Why we didn’t eat at TJ Mulligan’s

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day yesterday, Christopher and I decided that fish ‘n chips from an Irish pub was definitely a must. We wanted to try TJ Mulligan’s since they are one of the few Irish pubs that we haven’t tried yet, but when we checked their online menu it didn’t list fish ‘n chips. Finding it hard to believe that an Irish pub wouldn’t have fish ‘n chips, we decided to call the Cordova location and clarify.

tj mulligans{source}

A somewhat harried sounding girl answered the phone and sounded more than a little exasperated when Christopher asked if they served fish ‘n chips. She had to ask someone to find out that they did indeed serve them. Christopher followed up by asking the cost of the meal just to get a feel for the pub vs. swank level of this place. Even more exasperated she told Christopher that she didn’t know and would have to check. While looking for a menu she said, loudly enough for Christopher to hear on the phone “If you can’t afford it, don’t ask.” I’m assuming she was speaking to a coworker, but Christopher could still hear her. She  then informed him it was $6.25 and hung up. Taken aback Christopher filled me in on her comment to the coworker and we both sat there in shock until we started laughing.

We always do our best to be understanding when someone is rude to us. I always try to assume that they have had a terrible day and that we just happen to be the one they are taking it out on. Not that it makes it okay to be rude, but I do try to  be understanding. It has to be exhausting to deal with people all day. On top of that, we understand that it was St Patrick’s Day and that they were probably  busy and stressed, but this really was just outright rude and really uncalled for. If this girl’s comment is any indication of the service at TJ’s we knew we didn’t want to go. We called our old favorite next (Patrick’s) and the guy who answered the phone was super friendly even though they were super busy. We ended up there instead choosing to pay nearly double for our fish ‘n chips because it’s not so much about the cost as it is about being treated decently. 

T J Mulligans - Trinity on Urbanspoon

I really do my best to keep my negative reviews to a minimum because I don’t want to hurt local businesses. But here’s the deal. Christopher and I are great customers. We are polite, we aren’t rowdy, we don’t leave a huge mess, we are understanding when the kitchen is slow and our server is not to blame, and we always tip well – and even better for great service. And on top of that, after eating there, they get free advertising when I post to Urbanspoon and blog about our experience.  We are the kind of people you want to eat in your restaurant. We get bad service somewhat regularly, but never before on the phone before even stepping foot in the restaurant. I’m not saying that we won’t ever try TJ’s, but we certainly have no plans to go there any time soon. 

But on to the good part of the evening…

patrick'sWe went to Patrick’sI’ve blogged about them before, but we just love this place!

patrick's bbq nachosWe started with the BBQ nachos. They were pretty good. Their pulled pork BBQ is always SO good, but the lettuce and tomatoes aren’t my favorite toppings for BBQ nachos. But still, pretty good. :)

the memphoWe got the Mempho again. You guys, this is my FAVORITE sandwich in Memphis. Maybe ever. It is so unbelievably good. It has their delicious smoked pulled pork, mac and cheese, and the perfect bread. Dipped in BBQ sauce. A little taste of heaven. I only ate half my sandwich so the other half will be my lunch today and I am more than a little excited about that! And their onion rings are delicious!

fish 'n chipsChristopher got the fish ‘n chips that he was craving (really we split both meals). They were really good. Our favorites are still at Celtic Crossing so far, but these were good. And they are at the same place as the Mempho soooo… yeah, definitely worth it! ;)

Patrick’s was excellent once again. It was busy when we arrived at 6:30pm, but we were seated promptly and given excellent service. Really surprisingly good service for how packed it got later in the evening. Yes, our fish ‘n chips cost nearly twice what they would have at TJ Mulligan’s. But the food was delicious, the atmosphere was fun (as you can see from my previous post), everyone was friendly, and our service was great. Definitely a win in my book. :)

Love Rach

24 responses to “Why we didn’t eat at TJ Mulligan’s

  1. I am so glad that you guys wound up having a good St. Patty’s day feast, despite the rocky start with the phone call to the other restaurant. One person’s behavior can turn customers away forever! It’s a shame for the restaurant.

    Don’t you just love yummy leftovers? There are some meals that make me more excited for lunch the following day than I was for the original meal!

    • Thanks! We really should’ve gone to Patrick’s in the first place, anyway. I mean, it’s PATRICK’S on St. PATRICK’S Day! ;) The call to TJ’s was just a sign. ;)

      Oh goodness, I love leftovers! I think it’s because there aren’t many “lunch foods” that I just love. I mean, I like them okay, but I would much rather have leftover “dinner food”! Yummy! :)

  2. Good for you for calling them out! I called a Middle Eastern restaurant the other day to ask if they had falafel (we were traveling) and the girl was like, “no, why would we have waffles?!” … and then after explaining it to her, she rudely said that she didn’t even know what a falafel was. Its a Middle Eastern restaurant! At least educate your employees!

