The Q&A Begins!

In answer to several questions on the last post – yes, we have a timer on our camera. Sometimes we ask complete strangers to take a snapshot or two for us, but usually not ones that will take a lot of time (like jumping photos or the railroad photos).

Every Sunday night I hang out with a special group of young ladies (the same ladies from The Pact Party). Since the days are longer (and warmer!) right now, we decided to go outside and just enjoy God’s creation. We got to watch the sun set and it was phenomenal.

Us at sunset πŸ™‚

I ran across this video titled “Inspiration for Documenting Life” and I just love it so much. I know you guys will appreciate it too because this is exactly what we’re doing on our blogs! πŸ™‚

Aaand now… time to start answering some questions! πŸ™‚

Katy: When is your birthday?
It’s July 30th! You are all welcome to send me presents or cards or delicious treats. πŸ˜€

Best birthday gift last year was getting to talk to my lil sis on Skype! She was in Israel all last summer and I didn’t get to talk to her much. This was a huge surprise and I was SO excited! πŸ™‚

Angelia: Do you watch any TV shows?
We don’t have cable, but we do utilize Hulu quite a bit. I am a big fan of anything funny. Modern Family and The Office would probably be my top two favorites, but I like lots more. πŸ™‚

Angelia: And what’s your favorite spaghetti recipe?
You’d think as an Italian family we’d have some super secret family spaghetti recipe. Nada. Christopher’s grandmother’s cookbook is missing. And his mom is of German descent (his dad is the Italian one which is where we got our very Italian last name). Anyway, we’ve been working on spaghetti recipes for a couple of years now. Some of our favorites include: Our Super Fabulous Spaghetti Recipe (we originally thought this was ‘the one’, but we still think we can do better!), Bolognese Sauce, and Skillet Spaghetti— but we still haven’t found an all time favorite quite yet. Definitely a work in progress!

Paola: Would you prefer the mountains or the beach?
The mountains are beautiful and I love them, but if the most beautiful places I’ve been have been beaches. I love them. The sand, the water, the sunshine, amazing. πŸ™‚ We usually go to the beach a couple of times a year. At least once every summer and then usually at Thanksgiving or Christmas… love it! πŸ™‚

Our first trip to the beach together: Christmas 2005

Nicole: If you could meet a famous person, who would it be?
So I keep thinking about this and really haven’t come up with anything. I think it’d be cool to meet lots of people, but there isn’t one person that stands out. Β I think it’d be fun to spend a day in the kitchen with one of my fav celeb chefs, though. Like Gordon Ramsey (as long as he didn’t curse or yell at me, haha), Paula Deen, Rachael Ray, Curtis Stone, etc.

Me with Jeremy (the drummer from my favorite band, Downhere). This was the second time we’d met. The first time was back in ’04 when I went to my first DH concert after having been a fan for a couple of years. Jeremy and I were actually friends once upon a time. We used to email back and forth all the time (haha, I know, I know in the days before Facebook). We fell out of touch when he got married and I started college. And now their songs are on the radio and I’m so proud of them! πŸ™‚

Ookies, so this seems to have gotten long enough already. So I’ll answer more questions later. πŸ™‚ Don’t worry, every question will be answered! And again, if you have more, feel free to ask. πŸ™‚

67 responses to “The Q&A Begins!

  1. LOVED the YouTube video on documenting life. It truly ought to be all about documenting our blessings, that’s so beautiful! Thanks for sharing, sistah!

    PS: Modern Family + The Office are SO my all-time favorites! It doesn’t get any better, does it?

    Have an amaazing week girl, God keep blessing you + your fam πŸ™‚

  2. I think it’d be hard to name a celeb I’d like to meet as well. I feel like it wouldn’t be very authentic. But I’d love to run into Curtis Stone at the grocery store and have him come make me dinner!

  3. for me, the beach will ALWAYS trump any mountains. even if we’re talking mountains of chocolate. or candy.

    πŸ˜‰

  4. Love it when you get to meet someone you adore. I got to take a pic with Jon Bon Jovi…best day ever! Ok, well second to the kids being born that is…

    Thanks for your sweet words about our dog, Guinness. Hearing everone’s words of encouragement and sympathy is really helpful.

    I hope you’re having a happy President’s Day!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma, What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  5. That’s like people asking me my favorite Mexican recipe as a Texan. It’s always evolving. We got our meatball recipe from our Italian friend Dave, so I don’t screw with it!

