Three Years Ago Today…

My boyfriend asked me to marry him.

I know you want to hear the story. ‘Cause everyone loves a proposal story. πŸ™‚

I’m gonna share some of our engagement photos throughout this just to keep things interesting ’cause there are lots of words down there, haha!

Let me preface this by saying there is no horse drawn carriage or jumbo-tron or ring-in-a-dessert or plane flying by with “will you marry me?” written on a sign behind it. We weren’t always the highly romantic couple we are today. The romance is something that has flourished since we got engaged.

Before we were engaged, we really were just best friends who were together all the time. We knew from the first year that we were dating that someday we’d get married, but we didn’t want to feel rushed into that. Our first official date (dinner and a movie) didn’t happen until we’d been dating 3 months. For us “dating” meant being together all the time no matter what that meant. We studied together, went to each other’s games, ate together, hung out with the same group of friends, worked out together, even worked at the same places and took classes together as often as we could.

I was pretty staunchly opposed to over-the-top romantic type stuff back then (another post for another time) so he was pretty limited in what he could do for me. Mostly just lots of sweet notes and precious words. No gifts, no paying for my dinner, none of the traditional stuff. So quite frankly, the poor guy was pretty limited in what he could do. [Please note, I said “WAS”… I am no longer this way. I am full fledged romantic at heart nowadays].

Well, February 7, 2008, we went down to the Academy. The Academy was one of our favorite places to go to play. There was a playground that was always deserted late at night and it was the place he first asked me to be his girlfriend (9.29.04) and also the place we shared our first kiss (10.27.04- exactly 4 weeks after we started dating). In the 3.5 years we had been dating, we had spent countless hours at the Academy playground.

So when we arrive, he asks me to close my eyes. Being a good sport, I do so. He places something fuzzy on my leg and tells me to open my eyes. Sitting on my lap is this adorable little stuffed puppy holding a heart that says “kiss me.” I immediately recognized it as one I had mentioned liking in a store earlier that week. Thinking it was pretty sweet, I thanked him and focused my attention on cuddling with my new gift.

{{Before we continue with this story, I have to explain something to you: I am picky about Β jewelry. Not like… sorta kinda prefer one thing over another. I mean, seriously picky. Christopher knew this about me. We had gone several times to look at engagement rings (keep in mind we knew we were getting married for a long time) and each time I liked something different. Finally one day (long before he ever proposed), he asked if I would be opposed to helping pick out my own engagement ring. I know a lot of girls would be really offended by that because there is a lot of emphasis put on the guy picking out the perfect ring, but to be honest, I thought it was sweet. And it was really VERY us to do something like that together.Β Okay, moving on…}}

So, while my attention was diverted on the puppy dog, I totally missed that my boyfriend was starting to get nervous. Suddenly,Β he pulls out this super cute plastic ring and puts it on my finger. At this point I’m grinning pretty hugely.

Christopher, nervous as can be, says “So… I was wondering… if maybe you know, if you like me enough… if you might consider spending the rest of your life with me…”

Slightly shell shocked that this moment had actually arrived, I wanted to be sure I knew what was happening. So I said, “Um… just for clarification… could you rephrase that?”

He laughed and said “…and marry me”

I squealed and said “Yes!!”

Then (a little out of order) I was like “Oh wait! What about…?”

He goes “Oh, I talked to your parents…” {Side note: How cute is that? He asked my parents blessingΒ to marry me!}

And I was like “No, I mean…”

Then he grinned real big and said “I love you… a lot.” I melted into a little puddle of goo. Then we were officially engaged.

The hardest part was keeping it a secret until that Saturday when we were able to go pick out an actual engagement ring. We did go ahead and tell a couple of people (I mean, there was no way my roommate wasn’t going to figure it out. I walked in the dorm and she immediately said, “you got engaged”… my face said it all, haha!), but going to classes all day that Friday and not shouting it from the rooftops was SO hard! Haha!

Aaaaand, there was a second proposal, but that happened 5.29.2008 after we were already engaged. It’s quite a bit more on the romantic side since I was more open to the idea of romance. I’ll share that story when May arrives. πŸ™‚

 

 

ps. I will get the video of Oreo rocking the baby up ASAP! πŸ™‚

58 responses to “Three Years Ago Today…

  1. such a beautiful story! I love reading about how people got engaged. You chose a beautiful ring as well. thanks for sharing!

