This Year’s Best Recipe (so far)!

By far, the absolute best thing I have made this year has been a recipe I am about to share with you (granted it’s only a month into this year, but that’s beside the point). Unfortunately I don’t get to claim having invented this one, but oh-my-gracious it is delightful. Sarena shared this recipe for Applesauce Cake Muffins on her blog and I decided to give them a try. I made them alongside a recipe from EatBetterAmerica and the difference was so astounding that I’m not even putting the recipe from EBA on this blog (trust me, you wouldn’t want to waste your time with it when you can make these applesauce muffins). I cannot wait to make these muffins in cake form… um… hello deliciousness in my belly!


Applesauce Cake Muffins

Ingredients:

1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened (I use Country Crock Light)
2/3 cup brown sugar Splenda
1 egg
1 cup no-sugar-added applesauce
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease 12 muffin cups.

2. In a medium bowl, mix together the butter, brown sugar and egg until smooth. Stir in applesauce. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt and pumpkin pie spice; stir into the applesauce mixture until well blended. Spread evenly into muffin cups.

3. Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges are golden. Remove from in pan and cool on wire rack.

I’d leave it at just that, but I made this baked spaghetti this week that the boys are still raving about. It’s kind of embarrassing how easy it is, but sometimes we need a simple recipe for those rushed nights, right?

This one was for Christopher and Tony

This one was mine! With soy cheese! Yum! 🙂

Baked Spaghetti

Ingredients:

1 box whole wheat angel hair noodles
1 tbsp Italian seasoning
drizzle olive oil
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1 (26oz) jar of favorite spaghetti sauce (we used Kroger’s garlic and herb)
1 cup Italian blend cheese, shredded

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Boil noodles until al dente

2. Toss cooked noodles with olive oil, Italian seasoning and parmesan cheese. Pour into baking dish. Top with spaghetti sauce then top with shredded cheese.

3. Bake until cheese melts on top (5-10 minutes).

Note: The dairy free version leaves out the parmesan entirely and substitutes Soy Cheese for the shredded Italian blend cheese.

And since we’ve still been on that chicken kick, we made yet another new chicken recipe this week!


Grilled Honey Mustard Chicken
(yes, we fired up the grill in January, haha!)

Ingredients:

1/3 cup Dijon mustard
1/4 cup honey (we used sugar free imitation honey)
2 tbsp mayo (I know it sounds gross, just roll with it)
1 tsp steak sauce (we used Worcestershire)
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves

Directions:

1. Preheat grill for medium heat.

2. In shallow bowl, mix mustard, honey, mayo, and steak sauce. Set aside a small amount of the mix for basting. Dip the chicken in the remaining sauce to coat.

3. Grill chicken over indirect heat for 18-20 minutes, turning occasionally or until juices run clear. Baste occasionally with the reserved sauce during the last 10 minutes.

Recipe from AllRecipes.com

So glad you guys enjoyed Christopher’s post yesterday. He’s pretty hysterical in person so I’m glad that comes across in his writing as well. He is forever keeping me laughing which is so great! 🙂

34 responses to “This Year’s Best Recipe (so far)!

  1. Yum those are some good eats! 🙂 i really like the muffin recipe I checked it out and still have some left over applesauce that i need to use thanks! Christopher doesn’t enjoy soy cheese? hahahaha pete wouldn’t even touch the stuff!

  2. All that food looks so good!!! Thank God I’m eating my lunch, otherwise I’d be going crazy now! lol

  3. mmM! i wish i could still enjoy soy cheese without worrying about it affecting my thyroid levels!

    loveeeeee that!

    xo.

  4. Muffins and spaghetti in the same post?! Oh my I love it! 😀

  5. wowzers. that chicken/asparagus dish looks awesome. i think i’ll pick up some asparagus to go with my green and yellow game day menu for the Superbowl 🙂

  6. MMMMM those look so good!!!!!!!!!!! are ya kidding me?! i so want to meet you and Chris someday! God willing it’ll happen 😀

  7. We use our grill year round. My husband will bundle up in layers and stand over the charcoal or gas grill no matter what the weather!
    The baked spaghetti looks seriously good!

