Party at our Place!

Tonight we are having a themed movie night/sleepover. You heard me right, a sleepover. As adults. Hehe! Our goal is to stay up until midnight (okay so we’re not quite the party animals of the year, haha!) watching movies from different countries and eat food corresponding to those countries! I’ll update more on this tomorrow (or possibly Sunday if tomorrow is too packed).

Speaking of sleepovers/parties – you ladies have all been so interested in the princess party… so you are definitely officially all invited to the next one! It’ll probably be in June or July. I try to do them every six months. Basically the whole idea is just getting together and being girly. We dress up like pretty princesses, go out to eat somewhere, go to a park and play (and take pictures), then come back to my house and crash for the evening watching PRINCESS movies! 😀 I make breakfast in the morning and the girls all head out before noon. Seriously, you are invited. Mark your calendars. 😉

Random cuteness for the day:

I love Oreo’s face here. Little Girl had just woken him up, hehe!

Little Girl thinks they are best buds. Oreo just wants to sleep. 😉

Earlier this week, I had put a giant pink bow in Little Girl’s hair and watching her run around wearing it just cracked me up. And I thought to myself, “Rach, why don’t you ever wear giant pink bows?” I had no good answer for that question. So on Tuesday Little Girl and I wore matching giant pink bows!

By the way, that wall behind me is our workout/craft/Little Girl’s napping room. Isn’t that just such a happy color? It sure makes me smile just to walk in the room!

Friday means new tasty food recipes! We’re actually making this Rigatoni recipe again for dinner tonight ’cause it’s just THAT good!

Rigatoni with Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage and Cannellini Beans – I know it isn’t the prettiest dish ever created, but believe me, this one is super incredibly fabulous!

Rigatoni with Sweet Italian Turkey Sausage and Cannellini Beans

Ingredients:

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 large onion, coarsely chopped
1 lb sweet Italian turkey sausage, casings removed
1 cup dry red wine
3 (14oz) cans fire roasted diced tomatoes
1/2 tsp ground red pepper
1 lb whole wheat rigatoni
1 (15oz) can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

Directions:

1. Heat oil over medium heat, then add the garlic and cook for about a minute. Add the onion and the sausage. Cook onion and sausage, breaking up the sausage with a wooden spoon until it loses its pink color.

2. Add the wine, increase the heat to high, and cook until reduced by half (about 10 minutes). Stir in the tomatoes and their liquid, ground red pepper. Reduce the heat to medium and cook for about 30 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, cook the rigatoni. Reserve 1 cup of pasta water, then drain. Add the rigatoni to the sauce and gently add the beans.

4. Reduce heat to low and cook for 3-5 minutes, until heated through.  If it’s a little dry, add some of the pasta water until appropriately moist.  Serve with extra Parmesan and fresh basil if desired.

I first saw this popular Italian dish at TheWickedDomestic, but I’ve also seen it on FoodandWineChristinaCooks and on AllRecipes.

Lesser fabulous, but still tasty, we tried our hand at Italian cucina povera (humble cooking).

Humble Spaghetti (garlic, olive oil and dried chili powder)

Sorry no Q&A today. I will continue that soon! I have lots to say to answer your questions and I don’t want to just give you quick answers instead of good answers. So you’ll have to wait just a little longer. 🙂

37 responses to “Party at our Place!

  1. You and Little Girl are so darn CUTE together!! LOVE the bows!! I think I’ll get one too and join you guys 🙂

    Have fun on your sleepover!! Sounds like SO much fun! And count me in for the princess party too! 😉

  2. Awww Little Girl is adorable! She has the most bluest eyes ever!!!

  3. First off, girl you are so gorgeous!!

    Second, I am so feeling this Princess party. Won’t be able to make it this year, Shane gets home in June and I am not letting that boy out of my SIGHT until he has to deploy again, but if you keep them up, maybe next year!!! 🙂 It sounds like such a wonderful thing! 🙂 Make sure you watch either The Little Mermaid or The Princess and the Frog. My two favorite Disney Princess movies! 🙂

  4. You & Little Girl are so adorable! I love the pink bows – how fun! And don’t even get me started on the pasta…yummy! Sure beats the bowl of cereal I had!

  5. Sounds like a blast, cant wait to hear more! Also love the bow photos and that wall color is fab!

  6. What an adorable little girl! Can I say that I have been watching the Sopranos lately and I always crave what they eat! And, your rigatoni didn’t help the matter!!!

