Celebrating Grace’s Birthday at Huey’s

Normally on Wednesday nights after church, the teen girls I mentor go out and get dinner together somewhere. I pretty much always forget my camera which means that I am missing out on tons of restaurant review opportunities, haha! I need to be better about bringing it. Anyway, this past Wednesday was Grace’s 17th birthday so I brought my camera! We ended up at Huey’s in East Memphis.

huey'sHuey’s is a Memphis favorite. I know several people who claim Huey’s has the best burger in Memphis. Of Huey’s locations in the Memphis area and I’ve eaten at 3 of them. And I have to tell you… Huey’s isn’t my favorite. I don’t dislike it. Their food is good and the ambiance is fun, but it’s not even in the top 10 burger’s I’ve eaten.

huey'sThere’s a bar, but don’t be deceived – Huey’s is very family friendly. For example on Wednesday we had a group of teenagers and there was a family with little children sitting right behind us. Very normal clientele for Huey’s.

huey'sOne of the fun traditions with Huey’s is attempting to shoot a toothpick into the ceiling. You know how some sandwiches/hamburgers are served with a giant toothpick in it to keep it all together? Right, well you take one of those, put it in your drinking straw and blow it up toward the ceiling. It actually takes more practice than you might think so it’s fun to watch first timers try. :)

bluff city burgerI got the Bluff City Burger this time around. It comes topped with bacon, crispy onion strings, and barbecue sauce. Like I said earlier, it’s good. Just not one of the best burgers I’ve had. Also, I am a crispy fries kinda girl so their fries aren’t my favorite. However, if you like steak fries, you will probably like these.

Huey's on Urbanspoon

grace sara annaBut it’s all about the company! Every time I’ve been to Huey’s I’ve been there with a big group of people. And it’s great. Grace is in the orange stripes back there. Happy 17th to her! :)

becca saraSara and Becca cheesin’ {Grace and Anna in the background}

rach and kelsiMe with Kelsi. Yes, I look bald. My hair was actually pulled back into a really cute sock bun, but since you can’t see it here, I just look like I have no hair, haha! Still a cute shot of Kelsi so I’m sharing! :)

There were several other girls there that I didn’t get shots of… or the pictures were so embarrassing that I’m pretty sure they would pay me money not to post them. ;) But we had a great time celebrating Grace’s 17th! I just can’t believe all my girls are turning 17 and 18 now. This is crazy! They were just babies when we started together! Anyway, speaking of my girls… I’m headed on a retreat with them TODAY! And I’m super excited!
Love Rach

18 responses to “Celebrating Grace’s Birthday at Huey’s

  1. I like steak fries so those look delicious.

    I’m rather worried about the liability of a bunch of toothpicks in the ceiling. I guess that’s the Human Resources (and the attorney’s wife!) experience in me! :)

    Have a blast at the retreat with your girls!

    • I have to admit, I’d never really thought about the liability of all those toothpicks in the ceiling. One time that we were there a friend of ours nearly choked on a toothpick when he was trying to blow it up into the ceiling and gravity took hold. He went to the ER, but was fine. :)

  2. uh I love the tradition of the toothpicks – but I would be so nervous about germs hahahaha

  3. Looks like a great time!

  4. Oh Rach, I’ve missed you so much! :D And it’s so great to see you hangin’ with these girls still~Have a blessed time at the retreat too! I so wish I could go to one right now, haha.

  5. I’ve never seen toothpicks on the ceiling before. Very cool!
    I don’t like those steak fries either.
    Great pictures! You do not look bald!
    Have a wonderful retreat!

  6. That is so funny that they have toothpicks on the ceiling! I’ve never seen something like that before. Looks like a fun evening with your girls :)

  7. That is so funny about the toothpicks! Definitely unique. These pictures are making me hungry! I love all fries… anything potato really, I don’t discriminate. :)

  8. That looks like such a fun restaurant… I totally want to try the toothpick thing! And I should not have read this post hungry. I want a burger now!

  9. i love the toothpick idea! i’ve never heard of that before!

Leave a Reply

