Won’t you be my neighbor?

So I decided to use my Bob’s Red Mill Hemp Protein Powder in my breakfast this morning! Wanna see??

See! I made applesauce muffins again! I just subbed 1/4 cup hemp for 1/4 cup white flour. It was great! It made the batter a lot darker, but the finished product is only slightly darker. And it didn’t alter the taste at all! Such a great way to add a little more protein to my breakfast. ๐Ÿ™‚

Since so many of you recommended using the oat flour in pancakes, I decided to give it a whirl! I really wanted big fat fluffy pancakes and here is what I came up with: Fluffy Pancakes. ๐Ÿ™‚

Fluffy Pancakes

Ingredients:

1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup oat flour
2 tbsp Splenda / sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup almond milk / buttermilk
2 tbsp butter, melted
1 egg

Directions:

1. In a small bowl, combine the flours, Splenda, baking powder and salt. In separate bowl combine the milk, butter, and egg; stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.

2. Pour batter by 1/4 cupful onto a greased hot griddle. Turn when bubbles form on top of pancakes; cook until the second side is golden brown. Makes about 10 pancakes.

They have this cake-like consistency that is really fabulous and yet they are still so big and fluffy. They’re incredible! I’m going to try adding 1 egg to the mix the next time I make it so we’ll see how that goes. ๐Ÿ™‚

We had tons of salad leftover from this past weekend when my sisterโ€™s family was here so I needed to use it up before it went bad. Weโ€™ve eaten plenty of salad this week, but I wanted to add a little something to it one night so I made some tasty chicken to go on top!ย :)


Lemon Mustard Chicken

Ingredients:

3ย chicken breast halves
2ย tbsp cooking oil
1 tbsp Dijon-style mustard
1ย tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp lemon-pepper seasoning
1ย tsp dried oregano
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions:

1. Skin chicken. Place chicken pieces, bone side up, on the unheated rack of a broiler pan. Broil 4 to 5 inches from the heat for 15 to 20 minutes or until light brown.

2. Meanwhile, in a bowl stir together oil, mustard, lemon juice, lemon-pepper seasoning, oregano, and cayenne pepper. Brush mustard mixture on chicken. Turn chicken; brush with remaining mixture. Broil for 5 to 15 minutes more or until chicken is no longer pink.

Recipe fromย Better Homes and Gardens

Okay so this last one doesnโ€™t look so great, but itโ€™s really very tasty! Believe me!


Mexican Chicken

Ingredients:

6 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1 (20 ounce) jar salsa
1 large red bell pepper, chopped
2 tablespoons ground cumin
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons chili powder
3 cloves crushed garlic
2 (15 ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F

2. Arrange the chicken pieces in a 3 quart casserole dish or a 9ร—13 inch baking dish.

3. Combine the salsa, red bell pepper, cumin, lemon juice, chili powder and garlic. Pour the mixture over the chicken. Pour the black beans on top and cover.

4. Bake in the preheated oven for 1 to 1 1/2 hours. Serve with rice if desired.

Recipe from:ย http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Mexican-Chicken-I/Detail.aspx

Wanna know something I love about having two boys who are always very very grateful to have yummy food? They are always thankful enough to help clean up the kitchen later. ๐Ÿ™‚ Look at them washin’ and dryin’ dishes!

They’re laughing because Tony was attempting to make seductive faces at the camera.

By the way, the house one house over from us is for sale! It’s a short sale which means it’s going for 30-40 grand less than everything else in our neighborhood. It’s a huge gorgeous house. So as Mr. Rogers always sang, “Won’t you be my neighbor?” ๐Ÿ˜‰

55 responses to “Won’t you be my neighbor?

  1. Yummy pancakes and chicken, might have to give them a try!

  2. Mm, those pancakes look so fluffy! I loved your house video ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Mmmmm everything looks good! I love the pancakes- I could eat pancakes at every meal! & that’s awesome that you have kitchen clean up help ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Those are some yummy looking pancakes!

  5. P.S. If you’re gonna make pancakes like that, I’ll totally be your neighbor. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. YUMMY! The muffins and the salad look like they would be my favorite.

  7. oh mannnn! those pancakes are calling my nammeeee “Elliiieeeeee come eat meeee”

  8. YUM! Everything looks amazing, especially the pancakes, I may be trying out that recipe. Thanks for sharing! Happy weekend!

  9. Pancakes look amazing!

  10. Haha, I would love to be your neighbor. Unfortunately it’s not the part of the country we’re looking at living in… Haha. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your foods sound yum!

  11. Oh yum. I love the tower of pancakes!! Mmm I can almost imagine them just melting in my mouth ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I love having other people do the dishes.
    Those muffins look exactly like the muffins we get here in treatment…just though you should know. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. The muffins and pancakes look delish!! So fluffy!

  14. Those pancakes do look extra cakey!! Delicious!

  15. I want to be your neighbor ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the pancakes!

  16. Awww Rach, if only you were a state or two closer I’d seriously consider being your neighbor. Seriously girl! I’ve contemplated a move for a new job recently, but not sure I wanna be far away from my family again!