  6. So great for you to share…..Modern Family Rocks!!!

  7. Great answers! I know most people tend to say beach but I have to say I have a love for the mountains. It probably stems from living in Colorado and my husband’s and my love of the outdoors and hiking. Absolute beauty out there. Now that I live on the East coast I’m learning to appreciate and enjoy the beach much more than I used to.

  8. My wedding anniversary is July 30th! Woot! πŸ™‚

    Also, Modern Family and The Office are two of my fav shows {along with 30 Rock}.

  9. Ha I watch Modern Family religiously! Love it! πŸ˜€
    o0o I have a question, when did you first start to eat healthy? and did people think you were weird lol

  10. I love Modern Family too! I think it’s be so hard to choose between the beach and the mountains!!

  11. I love celeb chefs too! I’m so lucky I get to go to the South Beach Wine & Food Fest this Saturday… gonna get to see Giada & Paula & Rachel Ray πŸ™‚

  12. Ooh good answers! Look forward to hearing more, I love getting a peak into your world πŸ™‚

  13. I LOVED finding out more about you!! This Q A thing is FUN! And you’re brave with the whole Gordon Ramsay thing… I’d be WAY too chicken! He’s amazing, but SCARY! πŸ˜›

  14. I’d like to meet Brandi Carlile. πŸ™‚

    Girl..you are so stunning. πŸ™‚

  15. So cool that you know one of the guys from Downhere. I use a couple of their songs for my sprint workouts on the treadmill…random I know haha

  16. I love your little group of girls! That is just so awesome to me!!
    What exactly do you guys do?

    • Sunday nights we get together and share our “high/lows” for the week and then pray together. It sounds simple, but it’s just such a blessing. Then we hang out other times. Like late last night we all went to this local Mexican place and ate together and laughed and played games and shared stories… we were there three hours, haha! Just stuff like that. πŸ™‚

  17. Aw yay I loved learning more about you! I also prefer beaches over the mountains and was totally obsessed with Rachel Ray for a while!

  18. I love Rachael Ray and Paula Deen too! If I had to meet one famous chef, it would be Alton Brown… SO HOT!

  19. Woohoo, I’m a July baby too πŸ™‚

  20. Loved learning more & more about you. And I especially love that video you shared about documenting life. A perfect explanation of what “we” do! πŸ™‚

    Happy Monday Rach!

  21. I LOVE modern family!! I had a handful of friends in Israel all summer too, did your sister go with a huge group of people? This Q&A was such a great idea; I love hearing more about people:)

  22. very interesting! i like this idea of Q&Aing.. we (your readers) get to know you better as we read your answers =D

    send me your address so I could send you a card on your birthday! email me at teacher (underscore) viviene (at) yahoo (dot) com……… (and i’d like to tell you something too!)

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  23. Loved the Q&A! And your beach/mountains answer is just like mine..I love the mountains but the beach is so much fun. So maybe a mountain on the beach? πŸ˜‰

  24. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    It’s great you have your special group of young ladies – so precious! πŸ˜€

  25. Rach,
    I wish my husband wasn’t so greedy and would allow me to share our sauce recipe. I’ll give you a hint though. Start off with Dei Frantelli’s Italian Sauce. πŸ™‚ Add water, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, tomato paste. You get the idea. πŸ˜‰
    I didn’t give exact measurements. So therefore I DIDN’T share.

    I seriously love how JOYFUL you are in every single picture I’ve ever seen of you. Love how you just LIVE life. πŸ™‚

    Lisa

  26. I love Modern Family and The Office too! That pic of you and your sister is so cute! xo

  27. I was so curious about how you and hubby get these awesome pics too!! You guys are so good with that camera timer!!

  28. I don’t know how I haven’t seen that Becky Higgins video sooner! I fell in love with her through scrapbooking when she first started out at Creative Keepsakes…She was one of the main reasons I subscribed to that magazine for YEARS!!! She has such a joy about her that is visible in all that her hands touch! Thank you for including that in your post today… I really needed a glimpse of those little bits of every day goodness to remind me to take joy in those little things; especially when I’ve had a little bit of a rough stretch… So, THANKS! On a little side note… our birthdays are pretty close! Mine is on the 28th of July… Good month πŸ™‚

  29. ohhh i loveeeee the office!!!! did you see the newest one? threat level midnight ahaha super hilarious

  30. So fun to learn more about you! I can’t really think of one famous person I’d like to meet either. I can think of a few that would be “cool” to actually meet in person, but I don’t have that one celeb I’ve always dreamed of meeting.