    • Whaaa?! That makes no sense! I mean, a Middle Eastern restaurant without falafel is like an Irish Pub without fish ‘n chips. It just goes against the nature of things, haha! But really, that was so rude. I’m sorry you had to put up with that! It drives me crazy when someone treats me like I’m dumb because I am asking a question that they really should know the answer to. Oh man, it reminds me of when I was in Germany and a barista at Starbucks almost made me cry because he was so rude about not having skinny mochas. He was astonished when I told him that they really did exist in America, haha! It’s a funny story now, but it wasn’t at the time.

  3. That how rude clip! Hahaha!!! That was very rude of that woman! Y’all are the kindest people ever!!!

  4. You really can’t go wrong with nachos! I’m not a fan of fish, but I can definitely relate to service deterring me from eating at a certain place! Not cool!

    • I know, right? Nachos are such a winner! Unless they have that cheese sauce that has been sitting out too long. Or is mixed wrong. Or whatever it is that they do to it to make it taste horrible. I mean, I love cheese sauce on my nachos, but it just depends on where it’s from. Some cheese sauce is delicious and some is awful, haha! And now I am done talking about cheese sauce, ha!

  5. How rude, for sure! When you want to have a nice evening out, there’s nothing worse than being treated like that. I’m so glad that your second choice worked out better!! :)

  6. Oh wow, I can’t believe how rude that girl was! That’s just unnecessary! And mean! Ugh. Sounds like you had a good St. Patricks day anyway though!

    • We sure did! Plus now we have a funny story to tell. We kept laughing about it last night. We’d be sitting there enjoying our lovely meal at Patrick’s and one of us would pipe up with a comment about how “if you can’t afford it, don’t ask” and then we’d both lose it, haha! Sometimes things are just so outrageous that they are hilarious. ;)

  7. I have never been to Mulligans before, and I definitely won’t be going now! But how appropriate that you went to Patrick’s on St Patrick’s day. You know who has good fish and chips? I can’t think of their name right now, but they are in the same parking lot as Target on Colonial, and they are an Irish pub… ughhh my brain isn’t working. I’m sorry. I realize this is no help…

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

    • So for the record, I totally knew who you meant before reading your next comment! We’ve eaten and Dan McGuinness and you’re right! They have great fish ‘n chips! For some reason they were charging a $10 cover charge to even walk in the door on St. Patrick’s Day so that was definitely out for us. I mean, I’m happy to pay for my food, but to add $20 to our bill just to walk in the door is a no-go for me when I can go the very next night without a cover charge. Or go somewhere else (like Patrick’s!!). :)

  8. DAN MCGUINNESS. After some weird googling, I am thinking of Dan McGuinness.

  9. we have the exact same outlook on people being rude. i try to never judge bc who knows what’s going on in their life or their day to put them in a frump. but like you said, that’s unacceptable and of course you would take your business elsewhere. but going back to your outlook, i admire you for staying positive and understanding. we all come from different walks of life, and you and i (and christopher!) are blessed to be able to remain positive in frustrating situations. just another reason why i adore you and your blog! :)

    • Yes, definitely! I do the same thing when someone cuts me off in traffic. You never know what someone else is dealing with. If they just had a death in the family or a failed relationship or might be just getting over being sick. Or maybe they are just a jerk and treat everyone that way, but that doesn’t mean I have to let it affect the rest of my day and put me in a foul mood as well. I try to be a very self controlled person so there is that part of me that feels like “well if I can be polite even when I’m having a crappy day, why can’t you?” but then I remember that different people handle things differently. And I think of all the times I’ve been offered grace and try to offer it as well. Anyway, all that is to say, “yes! I am with you!” :)

  10. Oh my gosh! I don’t know why people have to be so rude. I love the “how rude” from Full House. :) So glad that you ended up going somewhere great for dinner.

    • I know, really! But at least we have a funny story from the evening. We kept laughing about it last night. We’d be sitting there enjoying our lovely meal at Patrick’s and one of us would pipe up with a comment about how “if you can’t afford it, don’t ask” and then we’d both lose it, haha! Sometimes things are just so outrageous that they are hilarious. ;)

  11. Baha, perfect meme to go with that story. How rude, indeed! I try to be understanding too, but it definitely sounds like it was a good idea not to go there at that time haha. And glad you found the perfect place! :)

  12. ohmygoodness! ah! it’s unfortunate that you had that experience but i guess a) you got a good story out of it and b) you got to go patricks!

Leave a Reply

