A spoiled pooch and a flying fish

Last weekend was our first weekend back in Memphis in what felt like ages. It was so good to be home. Saturday was full of house projects and that evening was a lazy night of homemade pizza, a movie, and watching the pups play (we’re dog sitting this week). It was wonderful.

oreo and mabelBy the way, our dog… not great at sharing his toys. He’s a spoiled only child pooch. He lets her play with them for a little bit and then he’ll snag them from her and hide them. He’s bratty like that. But they are definitely having a great time together. They spent last night rolling around the floor together and playing. Christopher and I find ourselves wanting to get a second dog so Oreo will have a bestie to play with every night. They are so cute together. :)

flying fish collageFriday night was spent in Downtown Memphis with Brodie and Lyndal. We were all ravenous by the time we walked into Flying Fish and it did not disappoint! Their fried pickles for $3.99 were THE.BEST. Definitely the best fried pickles I’ve had in Memphis plus they were cheap! We were hungry so between the four of us, we also ordered catfish, fried shrimp, grilled fish, fish tacos, oysters, and calamari. Yeaaaah… we had a LOT of food, haha! But it was all delicious! And as you can see from the second photo of our table – we ate it all. :)

Flying Fish on Urbanspoon

street artWe walked down Beale Street after dinner and watched this spray paint artist work! He was incredible! I didn’t have cash on me, but the next time we’re down there I’m going to have a piece custom made. :)

dancingAs always, there’s live music all up and down Beale Street. We stopped for a while at this spot and listened and danced to this random band. It was fun!

brodie lyndal rach christopherThe four of us at the end of Beale Street before heading home for the night. :)

 It was so great to have a weekend in town! And guess what… this weekend is a second weekend in a ROW to be in Memphis! We love to travel, but we also love being home. So thankful that we get to do both. :)

If you have a pet, is s/he good about sharing her/his toys?
Have you seen a spray paint artist work?
Do you prefer to travel or be home? Or a little of both?
Love Rach

27 responses to “A spoiled pooch and a flying fish

  1. fried pickles are my favorite – i can promise some delicious ones if you make it up to mpls :) and the spray paint artist looks so cool- what a fun thing to stumble upon!

  2. Winston doesn’t mind sharing his toys but when he is around big a big dog he likes to find the biggest toy (its usually 3 times the size of his 2.8 lb. self) and drag it around the house. It is pretty funny to watch. Luckily the big dog was into sharing. I like to travel but nothing beats a weekend at home. Speaking of, this weekend I am home with no plans. I am pretty excited about this.

  3. Mmm, now I’m craving fried pickles. And all of that delicious seafood. I told you on IG about the spray paint artist I stumbled across in San Francisco. I’ll have to show you a pic of the piece he did! It’s awesome. And so cool to watch the artist work.

  4. Sounds like a good weekend at home! I am so excited to have a weekend of nothing this weekend after a crazy weekend of moving last weekend. Our boys aren’t very good at sharing either, not even with each other. But they are so cute playing together!

    Nikki
    thefashionablewife.com

  5. I need to go to the Flying Fish sometime and try those fried pickles!! ;) AND my cats are definitely not good at sharing… I always have to buy two toys, but they still fight over them one at a time, even though they both could have one. Ha, ha.

    • Oh girl! You definitely need to come try the fried pickles at the Flying Fish! If you already liked the ones from Ruby Tuesday, then you will LOVE these!!

      And that’s exactly how Oreo and Mabel have been this whole week! I give them each a toy, but they both want to play with whichever one the other has, ha!

  6. The Flying Fish sounds like is was amazing! I miss seafood so much—-fresh seafood is so hard to come by here—the little that we have is very expensive, so I’m looking forward to stuffing my face with seafood on my trip to the US in September haha

    As for dogs and sharing toys, my dogs always fight over the same toy…whichever toy one dog has, the other one wants. So typical haha But they love each other and it’s so funny to watch them play. I support your decision to get another dog if you decide that’s right for you ;-)

    • I hope you get the most amazing seafood when you are in the States in September! :) Where all will you be?

      And that’s exactly how Oreo and Mabel have been this whole week! I give them each a toy, but they both want to play with whichever one the other has, ha!

  7. New reader! So happy to of come across your blog. I first checked out the about me blog to get to know you a little. Very cool you lived in China. Was your family in the military or not at all?

    Memphis looks like so much fun. I’m quite jealous of the spray painters skills. If I tried it I’m 100% not one person… Even a toddler would be impressed haha.

    Hope your having an awesome weekend!

    • Welcome!! So glad you found my blog! :) No military connections. My parents taught English in a university in China. :)

      Oh girl, if I ever tried spray paint art, it would be a crazy mess, ha! So I hear ya! Hope you had a great weekend! :)

  8. Haha a spoiled only child pup. I love it! As it should be. :) Beale street looks like a blast!

  9. Pingback: A spoiled pooch and a flying fish | Memphis City Portal

  10. I’ve had both good and bad fried pickles… but when they’re good, they’re good!

    • Ugh! Bad fried pickles are terrible! I’ve definitely had some bad ones. I’ve had some burnt ones that were terrible and once giant pickle spears that were soggy and gross. So I know what you mean. I love a good fried pickle, though, and these were definitely amazing! :)

  11. Mmmmm fried pickles! I’m with you, traveling is amazing, but so is home!!

  12. Our cats fight over their toys a lot! And by the way…I feel so behind on your life but I should be back into a blogging routine now! YAY!

  13. Dog sitting = the best! I love it so, so much!! I think it’s cute that Oreo is spoiled! You guys love him soo much, I can tell!

    Also, spray paint artist?! That’s amazing!

  14. Haha, Max is reeeally not good at sharing either! If the other dog has toys, he’ll steal them too. He’s not a very good friend ;-) And fried pickles are soooo good! I’m going to have to stay in Memphis for like a month to eat at all the awesome places you write about! Haha.

    • HA! It sounds like Oreo and Max are so much alike that I’m not sure if they’d actually be friends with each other. Or at least one of them would have to back down from being alpha. Maybe Max will just sit on Oreo and put him in his place. ;)

      And girl, I have a room with your name on it any time you find yourself in Memphis! :D

Leave a Reply

