Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy…

I think I might have gone a bit overboard with the hearts on Valentine’s Day. We had breakfast-for-dinner and I just couldn’t seem to help myself.

Egg-in-the-hole, turkey sausage, Pioneer Woman’s buttermilk biscuits with pancakes for dessert! YUM!

On a totally unrelated note, check out the difference in my hair color in these two pictures. In the first one, there’s no natural light while in the second, the sun is shinin’ bright.

Rach as a brunette

Rach with light-brown-kinda-reddish-maybe-dark-blonde hair

Yes, I sometimes take pictures of myself while we’re out and about. Please tell me I’m not the only one…

In the summers, people make comments about me having blonde hair and I guess I always thought it was just since I spend so much time outside and my hair gets that natural sun streaked look. While that’s part of it, after seeing these two pictures I think some of it is just the amount of natural light on my hair. All in all, I think this is just one more proof that the sunshine and I are best friends.

Speaking of sunshine, we’ve had a lot of it lately. In fact, today’s high is… 70!!!!!!! I am seriously bouncing up and down excited! Sunshine means that Little Girl and I get to spend lots of time outside. So I get a work out from chasing her or pushing her in the stroller PLUS vitamin D from the sun!

Getting ready to go on a walk!

Haha! I couldn’t get a picture of both of us looking at the camera at the same time. So you get to see these two. πŸ™‚

Sunshine makes me happy, but something else that makes me really excited is that Ellie got engaged! You should go congratulate her if you haven’t already! πŸ™‚

Wanna know something else that makes me happy? Emma posting about making chocolate peanut butter and me realizing that I can in fact have this because I can use sugar free chocolate chips to make it. Um, hello new best friend!

Chocolate peanut butter goodness… YUM! [I didn’t have peanuts so I just blended melted sugar free chocolate chips, some butter and PB together]

Side note: I limit my caffeine intake very strictly (aka: I have none except on the occasional time when I have sugar free chocolate). This is a good thing because my heart needs me to take care of it. However, it means that I have zero tolerance for caffeine. So this tiny amount of chocolate peanut butter kept me up most the night last night. Ah, oh well, sometimes in life you have to make sacrifices for goodness, right? πŸ˜‰

And finally, I will leave you with one more thing that makes my heart smile…

Oreo loves drinking out of the facet in the tub. It’s like his own personal massive water dish. Cracks me up every time.

Now it’s time for me to get ready to spend the morning chasing Little Girl around the backyard! πŸ™‚

65 responses to “Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy…

  1. Girl, you are definitely not the only one. I totally take self-pictures. All. The. Time. Haha!!

  2. Omg I take pictures of myself DAILY haha. I love your heart dinner – Breakfast for dinner is the best isn’t it!?

  3. No caffeine? I’d die. πŸ˜‰

    My hair changes color too…more than me just dying it..haha

  4. Aaaww, she is adorable!! My hair also changes color in the light. My dad says I get red highlights πŸ™‚

  5. ah, I thought Chloe was a little nutso when she started drinking water from the bottom of my shower. πŸ™‚ she and oreo could be best friends.

    and my hair gets SO much lighter in the summertime. gosh, do I miss it!

  6. I love the heart shapes breakfast!! So sweet. πŸ™‚ Also, your hair looks great! It’s a nice change for Spring. Glad you had a wonderful day!

  7. super cute “hearty” breakfast πŸ™‚
    i love how red my hair gets in the sun……it looks like tori amos hair. here in seattle, we don’t see much sun in the winter 😦 BUT IT’S OUT TODAY!!! WOOOO HOOO!!

  8. Love the heart breakfast/dinner….so cute. I avoid taking pictures of myself because I am not good at it….my daughter can take a perfect picture everytime. You and her are like pro’s at the self portrait. I need a lesson. lol

  9. So much cuteness in this post! πŸ™‚ I love the heart shaped egg in a basket!

  10. AW! Such a pretty heart meal!!! As an italian girl myself, I’m diggin your blog!! πŸ˜‰ Such a sweet family!
    -Jamie

  11. HAHA! I just read your about me. Still loving your blog of courrrrse πŸ˜€

  12. hahaha overboard with <3s? nawwww never! thank you thank you Rach! I wish we lived near each other… πŸ˜€ that baby girl looks so jolly and happy!

