A Little Bit of Sunshine

You guys made Christopher feel so special with all your sweet comments yesterday, thanks! πŸ™‚

So it’s snowing again. And yesterday I drove in the snow for my very first time. Wanna see?

(for the record, I actually pulled over to take this picture so I’m not driving while snapping photos in this shot, haha)

And now it’s cold again. Even inside our house. Poor Oreo with all his short fur is so cold. This morning Christopher called me into the living room and said, “Look at Oreo!” I looked and this is what I saw:

Can you see his tail wrapped around his nose? He is just so cold!

Some of you may know this about me, but for those who don’t, let me tell you: I don’t like the cold. I’d live on a beach with endless summer if I could. IΒ particularlyΒ miss the sunshine this time of year. My very sweet husband knows this. And he also knows I love Gerbera Daisies. Yesterday when he got off work early (because of the snow) he brought home a surprise for me…

Looking at them is like looking at the sunshine. In fact, as soon as I saw them, I said, “you brought me sunshine!” Hehe! They make me so happy inside!

Since it’s recipe day, I decided it was finally time to share my version of Lisa’s Cheerio Muffins!

They taste even better than they look!

Cheerio Muffins

Ingredients:

2 cups Cheerios*
3/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
1/3 cup packed brown sugar**
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 cup mashed very ripe bananas (2-3 medium)
2/3 cup buttermilk***
2 tablespoons canola oil****
2 egg whites

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease or place liners in a 12 count muffin pans

2. Place Cheerios in a ziploc baggie and gently roll a roll pin over the bag to reduce the amount of Cheerios to 1 1/2 cups.Β  (You are barely breaking up the Cheerios, so I’m sure pounding them would okay too.Β  Just make sure you don’t make them too crumbly)

3. In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients: Cheerios, flours, brown sugar, baking soda, and baking powder.Β  Stir in the wet ingredients until just moistened.

4. Divide batter into the 12 muffin cups. Top each muffin with a couple of Cheerios.

5. Bake for 18-22 minutes, until a toothpick comes clean.

6. Let stand for two minutes, and then remove from the pan and move to cooling rack.

* This is where you really get to have fun. You can really use 2 cups of any of your favorite cereals! Our favorite is 1/2 cup FiberOne original cereal, 1/2 cup FiberPlus Cinnamon Oat Crunch and 1 cup Multigrain Cheerios. It kicks up the fiber in the muffins without taking away from the taste. But you can use whatever you have on hand: Honey Nut Cheerios, Regular Cheerios, or really any cereal that your kids love. Keep in mind, the lower in sugar the cereal, the better!
**Β We use Splenda Brown Sugar to cut back on sugar and calories
*** Since we never have buttermilk, we make our own! Add 3/4 tbsp lemon juice to 3/4 cup skim milk, mix and then let sit for 5 minutes. Now it’s ready to use! You can just use regular milk, but buttermilk makes the muffins fluffier!
**** You can substitute no-sugar-added apple sauce for the canola oil, but since there are only 2 tbsp called for and canola oil is one of the better oils to bake with, I decided to leave it. The texture is just better with canola oil.

Adapted fromΒ Lisa’s adaptionΒ ofΒ Eat Better America’s Recipe

Hope you guys are finding bits of sunshine in this wintery weather. πŸ™‚

39 responses to “A Little Bit of Sunshine

  1. Poor Oreo. Our dog, Ellie, feels the same way about cold and rain. Seattle has been hard on her.

    You live where there is snow now, but where did you grow up without snow? Or is it just snowing where you are more now?

    • Haha! Any amount of cold is too cold for me. I’m not a fan of anything much below 70 degrees. πŸ˜‰ I can handle 65, but once it starts dropping below there, I’m ready to go into hibernation.

      I actually spent the first 10 years of my life in East TN where we had piles of snow every year. Then I spent my teen years in Wuhan, China which was bitterly cold (snow and the Northern Siberian winds blowing through) and we had no heat other than one small space heater (my sis and I would share a bed with piles of blankets on top of us just to avoid frost bite). Since I’ve moved back to the States I’ve lived in the South (currently I’m in TN) and while it isn’t near as cold as what I’ve experienced in the past… I still don’t like it one bit! I just want to be warm and toasty all the time. πŸ˜‰

      • I am JUST like you…. anything below 65 and I’m puttin on the layers! I have no idea how I’ve been able to become a year-round runner. I think my mind goes elsewhere and my body just does it’s thing outside. I love allwarm climates. With a passion.

  2. thanks for sharing the sunshine. do you have snow tires or chains on your wheels or anything?

    • Nada. But then there wasn’t anything on the roads when I was driving. No ice and the snow had just barely started to stick so we were all good. If there had been ice, you better believe I wouldn’t have ventured out. πŸ˜‰

  3. cheerio muffins! my daughter would LoVE those!

  4. Poor Oreo! Our dog has a ton of fur and never had any issues with the cold {we lived in Iowa and it gets COLD}. But one winter there were a few days that it was below -40 {with windchill} and let me tell ya, that pup wouldn’t even go outside to pee. We’d open the door to let him out and he’d run the other way! Haha!

    And don’t be mad… but I’m secretly hoping it’s snowing in Nashville while I’m there next week. Just because I really miss the snow and know it ain’t coming to me in Texas! πŸ™‚

    • Haha! That’s how Oreo is already! And it can’t be much less than 20 here right now. He hates going outside to go potty. We literally have to toss him out in the snow (poor guy).