  7. Little girl is so adorable!!! And honestly, the rigatoni looks AMAZING!!! Have fun with the sleepover!!

  8. Love the pick bow pics!

  9. Oreo is adorable!! And how fun to have an adult themed sleep over! Love the idea. The pasta looks delicious btw 😀

  10. I’m loving the adult sleep over idea! Hope y’all have fun!

    And I’m seriously excited about the princess party! I hope I can make it!

  11. I love your hairbows! I had a super stressful day, and they totally made my day!

  12. Little girl is so adorable! And I love the matching pink bows. 🙂 That rigatoni looks amazing! You definitely have me craving pasta now.

  13. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    What a lovely idea to have food according to the film! 😀 I once had a LOTR film night (we only managed to get through part 1 and 2, though, it was too long) and we prepared a lot of hearty, hobbit-style food with it. Fun!

  14. cucina cucina! hehe.

    I love your bows! SO ADORABLE! I might have to save up my money to come down there in the summer too! hehe. No, I really would. I love you way to much even though you think I am a crazy facebook stalker. Nah, I’m just a crazy pretty lady stalker because I like to look at pretty happy faces who have God shining all across them! Just to clear that up! 🙂

    I totally need to see how much tickets are because I would LOVE to come to a princess party sleep over. week sleepover.* cough cough * if i can come! lol.
    The recipe looks way fabulous! Today was a good day just to let you know! 🙂

  15. Haha! I hope you have a great time today at that sleepover; it sounds like so much fun!!!
    That picture of little girl and you is too darn adorable, and so is your idea for princess parties! I just love it!!!

    I hope you have a great weekend, and hope to talk to you soon!!!

  16. Aw, what a lovely idea! And now I’m off to investigate the humble spaghetti – I’ve never heard of such a recipe before!

  17. I absolutely love all the family pictures you post. They make me feel warm and fuzzy on the inside 🙂

    Princess parties sound fun! Me and my friends have potter parties. Similar concept, except we dress up like harry potter characters, talk in british accents, and watch as many harry potter movies as we can until our brains are fried. It’s really fun!

  18. pictures are soooooooooo cuuuuuuttteeeee 🙂 you guys are adorable! Also, a princess party?!?! haha that sounds like the most amazing thing ever, seriously! I hope you watch Enchanted, Ever After and of course, some Disney classics 🙂

  19. Love the bows! Too cute 🙂

  20. OoOoo how fun! 😛 I so wish I could join you! hahaha. And also for the princess party…but I’m afraid we live far from each other. I’ll be there in spirit? 🙂 you’d make a great mommy–you match being with that cute lil girl

  21. If you have a princess party this summer, I seriously may take you up on your offer!! I’m hoping to roadtrip south, and maybe, just maybe I could coordinate to be in Tennessee (I think that’s where you live?) at just the right time. 😉

    The pictures of Oreo and Little Girl are precious! I love watching kids interact with animals!

  22. Sleepover sounds fun! The girl is sooo cute and u should both wear the bows with pride 🙂

  23. So adorable with those matching bows! The princess party seriously sounds like the best fun ever.

  24. awww so cute! 😀 have a great time at your party!

  25. Have fun at your sleepover! That sounds awesome!
    Those matching pink bows are too cute!

  26. She is so cute!! I love that age 🙂

  27. That is fun! Your pasta looks so yummy, I love sausage and cannellini beans in a red sauce!

  28. I love themed movie nights! 🙂

  29. aaaahhhh, little girl and big girl look so cute with their bows! this made me smile so much, and thanks for your comments rach, its nice to know you are reading

  30. The Princess Parties sound fantastic!!! Btw, I love that you and your husband host adult sleepovers!! And foreign films accompanied by foreign dishes?! Seriously sounds like the perfect night 😀

  31. Pingback: Themed Movie/Dinner Sleepover « This Italian Family

  32. Oh my goodness, could you and Little GIrl BE any cuter?!?! AH! I love it! AAAnd I love the pink bows 🙂 Oh, and this princess party!??! I really want to come!! Like, for real!!

  33. Aww, Little Girl is so stinking cute! Love the matching bows!

    The princess party sounds like sooooooo much fun! Getting dressed up, going out to eat, watching princess movies? Where do I sign up?…Like seriously!

  34. I love the matching pink bows that you and Little Girl are wearing! I want to get some of those headbands that have cute doilies or flowers attached to them – I like being girly sometimes!

  35. awhhh i wish i were close enough to come to the party!

    xo.

  36. Pingback: A Throwback Pasta Recipe |

Leave a Reply

