Fridays = New Recipes!

I got this in the mail from Tiffany earlier this week! It hangs proudly on my fridge! ๐Ÿ™‚

Last Saturday I was craving cake, but I didn’t want to make a whole cake since I had no intention of eating it all. I remembered this “cake-in-a-mug” idea I’d heard of so Christopher and I googled it. Then five minutes later, I had a mug full of delicious sugar free chocolate cake. YUM! ๐Ÿ™‚

Cake in aย Mug

Ingredients:

4 tbsp flour
4 tbsp Splenda*
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
2 tbsp whisked egg (1 egg is too much, 1 egg white is too eggy, 1 yolk is too dense, but 2 tbsp is just right)
4 tbsp almond milk*
3 tbsp canola oil
splash vanilla
3 tbsp sugar free chocolate chips

Directions:

Add ingredients to mug in this order. Mix together. Microwave for 1 minute. Enjoy!

* if you use regular sugar instead of splenda, you can use 3 tbsp milk instead of 4.

Slightly adapted fromย Instructablesย (go to that link for a video on making these!

Last week Kayla postedEvanโ€™s recipe for dessert hummus. I was highly skeptical about the idea of a sweet hummus, but it looked so good that I knew I couldnโ€™t pass it up. Turns out, itโ€™s really pretty great.ย :) Mine isn’t near as pretty as Evan’s or Kayla’s (I definitely added more PB than the recipe called for, hehe!), but it was still very tasty!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Dessert Hummus byย Evan

And to balance all the sweet dessert in this postโ€ฆ how about some bolognese?


Mushroomย Bolognese

Ingredients:

2 tbsp olive oil
1 large carrot, peeled and diced
1 medium onion, diced
sea salt or kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
3 garlic cloves, grated or minced
3/4 cup red cooking wine
1 pound of mushrooms, chopped
1 1/2 cups beef broth
1 (28oz) can crushed tomatoes
2 bay leaves
2 tsp sugar/Splenda
2 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried thyme

Directions:

1. Saute the onion and carrot in a large pot in the olive oil with a big pinch of kosher or sea salt and a few grindings of pepper.ย  Let the vegetables cook for about 8 minutes, on low heat.ย  Add the garlic and cook for one minute. Increase heat and add the wine.ย  Cook for 5 minutes, making sure the wine is simmering. Add mushrooms.

2. Add the rest of the ingredients. Simmer, uncovered, for about an hour to an hour and a half, until the sauce has reduced down and a lot of the liquid has cooked off โ€“ cook until you like the thickness of the sauce. Taste for salt and adjust seasoning.

Note: This recipe will be more than enough to coat a pound of pasta.ย  If you donโ€™t use all the sauce, itโ€™s great the next day or you can freeze it.

Slightly adapted fromย TheItalianDish

Guess what! SPRING arrives this weekend! The high today is 80 and I am so incredibly excited about it. Hope the weather is gorgeous where you are too!

48 responses to “Fridays = New Recipes!

  1. The weather yesterday and today in Chicago is around 60. I love it! Sad news is it isnt staying for very long but I am taking it as I can get it! Enjoy your weekend.

  2. Cake in a mug sounds soo good! I definitely will have to try making one after Lent is over and I can have my sweets again!!

    The weather here is sunny and in the 50’s so I’m not complaining! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. the mushroom bolognese looks yum! I am trying out the dessert hummus as well (we have guests coming over today so we’ll see if it’s good enough for the non “crazy” eaters) It was around 65 here yesterday and is supposed to be 70 here today! Back in the 40s tomorrow, but I’ll enjoy it while it’s here!

  4. matching fridges, what whaaaat! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. I have never tried dessert hummus before, but I have seen it on a couple of blogs. It looks so good!

  6. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    Love you green monster muffins! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. It’s going to be 80 here today too! Now if only I could get out of this office cubicle a bit early… ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve never thought of making a mushroom bolognese but I really like the idea. I’m trying to cut back our meat intake which is going to be a challenge with my 6’4″ Italian boyfriend but I think he would really enjoy this dish (we’re mushroom lovers!) Bookmarking ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Seriously everyone of those recipes looks SO so good! Dessert hummus?? I’d be up for trying it…especially if good old PB is involved. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. i’ve been wanting to try out that hummus! ihave all the ingredients, i just need the time! ๐Ÿ™‚

    i hope this weekend, i find it! hehe.

    missed you while on vaca, sweets!

    xo.

  10. Cake in a mug looks so good!

    It’s 70 degrees here today! I’m sooo excited to get off work and do some studying outside for a change!

  11. Cup in a cake??? I have to try that!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex, aka Ma What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  12. Mmmm thanks for this Rach! yesss the weather is amazing here in Cali~so crazy that the radiation is actually kind of ‘setting’ in here supposedly, but it’s so minor that it’s not harmful. (accord. to experts) but every mornin’ praisin’ and thankin’ for a new day no matter what!~~ ๐Ÿ˜€ btw the cake in a mug reeallly sounds delectable.

