How to make homemade tomato sauce

So one day I got a little overly paranoid about all the BPA lining the cans of my tomatoes and decided to make tomato sauce from actual tomatoes. You guys, it was so much easier than I expected! It seems complicated and like a lot of steps, but it was actually very little hands-on time! So I thought I’d share with you guys. :)

tomatoes

Start with a bunch of tomatoes. Whole Foods had their tomatoes on sale so I had 7 large tomatoes (approximately 5lbs) just begging to be turned into something saucy!

tomatoes

Wash and core tomatoes. Flip over and lightly carve an X on the bottom of each tomato.

boiling tomatoes

Gently drop tomatoes into boiling water for approximately 90 seconds

icing tomatoes

Remove tomatoes from boiling water and put into a prepared bowl of ice water

peeled tomatoes

Remove skins from tomatoes. I thought this step would be really difficult, but when I picked the tomatoes up from the ice water, the skins started to just slip right off in my hands!

DSC_0683

Pulse tomatoes in blender until all chunks are gone (or leave a few chunks if you like your tomato sauce chunky). At this point you have homemade tomato sauce. You can use it however your recipe calls for it. I wanted to make spaghetti sauce!

fresh tomato sauce

Pour all pureed tomatoes into pot and heat to boil over stove. Once tomatoes are bubbling, lower to simmer, add herbs of your choice (I used fresh oregano and fresh basil from my garden) and allow to simmer for 8-10 hours. This could also be done in a slow cooker if you won’t be around all day to keep an eye on it. The longer it simmers, the more it thickens up and turns more red (when  you first pour the sauce into the pan it will look almost orange/pink).

fresh tomato sauce

Serve over pasta and enjoy!

It was delicious! So fresh and tasty. We also ate it over zucchini “pasta” (shreds of zucchini steamed for a minute) and it was delicious that way too! This one is a winner, my friends!

Love Rach

 

28 responses to “How to make homemade tomato sauce

  1. Wow this is a lot easier than I thought! I will have to make fresh tomato sauce from now on. I bet it is tastier than the canned/jarred stuff. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Yum! I think you need an immersion blender! It would make it even easier!!

  3. Yummy! This looks so delicious and FRESH. And actually easier than I would have thought. :)

  4. I’m actually really glad you are making your own sauce now, because I hear canned tomatoes are one of the worst for canned goods! Plus this is much more fun!! YUM!

  5. it looks amazing! nom nom!

  6. I LOVE homemade spaghetti sauce! I really want to try making homemade tomato sauce too sometime. I still buy them canned, but I really need to jump on the homemade bandwagon!!

    • It’s really so much easier than I expected! I thought for sure it would involve a lot more steps, but it was actually pretty simple. And like me, you’re lucky that you can put something on the stove to simmer all day without worrying about it. You can just give it a stir here and there in between students! :) The perks of working from home!

  7. Ok confession – I am Italian and I use Ragu in the jar. I have a fear of making my own sauce, which is weird because I will make just about anything else! I have been wanting to tackle a homemade sauce, but I seem to have a mental block. But now that I have a recipe, I will have to conquer my fear! Can’t wait to try it!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

    • Oh girl, it’s so much easier than you think! It really is! And if you like bolognese at all (you know, tomato sauce, but with the meat too), you should try our recreation of the meal we ate in Italy. It’s here on the blog. Oh my gracious, this is by far the best sauce I’ve ever made. Ever. And you can definitely start with your own tomatoes too! Let me know how it works out for you! :)

  8. I’m so excited to try this! I get paranoid about BPA too, and buying the BPA free cans is definitely more expensive than just buying fresh tomatoes. This is happening next week…I already informed Steve :-)

  9. Your food posts make my mouth water on a regular basis.

  10. That looks so good. I’m still patiently waiting for my mom to pass on my grandmother’s sauce recipe!

  11. Looks delicious, and nothing beats fresh tomatoes in my opinion!! Pomi makes a boxed tomato sauce that has just one ingredient: tomatoes, it’s BPA free and I love it. It’s a bit pricier but I’m with ya, the BPA scares me with canned tomatoes so I try to avoid it if I can! :)

  12. You read my mind. My boyfriend and I have a little container garden on our balcony and we are growing tomatoes, and literally like yesterday I was wondering how I could use them as spaghetti sauce instead of canned tomatoes. The only thing is I would still have to use canned paste, unless you know how to make that?? :)

    • Aww yay! Great minds think alike! :) I haven’t made tomato paste before, but I’ve heard that it’s pretty involved (including letting it dry out for a couple of days?). Anyway, even if you have to put the canned tomato paste in there, you’re still cutting way down on BPA from the other tomatoes! If you try making the tomato paste let me know how that goes for you! I’m super curious about it!

  13. I love homemade tomato sauce! I’ve got plenty of tomatoes planted in our garden this year so I can’t wait to make my own. I also add fresh mushrooms and sometimes I’ll add some crushed red pepper if I want it spiced up! Super yummy!

Leave a Reply