  2. awhh. that is so beautiful! sounds like you’ve got a good one πŸ˜‰

    xo.

  3. What a wonderful story! πŸ™‚ I love wedding stuff! Haha.

  4. How sweet was that story… even gave me goosebumps at one point πŸ˜‰

    Visiting from SITS, make it a great day!

  5. Congrats! It gets me thinking about when my husband proposed to me… Such happy memories. Great pictures!

  6. Super sweet!

  7. Congratulations! Such a sweet and touching tale of your love πŸ™‚ Hope to have that happiness myself one day soon!

  8. I can’t wait for MAY to hear the other story! That is too cute! I love how you have a place you can go back to that truly is “your spot” Pete and I also met at this basketball game and whenever we go back to that gym for his games (on Wednesday’s during the spring he reminds me of how his life changed in this place! It was really sweet to hear it come from him because hes not the super duper lovey dovey one in the relationship thats kind of me haha! I really love how passionate you’ve become in expressing your relationship to us! It makes me want to know more about you guys! πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, I’m going to be sad if that playground ever gets moved. I can so see us out there when we’re 90 with Christopher feebly pushing me on a swing. *grins* I love that you and Pete have your own spot too and that is oh-so-sweet what he said about his life changing since meeting you at the gym. He’s a keeper (but then you know that already, haha)! πŸ™‚

  9. Awwww!!! That is so precious!! I love hearing engagement stories and can only hope I’ll have a great one to share of my own someday:) hehe I love making new bloggie friends too:)

  10. I don’t know if I’ll be able to stand reading your blog on valentines day; too sweet! πŸ™‚

  11. What a great story! I was the same way about romance before marriage but am very into it now too. It has been a little difficult for my husband to get used to because I was so staunchly opposed to it, but he’s doing great!

    Can’t wait to hear the story of the other proposal.

  12. Hehehehehe! Rach–if you keep sharing all these cute love stories then I’ll seriously burst! : DDDDD There’s so much going on in my life in great ways! But I think the only way I can express it all is through writing. I’ll be doing this soon hopefully! haha. you guys are adorable *melllltt…*

  13. Aww, that is so beautiful! I am so happy for you girl πŸ™‚

  14. Aww adorable!! Love the story and happy anniversary!

    Also I just wanted to say, thank you so much for commenting on my blog as often as you do. It’s hard to put your life out there and I love reading your encouraging words πŸ™‚

  15. Beautiful story Rach! I read the whole story while in the computer room for physics at school! hehe
    I was like smiling the whole time. So precious.

    I want to find that person who wants to be around me 24/7.

    How many relationships or “flings” did you have during your highschool years?
    Did you ever worry about finding such a good guy? Like that there would not be a guy that perfect for you who wanted you so much?

    • Girl, you can especially appreciate our story ’cause you’ve probably seen the place we got engaged! You just may not have realized it. I’ll point it out to you when we’re at HU in April! πŸ™‚

      Christopher was my first boyfriend. I was his first girlfriend. We were each other’s first kiss. I can’t believe I haven’t shared this part of our story yet. I really need to. It’s so precious how we even came to date in the first place. God has a funny way of doing things sometimes, but He sure does know what’s best.

      I never did worry about finding a guy. I started writing letters to my future husband when was 13 and started praying for him then as well. Christopher started praying for his future wife when he was 17. I just love so much that we prayed for each other before we ever even met since praying together has been such a big part of our relationship. Anyway, I definitely need to share the first chapter of our love story… it’s so precious! πŸ™‚

  16. That’s a beautiful ring, aren’t you the lucky one πŸ™‚ I think my husband is more romantic now that we’re married… and maybe I’m a little less romantic. But hey, I have a toddler! I’m tired πŸ˜‰

  17. awwww congrats!!!!!! Such a great story!!!!!

  18. Omg so incredibly adorable!!! I loved reading this story πŸ™‚ That’s so, so sweet! Awwwe you two πŸ™‚ Happy engagement anniversary!

