Christopher

I was reminded recently of just how wonderful my husband is. And I wanted to write it here as a small reminder to myself. Hope you guys don’t mind. ;)

rach and christopher

He isn’t romantic in a classic sense. From time to time he does some big romantic gesture that reminds me that he does know about romance. ;) But I am so much happier with the constant small romances. He doesn’t write poetry or shower me with expensive gifts or bring flowers every day or whisk me off to fancy dinners every week. But he loves me passionately. And the things in this post mean so much more to me than any grand romantic gesture ever could.

christopher and me

He provides financially for our little family so I have the freedom to do whatever I want. But he has also never expected me to stay home. I don’t blog about it much, but I am a huge supporter of human rights issues, including women’s rights. I believe in equality. Christopher is also a huge supporter of this which means so much to me. There are so many female voices speaking out about this, but unfortunately in our society, it is the men who are more often heard. So I am thankful that he is an advocate for equality.

us at the beach

He is gentle. When I thought about my future husband before I met Christopher, the word “gentle” never would have made “the list” of things to look for in a spouse. But my, oh my, how I lucked out there. I know I say this all the time, but it just blows me away that he has never even raised his voice at me. And he is so sweet with children and those who are vulnerable.

us

He is truly the most humble person I know. He thinks of himself last. He serves others even when they take advantage of him. He never lets pride get in the way of his servant heart.

us at the farm

He is kind and respectful. To me. To his mom. To strangers. To customer service reps who are rude. He shows kindness and respect to everyone.

destin

He makes me laugh. He is funny and clever and tells some of the corniest jokes. But he makes me laugh every day.

us2

He is steadfast, honest, and faithful. Every day. Always.

us

He loves to spend time with me. I know some couples like to have their space and time apart which is totally understandable because different people are different. But we crave being together. People warned us that we would get sick of each other while in Italy because we would be together 24/7 for those 16 days, but truth be told – we loved every minute. When we came back to the States and had to spend that first day apart (going to work), we came home and Christopher gave me a huge hug and told me how much he had missed me all day because he had gotten so used to spending every moment with me in Italy.

us

He thinks I’m beautiful. And smart. And hilarious. And he tells me so nearly every day. But my favorite moments are the times when about once or twice a week he stops to really look at me and he just becomes overwhelmed. He may not be a poet, but the tangle of sweet words and adoration that come out of his mouth just fill my heart up. 9 1/2 years together and he still makes me blush when he talks about how lucky he is that I choose him.

us

He is a great listener. And while he wasn’t great at communication when we first met, he is incredible at it now. Practice makes perfect, eh? ;)

vow renewal

He loves to adventure with me. We both love to travel and eat new foods and see all of God’s beautiful Earth.

us at eli young

He is confident in himself and those he loves. He truly believes I can do absolutely anything. He has always been my biggest supporter.

family pic

He loves God. Living life with Christopher inspires me to be more like him because I see Jesus in him.

family shot

He is a good man. And he chose me.

Love Rach

37 responses to “Christopher

  1. Absolutely beautiful! :) So many things about Christopher remind me of my own husband – Nate. I think they’d be good friends, if we lived closer. :) And it’s funny, because people always told me that Nate and I would drive each other crazy, because he’s on disability (so not working right now) and I work from home only 3 days a week. But we love every minute of it too!! When you’re best friends, you can’t help but love spending time together. :) (Oh, and I know that while you are very blessed to have Christopher, he is oh-so-blessed to have YOU)! :)

  2. This is beautiful. You two are such a gorgeous and sweet couple. It is clear that you are completely crazy about each other. So lovely. :)

    • Your recent anniversary post got me thinking about things I love about Christopher and then a couple of my girls asked about him on Wednesday night which is why all of this was on my mind. Thanks for inspiring me to really stop and think about it! :)

  3. Such a sweet post! You are very blessed.

  4. Tears!!!! I love you both!!!! I miss y’all!

  5. oh my goodness, this is so sweet (and i read every word!)
    you’ve definitely got yourself a great guy, and he has a wonderful woman!

    • Haha! It was definitely a lot of words to read. ;) I read it to Christopher last night and halfway through I started getting winded. :P Just kidding. But I did read it to him and it was a lot of words. But apparently I had a lot to say, ha!

  6. And this is why I look up to y’all! You guys are amazing together, and I’m glad he takes such good care of you ;) Beautiful pics too!

  7. Aw this made me well up you guys are too cute! xx

  8. What a sweet, sweet post. :)

  9. Goosebumps. Such a beautiful post. Beautiful couple. Beautiful love!

  10. I love this post! It’s so easy to get caught up in things that your husband does that are annoying or bothersome…it’s great to stop and remember ALL of the reasons that you love him. You’re reminding me to do the same with my husband! :-)

  11. This is so beautiful. I want to write more in this comment but words fall short!

  12. I JUST LOVE YOU TWO SO MUCH!!

  13. This is so sweet!!! I absolutely love this. You two are such a great example of honoring one another and being intentional with your relationship!

  14. this was so beautiful and sweet!

  15. Oh girl, my heart just melted! I love how much you love your husband! So many things in this post remind me of my own husband, and the first part made me giggle, because Steve sometimes has to remind me that he “knows about romance” too haha. He’s definitely more of an everyday romantic gestures type ;-) And I’m SO amazed that Christopher has never raised his voice at you…that’s incredible! Not that Steve and I yell at each other regularly, but it definitely happens sometimes. You two are such a sweet couple!

    • Aww, I just know that Steve and Christopher would get along too! I love when you write about Steve. You guys are absolutely pure precious together. :)

      It’s crazy, but totally true! Christopher has never even raised his voice at me. When we first started dating, we were both afraid of upsetting the other person so neither of us ever brought up anything we were upset about. Definitely not healthy, haha! So after a year, it all kind of came pouring out at once. So we spent a couple of months learning how to communicate and talk out our problems. When I got upset, I would definitely yell, but he never did. After awhile I realized that I was still being heard even if I didn’t raise my voice. And when you yell at someone who never yells back it feels a little like kicking a puppy. :( So over time, I too learned not to raise my voice in anger. Neither of us have raised our voices at each other throughout our entire marriage (we dated four years so I had plenty of time to learn not to yell during that time – lots of self control practice). It has been great. We still disagree sometimes and I still get my feelings hurt sometimes, but we’ve found that conversations about all of that go far more smoothly in a kinder tone of voice. And when you let yourself get to “yelling” point then you are more emotionally invested in your side of the discussion. We did couples counseling while we were dating to help us work through stuff and it was great. We are totally that “when you do _____, it makes me feel ____” couple. And we never name call or use definitive statements (“you always…”, “you never”…). There’s was a TV show called “Perfect Couples” and the couple you roll your eyes at the most (Rex and Leigh) are totally us. It’s a funny show, though – you should watch it sometime. ;)

  16. So so sweet! Robby and yo hubby have a lot of the same qualities (the little every day romantic things instead of huge now and then gestures is exactly how my dude is too) and reading this just made my heart melt. Beautiful post, friend!

  17. This is the most precious thing in the entire world. I love it and I love how strong your relationship is!

  18. This is one of the sweetest things I have ever read, Rach! I love seeing how much you love Christopher and your life with him. It’s very heart warming. And, last thing, that second picture of you guys is SO GOOD!! That better be framed somewhere in your home!

Leave a Reply