      Aww, I can’t be mad at you for that. I understand. Really, if it has to be this cold, it might as well snow. I really think the snow is pretty… I just don’t like when it melts and leaves behind slush and mud and more coldness, haha!

  5. awh! cute muffins! πŸ™‚ and sweet guy! those flowers are beautiful!

  6. Awwww Oreo needs some snuggling to warm him up!

    I prefer cold weather. I always say I hate hot weather but I really dont more like I hate it if I have to work. If not, I would love to be in the hot weather @ the beach or by a pool. But when you have to work, it kinda ruins it. Must find a way to become a millionaire ASAP!!

  7. Hope you are staying warm!!! It is totally warm blanket, hot tea, and book weather!

    Sarah – We got about 2 inches last night here in Nashville so maybe the snow will still be on the ground by the time you get here! If not I think they are predicting more Monday and Tuesday!

  8. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog! And for your very sweet comments : ) So glad you found me from Tasty Kitchen! : )

  9. How creative!!! The muffins look so cute, I love Cheerios and they have a new flavor out, Cinnamon Burst Cheerios!

    Having a snow day today myself!

  10. Aw your dog looks so cold and cute!!
    Bring on summer for sure πŸ™‚

  11. Awwwww, that is such a cute picture of Oreo!

    And your husband is super sweet. πŸ™‚

  12. Omg Gerbera Daisies are my FAVORITE πŸ™‚

  13. I can take the cold for a month, but 3 for me is a bit excessive. and all this snow is driving me nuts! That’s so nice your hubby brings you flowers…love that.

  14. I am with you…I am so afraid of the cold, esp after living in Seattle for 4 years, which I know isn’t even that cold compared to other places!

    The flowers are gorgeous!! Your husband made a lovely choice πŸ™‚

  15. I just bought Cinnamon cheerios πŸ™‚ They would be awesome in those muffins!

  16. AWESOME that he brought you flowers! He must really care about you very much You guys are so perfect! Way to treat each other with respect πŸ™‚ its such a necessary part of a relationship!

  17. Awe, poor lil’ Oreo!! He needs some clothes. Lol. I love Gerbena’s too. My plant bloomed a pink one in December! Those are definitely full of warmth and love. Sooo sweet!! Stay warm. πŸ™‚

  18. I hate cold weather, too. We’ve been having negative temperatures lately and I am so not okay with that!! haha

  19. Thank you for coming to my blog! I love new readers! Oh your pup is so cute. And I LOVE Cheerios! – Honey Nut for the win πŸ™‚

  20. Hi Rach, Thanks for stopping by my Cheung Chau blog, how kind of you to leave lovely comments! I love your blog too – and the Cheerio Muffins look perfect for my son, will definitely try them! As for eggroll recipes, most people don’t make them at home as it’s hard to find griddle pans that are specially shaped, and people would only eat every once and a while. But let me peruse my recipe books as I’m sure I’ve seen one! Did you want the ‘bubble’ egg roll, or the flat crispy ones (rolled up), or the American version of Spring Rolls, which I have posted about (http://jasmineandginger.blogspot.com/2010/07/my-mothers-spring-rolls.html)? XX

  21. Oreo is adorable! What a cutie.Even in the cold.
    im not a fan of the cold, but i do think the snow is pretty.
    Cheerio-muffins = incredible idea.
    πŸ™‚

  22. Cheerio Muffins? I’ve never heard of such but they look delicious! πŸ™‚

    I love little Oreo…bless his heart. He is so cute.

  23. Lisa @ Dishes of Mrs. Fish

    I love gerbera daisies too! My mom owned a flower shop when I was a little girl, and I always wanted to take them home!
    In fact, my wedding flowers were mainly bright yellow and hot pink gerbera daisies. It was so fantastic! πŸ™‚

  24. Poor Puppers 😦 We just got Opie cut so her hair is super short, but we live in LA so its basically 70 degrees in the winter. We took her to my dads house once and there was frost on the ground and she was NOT happy! lol

  25. Ah, snow! I have been getting alot of that where I live lately! Those muffins look awesome!

  26. You have such a sweet hubby! (Of course you probably know that already). πŸ™‚ I don’t really like the cold all too much, either. I’m okay until about mid-January (um…so, now?!), then I get antsy and just miss being outside and all of the sunshine!

    Thank you SO much for the incredibly sweet comment you left on my blog. πŸ™‚ You have such an optimistic way of looking at things! I feel so much better after reading through all of your comments. I might even print them all off!

  27. Alright! Beautiful sunshine-y flowers for no special reason? Does your hubby have a brother? Haha!

    Poor Oreo! He needs a snuggie! πŸ˜‰

    • Haha! He does have a brother, but his brother is married already. πŸ˜‰

      It’s so funny you say that about the snuggie ’cause my mother-in-law really wanted to buy him one for Christmas, but we told her not to because we were afraid he’d rip it apart. Little did we know just how cold he’d get this winter. Maybe we should get him one. πŸ˜‰

  28. How could one not feel “warmed” by delicious homemade muffin, thoughtful flowers from a loving spouse, and an adorable puppy like Oreo?

    Rach, thank you so much for visiting on my SITS day!

    Jenn

  29. Pingback: My very first flower bed {and a package full of sunshine!} |

Leave a Reply