  8. I may be going to the store soon and when I go I may be buying applesauce to make those muffins! I wont say if I was already going to the store or if this prompted me but right now my list consists of

    applesauce
    cream cheese
    powdered sugar

    Thanks!

  9. Yum, I want to try making those muffins. I’m always looking fora new muffin recipe.

  10. Baked spaghetti is bomb and so easy. Cheese, sauce, carbs all living in baked harmony–whats NOT to love??!!

    Um, I need to try those applesauce cake muffins. They sound to die for 🙂 Bummer about the EBA recipe–I get their emails and most of their stuff looks and sounds great!

  11. That baked spaghetti looks incredible!!

  12. I just made applesauce muffins tonight! Baking with applesauce is hard as they often come out dry..so you really know you have a good recipe when they come out as moist as those seem!

  13. Would you believe my husband doesn’t like baked spaghetti? I can’t wait to check out your recipe! 🙂 With my sous chef traveling so much lately, I need all the tasty, quick recipes I can get my hands on! 🙂

  14. I have to try those appleauce muffins! They look so moist!

    Grilled chicken and asparagus sounds oddly delicious right now!

  15. oooooh. I have a jar of applesauce in the fridge right now so I guess I’ll be doing a little baking today!! Thanks for the recipe girl!

  16. I loveeee baked pasta!! At school, it was something I ate in the cafeteria like twice a week. They had a pasta and pizza line and I was in with the workers, so they’re throw cheese on my penne and toss is in the ovens for a bit. LOVE.

    What type of soy cheese do you use?

  17. I love using daiya!!! That’s my fav go-to cheese!!!! Looks delish!

  18. Oh you had me at baked spaghetti!! Yummm-O!

  19. Firing up the grill in January sounds like a good idea! We just need to shovel ours out from the snow piles! haha

    I make baked spaghetti/chicken parm for Sam all the time–it’s so easy and he loves it! 🙂

  20. I’m always looking for excellent muffin recipes! I haven’t made muffins in forever, so it may be time to make some – and try these out.

  21. everything looks delicious 🙂
    thanks for the beautiful comment. Its nice to know I have a sister in Christ who knows what I am going through. God will provide, He always does 🙂

  22. Wow, you fired up your grill in January, good! We would have to chop the ice off of ours first here….
    I love baked spaghetti, so good! Well spaghetti in any form is good to me 🙂
    Those muffins do look divine and moist, yum!

  23. Yummy 🙂 🙂 🙂 I want some applesauce cake!!

  24. Oh my gosh…..I am a muffin queen – I have never (well, hardly ever) met a muffin I didn’t like! Going to check that out right now. 🙂

    And it might be that I’m really, reallllly hungry right now, but looking at that picture of baked spaghetti makes me want to make this PRONTO. I made baked spaghetti squash pie recently and that was good, but yours looks TONS better!!!

  25. Hi there! I’ve been seeing your blog on the comment sections of many of the blogs that I read and adore…so glad I finally checked yours out! I can’t wait to read more and hope you’ll like mine as well:) I’m subscribing to yours too!

  26. I’ve thought about firing up the grill a few times, but just can’t bear the thought of standing out there in the fareeezing cold! I need a thicker coat…and mittens…and a hat! Hmmm, anyone got a free snowsuit??

    Awesome looking muffins! And baked spaghetti? Yum!!

  27. Ah those muffisn look so good! I’ve never tried baked spaghetti, but now I’m intrigued…

    happy to have found your blog! 🙂

  28. My daughter would love those muffins. We make a spaghetti pie that is similiar to that. I think maybe I’ll make it this week.

  29. oh goodness you’re making me so hungry! haha

  30. Your site is what it says, a family. A very nice one too. Love it all. Skol fra Norge.
    Skjerstad.

  31. Pingback: Won’t you be my neighbor? |

Leave a Reply

