Eating in Louisiana

While in Louisiana, Casey and Alan took us to some delicious places to eat! So much so that they deserve their very own post just to talk about them! :) We began our adventure at Atwoods! This local bakery has all the sweets you can imagine plus some! When you first walk in you see beautiful glass displays of treats and sweets galore!

atwoodsLook at all those sweets! And they had gelato and they had sugar free gelato which meant I had some! It was DE-LIGHT-FUL! :D They had everything from paleo cookies to chocolate covered bacon. Definitely something for everyone. :)

landryLandry picking out a treat! So many choices!

atwoods foodWith such impressive sweets on display, I wasn’t sure how their “normal food” would match up. But my, oh my, it was delicious! We all passed our food around and shared (which was a fun experience!) so I got to try a little of everything. Their shrimp and grits (top left) were so decadent and rich. Absolutely delicious, but so rich that it was hard to eat a lot. The mac & cheese, sour cream & chive potatoes, and french onion soup were all sides, but they were all ah-mazing! My favorite sandwich from the lot was the grilled philly cheesesteak wrap (bottom right) that I ordered. Oh my YUM! Atwoods gets five stars from us!

Atwood's Bakery & Deli on Urbanspoon

For dinner on Saturday evening we went to Fant’s Seafood Restaurant. Because while in Louisiana, one naturally must eat crawfish (it’s like in the bylaws of visiting the State). ;)

fant'sWe ordered fried pickles and discovered that Landry loves them! She popped those things like candy. ;) Christopher and I split a seafood platter filled with grilled shrimp (THE BEST!), catfish, and crawfish. It was all delicious!

crawfishLook at all that crawfish! Alan peeled and ate four pounds of crawfish in nearly the time it took the rest of us to eat our meals. He is speedy! I guess lots of practice doesn’t hurt. :)

Fant's Seafood Restaurant on Urbanspoon

For lunch on Sunday we went out to eat with a group from Casey and Alan’s church (there were 9 adults and 8 kids!). We went to Taco Bueno because Christopher and I have heard people talk about this “better than Taco Bell tex-mex food place” and wanted to try it for ourselves. I knew Texas had them, but I didn’t know Louisiana had them too! We were not disappointed!

taco buenoIt was ALL delicious! Especially their nachos (bottom left). I couldn’t believe how tasty it was for fast food! And the best part was… it’s HALF OFF on Sunday! Everything on the menu! You should’ve seen our whole group when the cashier told us. We were like a commercial: “Half off?” “Everything on the menu?” “Every Sunday?” “WOW!”

Taco Bueno on Urbanspoon

For dinner that night on our way home, we decided to continue the trend of trying fast-food-chains-that-we-don’t-have-in-Memphis and tried Whataburger for the first time.

whataburgerThis place reminded me of A&W (the restaurant, not the root beer). The food was a little greasy, but so so so good. We had the onion rings (crispy & delightful), the double decker whataburger (yummy) and the whataburger melt (unbelievably good, but too rich to eat a whole one by myself). It’s a little pricy for fast food (more Chick Fil A than McDonalds), but worth it. :)

Whataburger on Urbanspoon

landryI will leave you with those adorable little face. Look at her eyes! Love this girl! {this shot of Landry was taken at Atwoods on Saturday}

Aaand tomorrow I will fill you guys in on a special little stop we made on our way home. :D
Love Rach

29 responses to “Eating in Louisiana

  1. Well, I am totally jealous! I love Louisiana and its food! I like the way ya’ll went to out of the way places–that’s where the BEST food is! I’ve never been to What A Burger, but I definitely want to give it a try when I get the chance.

  2. Fast food Mexican that looks legit?! HECK YES. I am not a taco bell fan, but that looks amazing! And that dessert, too. So awesome that they had sugar free gelato!

  3. I’ve eaten Taco Bueno and Whataburger (like them both!). Those first two places – Fant’s and Atwoods look and sound so, so good. I’m tempted to make a trip to Louisiana just to eat at each!!

  4. Hi Rach! I’ve been gone for a while but now am back to blogging at a new blog (was Will Jog for food).

    Louisiana food is the BEST! I miss Muffalettas and Red beans & rice. Your photos are great :)

  5. This was your first time eating Whataburger?? Wow! We don’t have one in Flagstaff, but there’s a few Whataburgers in Phoenix, so we always make sure to hit it up when we go down there. It is a little pricier, but we love it! Better than McDonalds, that’s for sure. :)

  6. I didn’t know y’all stopped at whataburger. Alan LOVES that place. Me, not so much, but that is because the grease hurts me! Landry told me she misses Rach and Kiss! For real!

    • It IS a lot of grease! We split both of the sandwiches which is a good thing because I don’t think I could’ve eaten that whole melt sandwich by myself. It was delicious, but pretty greasy, haha! And I LOVE hearing that Landry is missing us! She will just have to come visit me soon. :D Also, love that she called him “kiss” – just like our niece! :)

  7. Atwood’s food looks amazing! I need to try those shrimp and grits!

  8. All of this looks amazing! That’s really cool that the bakery has something for everyone–even paleo! You’ve also reminded me I have some seasalt caramel gelato in the freezer! Mmm!

  9. this post is making me hungry- yum!! it’s also making me miss college – i went to tulane in new orleans and i loved loved loved getting some crawfish :)

  10. One of the best ways to experience a place I always say!! Great looking food, and loveee that last photo. THOSE EYES!

  11. Oh my gosh, the crawfish! They look so intimidating and not delicious!! I don’t know if I could do it…I mean, I’d have to try, but WOW! Everything else looks great though! I like the look of the shrimp and grits.

    • Hahaha! I’ve never thought about it, but I guess crawfish do look kind of intimidating if you’ve never eaten them before. Does it make you feel any better to know that we don’t eat the shell? You peel them like shrimp. Which sounds gross, but they really are yummy! :)

  12. I miss all those places so much!! Taco Bueno is my favorite fast food place! Did you try Raising Cane’s while you were in LA? I miss crawdads too…yummy!!

  13. Those are some delicious eats! You always end up going to the best restuarants :)

  14. Yum… Yum… Yum! Everything looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

