Swanky’s Taco Shop

I love Swanky’s Taco Shop. 4 years ago if you had told me that I would love Swanky’s one day I would’ve laughed at you. Four years ago we went to Swanky’s in East Memphis with some of our friends and all I remember about it was that it was dark inside, there was music playing so loudly that I couldn’t hear our friends talking, and the food was semi-okay. Well, last year Christopher’s work had Swanky’s catered for an event and he ended up bringing some of it home. I LOVED it. I couldn’t believe how good it was. The difference was that when we had eaten there I had gotten the shredded beef, but Christopher’s work had ordered the ground sirloin. Um, so good.

So naturally I had to go back to the actual restaurant, but I’ve only been to the Germantown location over the past year. The East Memphis location might not be as dark/loud as I remember, but the Gtown location DEFINITELY isn’t. The walls are massive windows  so there is tons of light and the music played quietly in the background. It has been a great spot for dinners with friends and impromptu dates (like last night). So without further ado… I give you SWANKY’S:

swanky'sSwanky’s in Germantown

swanky'sMuch like Chipolte, you can either order a specific menu item or walk through and make your own burrito, tacos, salad, or bowl. I always get the burrito bowl!

swanky's burrito bowlMy bowl pretty much always looks like this. Ground sirloin, black beans, rice, lettuce, gaucamole, salsa, chip strips, pico, tomatoes, and whatever else happens to look good to me that day. It is SO good! Their salsa is my favorite ever. No joke. And these burrito bowls are amazing! I cannot recommend this place enough!

Swanky's Taco Shop on Urbanspoon

So prepare yourself for this smooth segue: Swanky’s is delicious and when it comes to eating delicious food we often like to go with friends. For example, how we like to go to Corky’s with our neighbors, Tim and Stephanie. Speaking of them… this past weekend was their baby shower! Yeah, that was probably the smoothest transition from writing about a taco shop to baby shower ever. ;) Anyway, Stephanie and Tim have become really close friends of ours over the past couple of years (see here for example). :) They are about to have a new little addition to their family this January and I am super excited for them!

me and stephMe and Steph at her baby shower {photo snagged from Facebook}.

Love Rach

20 responses to “Swanky’s Taco Shop

  1. Swanky’s isn’t my favorite.

  2. You are so cute…that transition was epic:) We don’t have swanky’s in CA! Sounds like it’s similar to Chipotle. Do you guys have that?

  3. Where can I get a Swanky’s?!!!

  4. Swanky’s sounds yummy! Your bowl looks delicious!

  5. Swanky’s sounds awesome! I love places that let you make your own burrito bowl. Yum :)

  6. YUM! And yes, that taco shop to baby shower transition was very smooth :) Well done!

  7. I agree with Katie up there–it does sound a lot like Chipotle! So delicious!

  8. The ingredients look fresh and yummy! It’s a good thing you gave it a second chance!

Leave a Reply