  13. I’m SO jealous its hott where you are!!

    I want to try dessert hummus! Does it actualyl taste like cookie dough? How was the mug cake?

  14. You had me at cake and mug but I can’t wait to try the desert hummus and green muffins. The apple muffins have become a staple around here, we LOVE them and I share them with everyone! Thanks Rachel!

  15. AAAH all your food looks SO YUMMY!! Cake-in-a-mug is a total FAVE of mine, and I HAVE to try your GM muffins- they look delish!! That dessert hummus has been on my To-Make list for ages…drool ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Ah, 80 degrees? I’m all excited about our weather being in the 50’s! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. What a yummy cake in a mug! Lol Great little serving size ๐Ÿ˜‰ And that pasta looks incredibly delicious ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. I have been wanting to try the hummus cookie dough dip for a while but I think my apprehension is what’s keeping me away. But, with your approval and as it is taking over a bit on the blogosphere, I must give it a try.

  19. Mm, I haven’t had spaghetti in forever! I could eat pasta sauce alone! It’s the best part ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. I was pretty skeptical about the dessert hummus too, but I loved it when I made it. I couldn’t believe how much it tasted like cookie dough, and I loved that it wasn’t too sweet.

  21. Hooray for the magnet!!

    Sweet hummus…..hmmmm…I’m a bit skeptical. But I love sweets and love hummus so this could be a new favorite thing of mine–must try! Happy Friday ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Green monster muffins? That’s awesome! Do they taste vegetabley?

  23. Cara Craves...

    Sweet hummus; very intriguing.
    I love your green monster muffins; what a great idea!

  24. Every recipe here looks wonderful! I’m especially intrigued by the Green Monster muffins! If you can add spinach to a smoothie, why not a muffin? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve been wanting to try dessert hummus…I know it’s something I’d love, so I think what’s keeping me from making it is the fear that I’d eat the entire bowl! Haha

  25. mmm so many great eats going on in this post!! mushroom bolognese; yum!! Yay for new recipes on fridays!! I’ve totally had that dessert hummus and LOVE it! Guess what, I just created my blogroll and guess who’s on it… ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Yum yum! I just finished cooking a nice Filipino dish right before I jumped to the computer. Hehe..

    I had to search what hummus was =p Its not very popular here (or maybe I’m the only one here who doesn’t know)

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  27. I definitely want to try green monster muffins sometime. They may look funny, but I bet they taste great. Plus they pack lots of nutrients!

  28. OMG! I’m not kidding, I JUST made chocolate cake in a mug myself!!

  29. Wow those muffins are very green! Looks like something I could scare my roommates with, haha.

    Glad you discovered mug cakes! They’re nice for a quick treat.

  30. mmmm yum yum yum!! Everything looks fantastic! Ive yet to create a cake in a mug but I have a recipe for it!! I just actually have to remember to make it lol

  31. Be fit and be fabulous

    Dessert hummus?! Hmmmmm sounds fishy, haha. But I’m so gonna try it out because hummus is very near and dear to my heart!

  32. 80 degrees!! Wow, I’m pumped about our high 50s weather here in Chicago.

    Cake in a mug is totally brilliant – and I’m going to steal that Idea! ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. Love the green muffins! I made green french toast and pancackes for my family and it was a big hit. I think I should color the food everynight to keep the kids excited. They can guess what color is next….lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. I haven’t tried dessert hummus yet, but it looks so good! And the green muffins are lovely and festive looking ๐Ÿ™‚

  35. Love the recipes!
    I’ve been skeptical about the sweet hummus too but so far everyone who makes it seems to love it so I should probably make it ๐Ÿ™‚

  36. wooot for spring! ๐Ÿ™‚

    sososo excited.

    those GMM’s are genius!

  37. Some interesting recipes there! Stopping by from SITS.

  38. The cake in a mug looks delicious!! I love single-serve treats.

  39. i love that magnet!! We have one that says “I love my pug” ๐Ÿ˜€

  40. Ohmygoooooosh the green monster muffins look fantastic! I have got to make them! =)

    xoXOxo

  41. I am definitely going to have to try the green monster muffins for St. Patty’s Day next year!

  42. YUM! I love Evan’s Recipes!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I really want to try those Green Monster Muffins! They look AWESOME! ๐Ÿ˜€

    xoxo
    Kathleen

  43. That Mushroom Bolognese looks great! Yummy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  44. Pingback: Tuesday Night In |

  45. Pingback: Tuesday Night In |

  46. This pasta looks delicious! One of my favorites so far – can’t wait to try this!!

Leave a Reply