  19. ohhhh… what a sweeet story.. huhuhu… you are making me cry so early in the morning again! =D i really love your posts, Rach! =)

    every proposal story is just SO romantic no matter what. proposal stories never fail to make me teary eyed! =D

  20. That is so cute!! I LOVE your ring. I would totally want to pick mine out too- I’m really picky!

  21. Such a cute story, “if you like me enough…..” I love it.

  22. So cute! I love the ring it is so gorgeous. It never ceases to amaze me how God can bring 2 people together πŸ™‚

  23. This post was so sweet. I loved it! What a pretty ring . You can just tell that you all were meant for each other. What a Blessing.

  24. I loved every second of this post. πŸ™‚ I made me miss my hubs way more than I already do. I loved your engagement pictures!
    I actually have had two engagement rings.
    My original one had a whole bunch of issues. Like diamonds falling out, coming loose, etc. Kay deemed it wasn’t repairable. So they gave us a store credit for a new one. While I hated giving up that ring, I loved how my husband surprised me with it. It was like a second surprise proposal!

    • Aww sorry you are missing the Mr so much right now! I know that can’t be easy. 😦

      Oh gracious, those are some serious issues with your ring! I’m not surprised Kay deemed it unrepairable. But on the bright side – at least you got a surprise second proposal, that’s fun! πŸ™‚

  25. What a great proposal story! πŸ™‚

  26. texastriathlete

    damn that is some big ice! ha.
    I love how he got a cutesy little plastic ring for the “first” engagement…and I also love how you have a “fairy tale” blog post category…I hope I will end up like y’all, still soooo much in love after that long, it’s like the lovey-doveyness when you first begin to date someone, except still lasting for so many years!

  27. Lovely story and lovely ring! You lucky lady πŸ™‚

  28. Love love love this post! You were at my age (21) when you got engaged, right?

    So cute =)

    After reading this, I can’t wait to go to Paris to see my boyfriend on Friday!

  29. SUCH a cute story!! I love proposal stories, because they’re all so different… yet all so perfect! πŸ™‚ You and your hubby make an ADORABLE couple by the way!!

  30. Awww….love engagement stories!!!! I should post mine:)

  31. Adorable story! So cute that he went back to a place you hung out at a lot. I love romantic dates & everything, but I definitely prefer just hanging out and having fun together doing whatever too.

  32. I know I’m a day late but congrats on your anniversary! That is a great story!

  33. That’s such a sweet story… And very cute plastic ring πŸ˜‰

  34. Soo cute! I love how your roommate could just tell by your facial expression that you were engaged!! πŸ™‚

  35. Oh my gosh what a sweet story with beautiful pictures, love the thumbs up at the end and the ring, of course. Happy Anniversary!

  36. Rach, this is just precious. I LOVE it, and I really hope for that for me one day. πŸ™‚

  37. I firmly believe that a strong friendship makes the best foundation for a solid marriage. Love the first photo at the beach!

  38. Aweeee I love this!! “I love you…a lot.” SOOO SWEEET!

  39. Beautiful! And what a gorgeous ring . . . =)

  40. What a great story! Love the way your presented it! πŸ™‚ xo

  41. Happy engagement-versary! πŸ™‚ I love reading other people’s stories about how they got engaged. And this one sounds like it so perfectly fit you and how you guys were (are) as a couple! I think that’s what matters the most (not the over the top romantic stuff, although that can be nice too). Thank you for sharing it with us. Your ring is beautiful!

  42. You are beautiful! πŸ™‚ What an adorable post!!! Congrats!

  43. I LOVE your story!!!!! You are the cutest. And I absolutely love how you said your romance has flourished since getting engaged, rather than dwindled. I think the best part is that you were best friends before. Honestly, I always hear SO many happy couples say that (who’ve been married for years and years) and I think that is key. You want to spend the rest of your life with your best friend, for sure! πŸ™‚

  44. That is the most precious story! I love it! And I love your engagement ring. Mine is similar–3 stone princess leo cut. But I love most how your love is real.

  45. Pingback: The Proposal Take Two |

  46. Pingback: I said Yes! |

  47. So funny story about pickiness… When we started ring “thinking”, I told Terry that I wanted to just give home several ideas of what I liked and then let him take over from there. What actually happened: we went to the jewelry store and it took me about 2.7 seconds to fall in love with one ring and one ring only. I felt awful! But once I spied that ring, we both knew it had to be the one πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

