadent. YUM!

  10. Ohhh my gosh that is SO much cheese!! Would you still be my friend if I told you that the amount of cheese almost makes me shudder?? HA! I love cheese just as much as anyone, but maybe since I don’t eat it anymore I am starting to not have an appetite for it!! Either way I am glad you enjoyed it! Smart move on the sandwich to quell your hunger, 45 min feels like CENTURIES when you’re hungry!

    • Britt, I will still be your friend even if you hate pizza entirely which is saying a lot because I really love pizza. I actually find it kind of hilarious that this is the first post that has actually made you shudder when you read it (or at least, this is the first time you’ve mentioned it). I actually always have you in mind when I post meat-centered recipes on the blog and almost feel the need to pre-warn you ahead of time so you don’t have to see it, haha! But I definitely wouldn’t have thought of this as being the thing to actually gross you out, ha! But anyway, I love you even if cheese isn’t your thing! :)

  11. Hmmm, that pizza looks Soooo good! :)

  12. that looks delish!! there are some supposed authentic chicago-style pizza places in Atl, and one day I’m gonna seek them out!

  13. I’ve never had Chicago style pizza, but it looks so good!! I can’t even believe how much cheese is on there. YUM! :-)

  14. I’ve never had a Chicago type pizza but this one looks amazing!! :)

Leave a Reply

