Celebrating Christmas with Christopher’s Family

We had a whirlwind weekend with Christopher’s family so prepare yourself for the ridiculous number of photos crammed into a couple of collages. ;)

presents and pupsLoco yawning (top left). My brother-in-law, Michael, with his two pups (right top). Christopher with a gift wrapped lovingly by his brother in princess wrapping paper (bottom left). And my mother-in-law with the frame that Christopher built her! The photo in it is just a place keeper until we get a chance to print one of the classy family photos we took this weekend.

By the way, I have to tell you guys that the funniest moment happened while we were opening presents. My mother-in-law ordered a crochet book for herself and accidentally wrapped it for me. When I opened it I was a little confused, but just kind of figured that she must want to teach me to crochet and bond over that. But she couldn’t keep her laughter in so she explained what happened to us and then we all couldn’t stop laughing. It’s the moments like this that make me thankful for the way laughter brings a family closer together. :)

antique shoppingWe went antique shopping at a local flea market. Always a fun place to find unique items. Christopher found a red ryder bb gun (the gun referenced in A Christmas Story in case you forgot)! :)

cookiesChristopher’s brother and sister-in-law brought a cookie mix that someone had given them for Christmas so Christopher got busy making that mix into cookies!

unoJerzee helped Katy (my sister-in-law) play Uno – coincidentally I’m pretty sure she won! Jerzee must be the good luck charm. ;)

pesto from italyWhen we were in Vernazza (in the Cinque Terre) we bought a pesto mix and brought it back to share with Christopher’s family for Christmas. We knew what ingredients it required, but no clue how much of each one. It turned out really pretty well though I still think it needed more cream. But! It was tasty and a fun way to share a piece of Italy with family.

hu lightsWe walked over to Harding’s campus to check out all the pretty lights. Just like when we went to school here, it was romantic and breath taking to walk under the lights hand-in-hand. It was also a lot of fun for me to play with the settings on my camera a little bit and take photos. :) {The shot of Christopher and I was taken by my sister-in-law, Katy.}

It was a wonderful weekend! Some really great conversations took place which I am especially grateful for. One of the many blessings of family is realizing that you aren’t alone in dealing with the harder things of life. Merry Christmas Eve, friends!
Love Rach

18 responses to “Celebrating Christmas with Christopher’s Family

  1. The frame looks amazing! I love the idea of bringing home something from your travels to cook with your family! When I was in Peru several years ago a lady gave me some spices to make lomo saltado at home. I love sharing pictures of a trip but when you can share a meal it so much more fun!

  2. I LOVE spending time with family like this, large gatherings make my heart so full and happy!!

  3. So how adorable are those dogs :) I think they took over the show.

  4. Very nice! It sounds like the weekend was just what you needed.

  5. love love love! and bringing something home from travels to cook with family! YES so smart

  6. What a special Christmas celebration! You are so blessed with family! :-)

  7. Beautiful photos! Love that you shared the flavor of Italy!

  8. Amen to having family to talk to and get through tough times with! I LOL’d at the crochet book story!

  9. Those lights are so pretty! And the dog playing cards made me laugh :)

Leave a Reply

