Christmas Day Recap!

Happy 2014, friends!! I know that it’s a new year and I should probably be filling you guys in on our NYE party fun, but I still haven’t finished blogging about Christmas, haha! I definitely got behind last week because I was busy just being with family. And I’m okay with that. :) Anyway, Christmas morning before my sister’s family arrived at my mom’s house I walked through the house taking pictures of some of my favorite decorations. :)

xmas decorSome of these pieces are older than I am! I grew up with them and seeing them around my mom’s house just makes it feel properly like family Christmas. :)

xmas brunchChristmas brunch included: blueberry muffins, cinnamon rolls, mini quiches, sausage balls, conecuh sausage, fruit, summer sausage & cheese & cracker tray, biscuits & chocolate gravy, and ham & cheese sandwiches. All our favorites! :)

new york surpriseThen it was time to open presents! The biggest shock of the day was when dad surprised mom with a trip to NYC to see a Broadway show of her choice! I love the pleased look on his face in this shot. He knows he did well. ;)

xmas dinnerChristmas dinner was Italian themed this year! Christopher and I made our favorite lasagna recipe (which I made for Christmas in 2011 at our house) as well as the bruschetta recipe that we concocted after coming back from Italy. My sisters and mom provided spaghetti, salad, toasted ravioli, bread, and dessert. We had a delicious Italian feast! :)

nail polish sistersI nearly always paint my niece’s nails when I see her, but this year my sisters wanted theirs done as well. It made me laugh because I am definitely not a nail artist – I’m doing well if I can keep the paint on the nails, haha! But I guess there’s something nice about letting someone pamper you a bit. :) Plus it was fun because we all had the same matching sparkly silver nail polish! :)

Christmas with my family is always a special time. Every year I am more and more grateful for the blessing of family and the time we get together. :) A very Merry belated Christmas to all of you, my friends. I hope yours was wonderful!
Love Rach

31 responses to “Christmas Day Recap!

  1. This post has just inspired me to get a manicure. ;) Happy New Year!

  2. What a lovely Christmas Day!

  3. Brunch sounds so good right now! I have never had chocolate gravy before. Not sure how I feel about that :)

    • It really surprises me that you’ve never had chocolate gravy! I thought it was an all-over-the-South tradition! I’ve only heard of it here in the South and my brother-in-law who was born and raised in Mobile, AL grew up eating it and it’s his favorite Christmas brunch item. :) It’s REALLY delicious! I bet you’d love it. :)

  4. Such cute pics! I just want to dive into your brunch!

  5. Your Christmas brunch AND dinner sound so absolutely amazing!! After eating so much for the holidays, I had declared that I would never be hungry again. BUT I have to say that my mouth is starting to water… Ha, ha! :)

  6. I’m so sad that the Christmas season is over, so keep the Christmas posts coming! haha

  7. Glad you had a nice holiday, that lasagna sounds delicious right about now!! (even if it IS 9am haha ;) )

  8. I love everything about this post! I especially love your moms face when opening the gift and your dads face while she opens it!

  9. Mmm, all that food!! Followed by mani’s…I’m in on your family celebrations! :)

  10. I feel ya…I am so behind on posts right now! And I love all of these pictures! So sweet :) Merry Belated Christmas, friend!

  11. Chocolate gravy?! That sounds so cool. I would love to see the recipe for that :)

    It sounds and looks like you had such a wonderful Christmas! I agree that your dad’s face = priceless, haha!

    • I didn’t realize that recipe wasn’t on the blog, I need to post it sometime. It’s not complicated other than the fact that you have to stir stir stir to keep it from burning! Here’s the recipe:

      1/2 cup butter 4tbsp cocoa powder 1/4 cup all purpose flour 3/4 cup sugar 2 cups milk

      Melt butter in skillet over medium heat. Add cocoa and flour. Stir until a thick paste is formed. Stir in sugar and milk. Cook, stirring constantly, until thick

  12. Pingback: Christmas at the Beach! |

  13. I LOVE that picture of your Dad and Mom after she got her gift- I must say that’s a genius idea though!

    Can I just call you ‘Rachel the Nail Artist’ from now on?!

  14. Looks like such an awesome Christmas Day!!

  15. So sweet! You must be one great nail painter. :)

  16. What a sweet gift for your Mom! And such a cute picture. Also, I think it’s so cute that you painted everyone’s nails! I can definitely relate to not always being able to keep the paint on the nails. Glad you guys had such a wonderful Christmas! :)

    • With a house full of girls you should’ve heard us all when mom opened that card. There was a collective “awwwww!” And then a lot of “that’s so romantic” and “I can’t believe it” and “good job, Dad.” :) It was super sweet. And thanks! I hope your Christmas was wonderful too!

Leave a Reply