  13. Your hair looks so different in the light! Both ways look so great though! Have fun with your beautiful weather! And your comments on my blog are so hilarious! Chocolate + banana = heaven!! πŸ™‚

  14. If you only knew how many photos of myself I have in my “me” folder…embarrassing! My BFF is the same way! In fact when we’re together we take photos our ourselves over and over and over…well, you get the picture (no pun intended!)! By the way, are you a nanny to that sweet girl? She has the cutest face & you can tell she adores you!

  15. How cute are you?! That really is a big difference in those two pics! I have the same problem with caffeine. I’ll drink or eat some and then I’m up all night from it. 😦 Enjoy your beautiful weather!

  16. You have GORGEOUS hair, no matter what color it is! πŸ™‚

    What a cute little girl, too! I LOVE this warm(er) weather. I love how it puts everyone in such a great mood!

  17. I am obsessed with the sunshine as well! It is only 50 here but it feels so much warmer! Enjoy your day outside I am so jealous of 70!

  18. Wow, that little amount of caffeine kept you up? I think I need to cut back on my caffeine intake! I totally take car pics too…youre not alone! Love all the heart foods πŸ™‚

  19. Oh I love how the doggy is drinking from the tub! Great idea πŸ™‚

  20. 1. I love the heart themed meal, very cute
    2. The hair color thing is crazy.
    3. I do not take self portraits because they always come out horrible
    4. (and you don’t have to answer) What’s the deal with all the sugar free stuff and your heart? I ask because you say, “my heart needs me to take care of it.” I have a pacemaker/defibrillator and just wondering. If it’s private and you dont’ want to talk about it that’s totally FINE.

    • I didn’t realize you had a pacemaker. Now I’m the curious one! Do you mind me asking why you have one?

      As for me – I don’t mind talking about my heart condition one bit. I probably should explain that before people think I’m dying of heart disease or something, haha! I’m thinking that sounds like a good post for tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  21. For some reason this picture of Oreo reminds me of a dinosaur.

  22. 70 degrees out? Lucky girl! That second picture where she’s looking at you is the cutest. Reminds me of a few summers ago, I babysat the summer camp’s director 2 year old daughter. It was an awesome job – we just played all over camp everyday and took naps.

  23. YAY so glad you made it!! It looks yummy πŸ™‚ And your lovely hair looks so GORGEOUS both ways!!

  24. i can sense that you still have the valentines spirit! haha..

    (i was reading some comments and i totally laughed with Chris’ comment saying Oreo reminds her of a dinosaur. haha.. i had to give a second glance haha)

  25. Chocolate peanut butter sounds divine, I’m going to have to make it soon!

  26. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    Hahaha, your dog is adorable! πŸ˜€ I also take pictures of myself, but I usually don’t look as good.

  27. so jealous of your weather! Ligher hair is just one of the many reasons why I heart summer and sun so much. Too bad we have many months to go in NYC… πŸ™‚

  28. Hi Rach!!!

    Such LOVELY pictures!!! :-))) I love your blog! I am passing on a stylish blogger award to you that you can retrieve here: http://www.manusmenu.com/a-special-birthday-with-an-award

    Manu

  29. Oreo looks so cute!

    That pb looks really good! Chocolate and PB is definitely my fave peanut butter combo, followed closely by PB & banana πŸ™‚

  30. Dinner is too cute! I need sunshine here! It is supposed to be in the 70s the rest of the week…I can’t wait!

  31. You can never have too many hearts on Valentines Day πŸ˜€

  32. Heh, if I looked like you, I’d be posing for pictures all the time, too. πŸ˜‰ I loved the second pic of you and the baby…she’s so precious, smiling at you so delightfully!

  33. Thanks for commenting on my blog! I love you Valentine’s brinner – it totally rocks! Eating breakfast for dinner is one of my favorite things. It’s funny because I also just posted today about chocolate PB referencing Emma’s post. Oreo is hilarious! I can’t wait to catch up on reading your blog – it’s so much fun!

  34. oh my gosh oreo is so cute!! i need to try that chocolate peanut butter but if i make it i’ll probably eat the whole batch in 1 sitting! ahh

  35. Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Your heart themed breakfast for dinner is too cute. I just bought a heart shaped cookie cutter for valentines day baking and I want to keep using it (as in maybe some potential heart shaped pancakes). And chocolate peanut butter sounds amazing. I need to try some of that. πŸ™‚

  36. That pic of Oreo is ADORABLE!! What a sweeetie!!

  37. Stacie@sugarandsneakers

    This post was just way too cute from the precious baby to the puppy drinking from the shower to your little Valentine’s breakfast!

