I love what I do

Once upon a time I had a desk job. You know the sort. Where you sit at a desk and work in an office from 8-5. A couple of years ago Christopher and I reached our financial goal for the time and decided that I could quit my job and do something I really loved. Around the time a new job opportunity fell into my lap. Being a nanny to a newborn and a 3 year old. Two years later I couldn’t be happier. I love those kids so much and my days are just wonderful. :)

kids

Mallory and William are both such sweet kids. I can’t even begin to tell you guys how thankful I am for this job. I love going to “work” every day. Yesterday they were playing the wall-scoot game (one they made up) at my house and as they laughed at each other, my heart just filled right up to the brim. I love the sound of children’s laughter filling my home. :)

will and mal{That shot of Mallory is one of my most favorites ever! I just love it!}

As a nanny, my schedule is far more flexible than it was when I had a desk job. It has given me time to pursue other things I’m passionate about. Like my photography. The kid’s nap time has become a great time to do the book-learning-side of photography. Not to mention giving me time to edit photos from sessions. Plus these two sweet faces have given me plenty of hands-on-photography practice. I love what I do. It still amazes me that I get paid to do things I love so much. And I am thankful. :)

Love Rach

34 responses to “I love what I do

  1. That photo of Mallory is so pretty! It makes a world of difference when you love what you do!

  2. I would love to be a nanny, it really sounds like so much fun and SO rewarding. You definitely made the right move!

  3. It is magic to work at a job you love. I’m so glad you found that. I bet those kiddos have a blast with you every day!

  4. that is awesome!
    definitely wish i worked at a job i love!

    • So I just had to check your FB page to see what you do for a living, ha! I didn’t realize that I didn’t know until now. And girl, believe me, I worked that job for way longer than I wanted to. Looking back on it now, I should’ve quit earlier. I just wanted so much to pay off those student loans. Anyway, I hope you find a job you love someday too!

  5. Will and Mallory’s parents are probably so grateful for you! I bet you are the best nanny ever…and you take beautiful pictures of their children, too! Nanny and photographer rolled into one!

  6. I am so glad you love what you do. Those kids are so blessed to have you in their life!!!

  7. It’s a huge blessing to love what you do! I love my job too! 😉

  8. it’s so important to love what you do and i’m happy you found it! love your shots. :)

  9. Love this! Loving what you do is truly a blessing! Those sweet babies are precious!

  10. I would be a nanny again in a heartbeat! It’s such a fun job!

  11. Aww..the last two photos are amazing!!! Will’s pose and Malory’s cute smile!! Out of the world!!!! Totally in love!

  12. Awww! It’s such a blessing to love what you do. When work doesn’t feel like work, you know you’re doing it right!

  13. This is the sweetest post! I love that you love what you do! Those sweet kiddos are so lucky to have you as their nanny…it’s so good for kids when the people who work with them love them and love their jobs (no clue if that sentence actually makes sense haha.) And those last two pictures are so precious!

  14. This is such a sweet post! I have always thought that being a nanny would be a really fun (yet also challenging–but rewarding) job! The flexibility and changes are probably really amazing, not to mention the photography practice :)

  15. I’m a nanny too and I LOVEEEEEEE IT!!!!! :)

    I taught 1st grade for a year and did NOT enjoy all the “teaching and paperwork” side of it. I loved the kids, but nothing else. Now, I get to spend all day with a 11 month old and 3 year old as well! It’s SO FUN!
    :)

  16. I’m so very glad that you get to enjoy what you LOVE! You are so very talented and I know you are going to be a big success! My Mom had her own daycare in our home so I grew up babysitting a lot of the children she kept on weeknights and weekends and I loved it so much. I don’t have any kids of my own yet, but I can’t wait to one day. I do love being an “Auntie” as I know you do as well! =)

Leave a Reply