    Oh and for the record I love that you quoted Mr. Rogers… Such an amazing man of character… Not to mention the fact that I’m from his neck of the woods! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Mmmm those pancakes look SO GOOD Rach! I love big and fluffy pancakes XD

  18. Yep, those pancakes are looking mighty tasty! I want 2 guys living in my apartment that have to do the dishes! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  19. The Teenage Taste

    Looks like a bunch of great eats girlie! Those pancakes are seriously making me drool! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  20. MUUUUUFFFFfinNNNNSSss. I love them. So freaking much. And those pancakes look super fluffy! I haven’t had pancakes in forever!
    I wish I had someone to do the dishes for me. Then again, i’m not cooking up delicious food for anyone else.

  21. This muffins look absolutely mouth wateringgggg!!

  22. You can be my neighbor if you move to California ๐Ÿ™‚ Both of my next door neighbors are crazy! It beats the drug dealers that lived there before, though!

  23. Oh yum, I want those muffins! I love intensely-flavoured baked goods ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. How cool is that! Hemp! And those pancakes…I’m a pancake expert, and those pancakes…wow…amazing looking!! This isn’t fair…I ate already and that seriously made my stomach grumble..I’m full already! Looking forward to more of your blog!!

    Dug
    http://thf2.wordpress.com

  25. Cake like consistent pancake is the best! Yours look excellent!

  26. Oh my gosh….those pancakes look PERFECT!!! Mine never turn out very photogenic. ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. with that kind of food…id def be your neighbor!!! lol i used to love watching that show!!!

  28. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    Oh, myam myam myam! Pancakes again, I just saw some on another blog and my appetite for pancakes is growing! ๐Ÿ˜€ And the chicken looks fab, I’ll try it with lemon and mustard (sounds so good), and also a Mexican style one (minus the beans). Thanks for the inspiration!

  29. Pancakes AND muffins?! I’m in heaven just looking at them!! I am checking out those recipes RIGHT NOW!! And I will DEFINITELY be your neighbour!! Specially with this yummy food around! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  30. Those pancakes look so fluffy and delicious! ๐Ÿ™‚

  31. Great looking pancakes right there! Have a fun weekend!

  32. Mmm…pancakes-I was craving those so bad this am…and am drinking Kombucha instead-how boring am I? Have a great wknd!

  33. Those are some of the fluffiest pancakes I’ve ever seen! Delish.

  34. Mmm this is some delicious food you’ve been having! I want those muffins…:)

  35. Actually apart from the food I loved the morning sunlight in the photo … it was somehow delightful (the first photo)

  36. Those look like the fluffiest, most delicious pancakes EVER! Yum ๐Ÿ™‚

  37. Glad you were able to put your BRM products to use on some awesome recipes! Everything looks delicious, thanks for sharing with us ๐Ÿ™‚

  38. Omgggg those pancakes!! Ridic!! I only WISH I could have a neighbor like you Rach! xoxo

  39. Oh yum!! I have been on such a pancake kick lately and your pancakes look amazing!! I actually have some oat flour in my pantry right now too!!

    I already ate breakfast this morning, but now I kinda want to make those for lunch. Is that weird?

  40. heck yes i’ll be your neighbor if you’ll have us over for dinner!

    thanks for visiting on my SITS day!

    ~h

  41. I remember Mr. Rogers! Those were the good old days…

    Those muffins and pancakes look amazing! I’d totally be your neighbor. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Megan

  42. Look at that pile of pancake fluff! They look incredible!
    And Mr Rogers is love. Definitely up there in the fav childhood shows!

  43. Oh my all of the food looks so delicious!! I can see why they don’t mind washing the dishes after having such a wonderful meal! You always have the best looking recipes.

  44. I love pancakes! my favorite way to eat them is plain with some earth balance and syrup mmm! I love how the butter gets all melty โค

  45. yum yum as always.. that lemon mustard chicken look good! In as much as I’d like to be your neighbor I doubt I’d be able to move to the US! =p

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  46. Rach, I’d love to be your neighbor!!

    Ohmygoodness your pancakes look so moist, fluffy and delicious! I want some right now! Would you like to share the recipe? ๐Ÿ™‚

  47. ill move in! different continent at the moment, might be a bit tricky! in england our pancakes are totally different to yours, (i think you guys call our style crepes) but i love the fluffy fatties!!

  48. All of your food looks amazing. I especially love those fluffy pancakes…holy yum!

  49. Those pancakes look fantastic!

    My kitchen help consists of the Babies crawling in the dishwasher to lick plates.

  50. By far and away my favorite part of cooking is having the grateful hubs do the dishes ; )
    P.S. Cakey-pancakes is a genius idea!

  51. All that food looks SO great! I love the idea of using oat flour in pancakes…I gotta try that ๐Ÿ™‚

  52. I love when my wonderful husband cleans after I cook, makes cooking so much more enjoyable!!

Leave a Reply