    And I love that picture of you and your girls. Sounds like you have a great group – it must be a lot of fun (and gratifying) to lead them.

  31. You need to watch How I Met Your Mother if you like funny shows!! It’s one of my favorites and SO funny!!!

  32. I’m alllllll about the beach:)

  33. I would pick the beach!! Sun, sand, tan, palm trees…you cant go wrong! Loved all of your answers and looking forward to seeing more πŸ™‚

  34. Don’t you just love Skype? I live about 3 hours away from my family so we use it all the time…that is wonderful that you were able to talk to your sister! πŸ™‚

  35. Love this Q&A post, it’s so great to learn little things about you. I think meeting a celeb chef would be really neat too, especially if you got to try some of their food. πŸ™‚

  36. Aww, thanks for sharing! I love learning more about my fellow bloggers! πŸ™‚

  37. Raaaach! I gave you the Versatile Blogger award so check it out on my post! ❀

  38. I think it’s so wonderful that you spend Sunday evenings with a group of girls! You’re an amazing role model!

    I would LOVE to spend a day with Paula Deen! She’s so jovial! I’d also love to meet Michael Buble…My heart goes pitter-patter when he sings. Haha!

  39. Have a wonderful Tuesday!

  40. Paula Deen! I love her!! I would def want her to be my Grandma hah

  41. i’m with ya, girl! there’s just nothin’ like the beach πŸ™‚

    xo.

  42. I like the thought of meeting a top chef too! Take the entire day to have them cook for me and teach me something.

  43. I’d love to meet a famous chef, especially if they could teach me a few things! I’d pick the beach too! My family makes a skillet spaghetti with lots of cheese. It’s the best!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I loved your comment on Audra’s post πŸ˜€

  44. came across your blog today. it is fantastic!! Have a FANTASTIC day!!! πŸ˜€

  45. I love Modern Family – it never ceases to crack me up! I love Q&A sessions. So much fun! By the way, that pic of you and Christopher at the beach is super cute! πŸ™‚

  46. Yayyy I feel quite the same way you do… I loooove the mountains, and Modern Family is one of my all-time FAVORITE shows!

  47. What a gorgeous picture of the group of you!
    I’m with you on the beaches rather than mountains – mountains are FAR too cold (in general anyway!)

  48. Great Q&A post! Modern Family is AWESOME. I can’t watch the video at the moment, but I’m going to soon!

  49. How awesome!! I love learner more about bloggers πŸ™‚ I really should do one of these!

  50. Okay, so if you like Curtis Stone and beaches, you clearly HAVE to come to Australia soon! πŸ˜›

  51. I love the Q and A! I’m thinking about doing the same thing…but I’m scared to get embarrassing questions I don’t want to answer!

  52. Aw, that’s such a cute picture of you and the girls! Getting to see the sunset with ’em must’ve been so much fun!!!

    And yes, I agree, the beach is so amazing! I love feeling the warm sun on my face β™₯

  53. Modern Family is ahhhh-mazing. That’s really sweet you hang out every Sunday! Gives you something to look forward to before the weekend ends!
    -Courtney
    PS, we just tagged you in a post so you’ll be able to answer more questions. πŸ˜€

  54. Cute pics! Our birthdays are close… mine is 7/11 πŸ˜‰

  55. your bday is exactly one month after mine! πŸ™‚

  56. loveeee hulu!

    Thanks for the spaghetti recipes πŸ™‚ definitely trust your Italian recommendations!

  57. i’m still trying to get used to all the picture taking for the blog and asking people to take pics, I usually do the noshameinmygame self taken pics!

  58. Here’s another one for your Q&A you may have answered…ever thought about doing a cookbook?

  59. Playing catch-up a bit…I’m bad about keeping up to date with my blog readers :*( Anyways, LOVE those pictures with the train in the previous post!!!! And I’m totally jealous of that picture…at sunset…with short sleeve shirts!! We had a nice sneak peak of spring the other day, but now everything is buried in snow again with more called for on Friday. *sigh* Spring cannot come soon enough for me this year! Well, have a great day! πŸ™‚

  60. My God, you have such a heart warming smile … it made me smile every time to see your smiling photos. What’s your sister doing in Israel? I thought you guys were Italian.

    • My husband’s family is Italian. My family is mostly British. My younger sister was in Israel learning about the culture, taking language classes, and working with Bedouin tribes. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

