Bayou Bar and Grill

There are a few things that Christopher and I love about New Orleans:

1. Beignets from Cafe du Monde

2. Surf and turf po’boy from Parkway Tavern and Bakery

3. The St. Louis Cathedral (it looks like a Disney princess castle!)

two year anniv{Renewing our vows outside the St Louis Cathedral in NOLA – August 16, 2010}

We went to NOLA for our two year anniversary and we fell in love with those three specific things. We’ve been back to New Orleans twice since then and every time we’re sure to hit each of these spots. So as you can imagine, we take authentic Cajun food pretty seriously. When we heard about Bayou Bar and Grill in midtown, we decided that we needed to pop in and check it out!

bayou bar and grillThis place is in Midtown on a stretch of trendy restaurants. I’ve blogged about Local and Young Ave Deli which are both within close walking distance. After eating here, we’ve discovered that in general, restaurants on this strip are pricey and the food just doesn’t meet our expectations (except for the Local Burger – that was amazing – pricey, but amazing).

bayou bar and grillMardi Gras beads decorated pretty much the entire inside of the restaurant which I thought was fun!

gumboWe started with the Gumbo. It was pretty salty. Okay, it was really salty. But other than that, it was okay. Christopher likes his food really salty so he actually really enjoyed this!

red beans and riceThe red beans and rice were up next! This is normally a favorite of mine, so I was pretty disappointed. It was over salted and the beans seemed mushy (over cooked). Granted, I still think my mom makes the best Red Beans and Rice (her recipe here) so that might be why I’m so picky about it. ;)

shrimp po'boyI was most looking forward to my Shrimp Po’Boy and I was sadly pretty let down by it. The tomatoes were mushy, the bread was soggy on the inside and the shrimp-to-sandwich ration was kind of pitiful. On the bright side, the shrimp itself was seasoned well and was tasty so I ended up just eating the shrimp off the sandwich. I still had an enjoyable lunch. :)

muffulettaChristopher got the muffuletta which is one of his favorite sandwiches EVER (in fact, if he were writing this blog post, he would’ve added that as thing #4 that he loved most in NOLA). So he has pretty high standards when it comes to a good muffuletta. This one unfortunately didn’t meet his expectations. He said “I didn’t care for it. The muffuletta left me wanting and disappointed.” Sad, right?

So does this place compare well to New Orleans? No, not so much. But I have yet to find GREAT Cajun food outside NOLA anyway. So with that in mind, this place isn’t the worst food ever. We just have high standards for Cajun food. There are a couple of other Cajun places here in Memphis that I need to try out. When I find a great one, I will definitely let you guys know! :)

Bayou Bar & Grill on Urbanspoon

nolaUs in New Orleans in 2010 :)

Have you been to New Orleans?
Do you have a good local Cajun place in your city?
Memphis friends, is there a better local Cajun place I should try?

Love Rach

24 responses to “Bayou Bar and Grill

  1. I’ve never been to New Orleans, and I’ve actually never even had Cajun food before! I guess I should change that!! Ha, ha. :)

    • Well, maybe wait until your food aversions have past because I’d hate for you to have a bad experience with it. But you totally should try some cajun food later! Red beans and rice, jambalaya, low country boil, and po’boys are my favorites! Yum!

  2. I love New Orleans! K and I went in April 2011 and I thought the city was a blast. Especially the architecture and the FOOD.
    Unfortunately, New Mexico doesn’t have many Cajun joints. I do love Pappadeaux – their Mardi Gras Pasta is one of my all time favorite dishes.

  3. Ahem fants may compare haha. It closed recently!!! I know it broke my heart too!! I don’t love NO and it’s so close to us! If I did then we would probably go more often. Alan’s brother used to live there and when he did we would go visit.

    • Oh no! Fants closed?! I can’t believe it! Their food was definitely good! Aww, sad day that you don’t like New Orleans since you live so close! Their food is SO good, haha! Bourbon Street is definitely pretty rough though. We thought it was going to be like Beale Street in Memphis so when we walked down Bourbon St for the first time, we were pretty surprised. So that definitely wasn’t our favorite part of New Orleans. But I do love the food there and the culture! :)

  4. The last time we went here the fried shrimp was the kind that had been frozen..I could tell….ewww!! Try Boiling Point in Southaven, Flying Fish downtown or Cajun Catfish in Collierville :)

  5. I love New Orleans! Sad that the restaurant was not so good! I do not know of a single Cajun place in Tuscaloosa. I miss New Orleans’ food!

  6. I’ve only briefly visited New Orleans once (it was a port for a cruise we were taking, so we spent a few hours exploring the city before getting on the boat). So you’ll have to fill me in–what exactly is a muffeletta?

    • ​A muffuletta is a type of sandwich. It is on Italian bread with mortadella (Italian sausage), salami, ham, mozzarella, and provolone. Then it’s topped with this marinated olive salad which Christopher LOVES, but I definitely do not. I just don’t like the flavors of it. But yeah, Christopher loves these sandwiches so much! I always try a bite of his just in case I’ve changed my mind and maybe I like it now, but so far it’s a no go. ;)

  7. taking notes on #1 and #2 for my trip to NOLA later this summer!! :)

    • Oh girl, yes!! I am so excited for your trip! Cafe du Monde is a given. Anything you read about NOLA will tell you that you must go there! Their beignets are SO good! And Parkway Tavern and Bakery… oh my wow. It’s incredible! I blogged about it on one of our trips there. The chef Justin Kennedy is so great!

  8. Ahh I love New Orleans! It is one of my very favorite places. That is disappointing that Bayou isn’t good. But it is hard to find food that is as good as in NOLA!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  9. That is too bad you were disappointed with your items. I generally like really salty food, but I don’t like soggy sandwiches. They pictures are beautiful!

  10. Aw, too bad the food wasn’t great! It did photograph well though :) I have yet to try authentic cajun food…some of it kind of scares me, but I’d like to try it anyway!

    • It DID photograph well! I kept thinking “no one is going to believe me that this food isn’t good when it LOOKS so good” haha! You should definitely try some Cajun food. Maybe start with something a little less scary like Red Beans and Rice or Jambalaya (I have family recipes for both on this blog). You can work your way up to peeling and eating crawfish. ;)

  11. what beautiful pictures of the two of you! i went to school in new orleans, and i bring jon there as often as possible to show him why i love the city so much :)

  12. That cathedral seriously does look like a Disney castle–that’s pretty cool! I’ve never been to this part of the country at all!

Leave a Reply

