Stillwater Eats

So while we were in Stillwater we had to try some of the food! We started at Aspen Coffee on Saturday morning.

aspen coffee

It was a cute little place downtown near the university. I ordered a soy sugar free hazelnut latte and it wasn’t great. Okay, honest time, it was terrible. I couldn’t even drink it and neither could Christopher (he normally likes my drinks). I’m pretty sure it was because the soy wasn’t steamed properly (it tasted burnt and pretty watery). However, Christopher really enjoyed his drink (he had regular milk). And we’ve heard rave reviews about them from other people. So if you are in the area – try them out! Just maybe don’t get soy or hope for a barista who has had a little more experience with using soy. ;)

Aspen Coffee on Urbanspoon

eskimo joe's collage

For dinner that night we ate at Eskimo Joe’s with my sister and her boyfriend. It is definitely a trendy/popular type place to eat. It’s right off the university campus and has a giant gift shop. It reminds me of Hard Rock Cafe or all those places you eat down by the beach. Well, I have to tell you, I was super pleasantly surprised. We got their chili cheese fries and they were ah-mazing! And I got a BLT that had so much bacon on it that I had to take some off, ha! It was thick slices of sweet maple bacon and so delicious.

For the not so good: Christopher got a burger that wasn’t super impressive (not bad, just not amazing) and Dan got a chicken salad that was pretty pitiful (the “chicken” was in tiny pieces that looked like giant bacon bits). Abby said her sandwich was pretty good, though. So trust me on this, go for the ambiance and fun and be sure to order the chili cheese fries (or at least the cheese fries) and the BLT. You will love it!

Eskimo Joe's Restaurant on Urbanspoon

fuzzy's collage

Okay so technically Fuzzy’s is a chain. But we don’t have one near us so we were pretty excited to go with Christopher’s cousin’s family after church on Sunday. It is one of their favorite places to eat in town so we knew it would be good. It definitely was! My favorite was the loaded queso (left bottom). Oh my wow. I would go back just to eat this again, ha!

Fuzzy's Taco Shop on Urbanspoon

So if you find yourself in the Stillwater area you shouldn’t have too much of a problem finding something to eat. ;)
Love Rach

18 responses to “Stillwater Eats

  1. Those chili cheese fries and loaded queso look amazing! Those are some of my favorites to order at different places. Sorry about the coffee. I hate getting bad coffee.

  2. AWW NO, such a bummer about your latte. That sounds horrific. Despite the latte fail, this sounds like a great adventure.

    • I thought of you when I was writing this post. I was like, “I bet Britt would’ve been able to make my drink WAY better!” Someday I’ll visit your Starbucks and you can make me the best decaf skinny soy mocha EVER! ;)

  3. I have never seen chili cheese fries that look like THAT! YUM!

  4. I can go almost anywhere and know that I have a good friend to ask where we should eat! I love that about you guys! You try all sorts of different foods!

  5. That’s disappointing that your soy latte was so disgusting!! I’m glad you were able to enjoy the rest of your eats though. :) I love trying new places, but sometimes it’s a hit… and sometimes it’s definitely a miss.

    • Yes, definitely! I hate to hurt a local business based on one experience so I seldom post negative reviews of a place. But since Christopher’s coffee was so delicious, I felt like it was okay to present a fair review of our one experience there. We definitely have eaten at a lot of “misses” over the years!

  6. ooh that coffee shop looks great!! i love going to independent coffee shops

  7. we have a stillwater in minnesota and i got all kinds of excited thinking you were in the area until i saw this is a whole different stillwater:) hopefully you end up here on your travels sometime :)

  8. The chili cheese fries look delicious! :-)

  9. I never loved the food at Eskimo Joe’s. BUT the atmosphere, the t-shirts, and cups were reason enough to go. :)

    • Yes, definitely! They had a rank of neon XL tanks on sale for $4.99 so Christopher bought one! If they hadn’t been so huge I totally would’ve gotten one too. We will think fondly of Eskimo Joe’s every time he wears it. ;)

Leave a Reply

