Christmas Eve Recap

On Christmas Eve we celebrated all the December birthdays of those present – my dad, two of my sisters, and Christopher. The highlight of the evening was when we shocked our dad with a flat screen TV! He LOVED it! :)

tv surprise

For the past 7 years he’s been jokingly asking us kids for a TV. This year my sister Abby suggested we all go in together and actually get him one! Since we had time to plan, we found a steal of a deal on Black Friday. Since I was celebrating Thanksgiving in a small town, we decided that I would probably have the best luck in getting it without losing a limb.

TV black friday

I arrived early enough that I was the very first person in line! I brought a book with me and tried my best not to freeze to death in the frozen food aisle, haha! I waited 3 hours on my own while Christopher was busy helping his parents with something else then for the last 2 hours Christopher came to join me. It was perfect timing – he arrived just as I finished the book I had brought with me. :) After 5 hours of waiting, the TV was ours! :)

But now, back to Christmas Eve…

shoppingThe morning started off with some last minute shopping that my dad and sister had left to do. By the way, I’m the shorter of the two girls in the pic to the left (which is rare for me to say since I’m 5’8). I’m also the one with the ridiculously long ponytail, ha!

cookingNext up we had some prep work to do in the kitchen for all our Christmas Eve/Christmas Day meals! :)

christopher and wesThen we went over to my sister’s house (not the one previously pictured – a different sister) where Christopher once again proved how he is the coolest uncle ever. He and our nephew Wesley love building things together. It makes my heart smile to see them bond. :)

night before christmasThen my mom read “The Night Before Christmas” to all of us (which she has done every year since before I was born!).

reindeer foodThen we all walked outside to spread some reindeer food for Santa’s reindeer to eat when they arrived! I love the shot of Makenzie as she tosses out the glitter and oats. :)

Next up I’ll fill you in on Christmas day! There are more surprises to share! :)
Love Rach

 

22 responses to “Christmas Eve Recap

  1. Sounds like an awesome Christmas Eve!

  2. Well done with the gift giving! I bet your dad was so excited. The evening looks cozy and wonderful.

    • He was! Before we arrived at my parents house for Christmas my dad had driven to another city to get me a little carton of So Delicious “ice cream” (it’s soy based and they carry sugar free options) so I could have ice cream for Christmas. It was such a sweet and thoughtful thing to do and he was feeling proud of himself. Then apparently later that night after receiving his gift from us, he said to my mom “I guess driving to another city to get ice cream for my daughter kind of pails into comparison with this, huh?” ;) Though really it’s the thought that counts and I love that he went out of his way to get me ice cream so I wouldn’t be the only one not eating it on Christmas. :) But yes, he was definitely super excited! :D

  3. You are an awesome daughter/sister to be the one to stand in line for so long! One of my favorite parts about Christmas is being in the kitchen with my family cooking. So many sweet memories have been made there. Happy New Year’s! I hope you have a great one!

    • That’s right I am! Something I have reminded my sisters of plenty for the past several weeks. ;) I’ll be sure to reminded my dad too now that he has the TV. :D And yes, I am definitely with you! Time in the kitchen with my family holds so many memories. I just love it!

  4. I love that smile on your dad’s face. That is pure glee. I also love the one of your mom reading to all of you. It’s so touching.

  5. Love this!!!! I like the last picture a lot too! What a cute tradition! You are an awesome daughter for waiting 3 hours in the cold section of Walmart ;)

  6. First in line…that’s dedication!!! your hair is so pretty! What a great night :)

    • I was pretty proud of myself for being first in line! And glad too. I had heard a rumor from one of the employees that there were only 3 of one of the TVs and since I wasn’t sure if it was the one I was planning to get, I was determined to be first in line! As it turned out, there were like 20 of the one I was getting and only 3 of the TV in the line next to me, but you just never know with these things!

  7. So fun that you were able to surprise your dad!! So sweet, it took some serious dedication by you guys. :)

    • It was definitely a lot of waiting, haha! And then we had to transport the TV from the small town to Memphis and then from Memphis down to where my parents live. That was the scariest part for me. I kept being afraid that something would happen to it in transport. But all was well! :)

  8. Gosh girl, 3 hours?! That’s dedication! I’m glad you were able to get that for your dad! :)

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! <3

  9. What a fun Christmas Eve!!! How awesome that you and your siblings got your dad a TV!!! :-) You guys are the greatest!

  10. So cute! And so awesome that you were able to get that tv!!

  11. I hope you got a ridiculous deal for waiting five hours!!

Leave a Reply