  38. All of the heart shaped food is so adorable…and would be a blast for kids too! Finally we’re getting some sunshine here too and I can’t wait!

  39. Your V-Day dinner was so cute!
    Totally loving it πŸ™‚

    Glad you stopped by my blog, I’m loving yours too πŸ™‚

  40. Trust me – you are so NOT the only one who takes pictures of herself randomly lol I think like 95% of girls do the same thing! And your Valentine’s Breakfast/Dinner is too freakin adorable! I might do that for breakfast this weekend [for myself of course cause I’m who I love the most πŸ˜‰ ]

  41. I have some self-portraits taken in the car, too. My husband and I were driving down A1A, in my dad’s convertible, top down. Who could resist but to take some pictures??

  42. Oreo is too adorable!

    Hooray for eggs in a hole–I love them. Get it-love-hearts? Yes no booo? Anyways I was going to have them tonight bc I was feeling totally uninspired but am going to save it for tomorrow night. I love BFD!

  43. I can’t decide which picture is cuter: the one of you and little girl or the pic of oreo! The heart shaped egg in a basket is up there too…

  44. You are so stinkin’ cute. And so is baby. And breakfast for dinner is the best. And so is sunshine and 70 degrees. Welp…I pretty much love everything in this post! Really. I love it all.

    Happy Wednesday pretty lady!

  45. Fun post! My hair is weird; black on top, reddy brown underneath! What the? I have trouble with caffeine and sugar too, which is a shame because I love coffee and cake… it’s great that you blog some recipes specific to your needs, I can defintely use them. Have a great week πŸ™‚

  46. I love your breakfast! You can never go wrong with heart shaped foods πŸ™‚

  47. ha i think you can NEVER have too many heart shaped stuff πŸ™‚
    omg the little girl is sOOOO CUTE! who is it? you can tell in the second pic she is totally happy to be baby-sat by you πŸ˜‰

  48. I’m loving your gravatar picture Rach!

  49. It never works when I try and take pics of myself, sigh. My hair always looks much lighter and brighter in the sun so I’m looking forward to things brightening up here too. And I love your dog, so cute!

  50. I so have to make that chocolate peanut butter this weekend. It looks to die for! πŸ™‚

  51. I could not find our heart shaped cookie cutter on Valentines Day so my kids had to settle for hand cut out hearts in their food. Luckily the are young and were just as enthused! Love the dog pic!

  52. 70 degrees???? Send some warmth my way, PLEASE!!! πŸ™‚

  53. 1) Your hair is gorgeous!
    2) Pancakes for dessert? You’re my kind of girl.
    3) I could eat breakfast for dinner every night.
    4) Love heart shaped biscuits.
    5) I used to nanny in hs and every summer I’d watch a little boy from 6 a.m. until 2 p.m. when his mom got home from her job at the airport. Egg in the hole was his fav. breakfast.

  54. I love the dinner with the hearts! So cute. I haven’t had an egg in the hole for a while now.

    As for self photos…yep, I do that all the time too. πŸ™‚

  55. You can’t go overboard on the whole heart theme! I love the heart shaped breakfast…and that picture of Oreo drinking out of the tub cracks me up! πŸ™‚

  56. I don’t think you went overboard with the hearts at all – super cute! And I LOVE Oreo in the bathtub!

  57. You are not alone in taking pictures of yourself while out and about! Haha! I love that your dog drinks out of the faucet – that is too darn cute!!

  58. You are BEAUTIFUL! And Oreo is such a cutie πŸ™‚

  59. Hmm… most of the time when I take self-picture, I end up looking like a creature from the black lagoon. Please tell me how to look as goddess-like as you, O Wise One! πŸ˜›

    P.S. Love the idea of just stirring melted choc in ready-made pb! Brilliant!

  60. Twitter is such a great way to find great blogs! I love your heart shaped food. The day after Vday Ryan made the kids eggs in the hole with red bread. πŸ™‚ I’m going to be a follower! πŸ™‚

    Have a great day!

  61. OMG! Love that picture of Oreo- sooooo funny πŸ˜€

  62. hahaha, your dog drinking from the tub faucet cracks me up! i love it!

  63. Awww, the heart shaped biscuits and toast are just awesome … how delightful to see you two love birds πŸ™‚ … Oh and butter milk biscuits are the best.

  64. you are so so pretty! i love the pic of oreo!

Leave a Reply

