My New Toy!

So for the past year Christopher and I have been talking about getting bikes so we can go ride together. We’ve been looking off and on, but yesterday we really started looking on Craigslist for a good deal. We just happened to find this ladies’ mountain bike originally bought under a year ago for $115 and priced at $60. We walked away with it for $50 and now I have a NEW BIKE! We’re still working on finding one for Christopher, but I’m really excited! You better believe that I will be riding today. This is just another example of how I love to PLAY when it comes to exercise. πŸ™‚

And as always, since it’s Friday – we have new recipes!

I’ve been working on a good all-around homemade bread that requires no sugar. After some research and work, I finally came up with THIS bread! Meet Honey Wheat Oat Bread… yeah, it’s even better than it sounds.

Honey Wheat Oat Bread

Ingredients:

2 cups warm water (110 degrees F)
1 tbsp active dry yeast
1/3 cup sugar free imitation honey
3 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp salt
1/3 cup no sugar added applesauce
1 cup quick-cooking oats
3 cups bread flour

Directions:

1. Dissolve yeast in warm water. Add honey, and stir well. Mix in whole wheat flour, salt, and applesauce. Add quick oats and work bread flour in gradually. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead for at least 10 to 15 minutes. When dough is smooth and elastic, place it in a well oiled bowl. Turn it several times in the bowl to coat the surface of the dough, and cover with a damp cloth. Let rise in a warm place until doubled in bulk, about 45 minutes.

2. Punch down the dough. Shape into two loaves, and place into two well greased 9 x 5 inch loaf pans. Allow to rise until dough is 1 to 1 1/2 inches above pans.

3. Bake at 375 degrees F for 25 to 30 minutes.

Adapted fromΒ AllRecipes

This bread is especially great because it makes for incredible sammich bread! Wanna see? Check out these BLTs!


BLT

Ingredients:

4 slices turkey bacon, crispy
3 leaves romaine lettuce
4 slices ripe roma tomato
1 tbsp olive oil mayo
2 slicesΒ honey wheat oat bread

Directions:

Toast bread and spread with thin layer of mayo. Layer lettuce, tomatoes, and bacon on bread. Enjoy!

Doesn’t that bread just look fabulous? YUM!

I bought my mom a cookbook for Christmas and before I gave it to her, I did the natural thing… I flipped through it for recipes I wanted.Β ;) This crock pot recipe, Sugo di Carne, was one of those!


Crock Pot Sugo di Carne

Ingredients:

3 tbsp olive oil
1 small onion, diced
2 slices pancetta or bacon, chopped
1 pound ground veal (or beef)
salt and pepper to taste
2 (14.5oz) cans diced tomatoes
1/3 cup chicken broth
5 fresh basil leaves

Directions:

1. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook onion and pancetta/bacon until browned (around 5 minutes). Transfer to crock pot.

2. Add veal/beef to skillet and cook until browned, breaking up clumps. Lightly salt and pepper. Add to slow cooker with tomatoes and chicken broth. Cover and cook on low for 6 hours.

3. Stir in the basil. Serve over cheese ravioli or other pasta.

Recipe fromΒ Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker

Hope you guys are having a super sunshiney day!

70 responses to “My New Toy!

  1. wow girl how fun for you! that bike looks fabulous πŸ™‚ and so does the those dishes! yum! have a wonderful friday!

  2. I was JUST telling my husband I want to get bikes so we can ride together this spring/summer. I never thought to look on Craig’s List! DuHH!

  3. yay for the new bike! i hope you use it a lot πŸ™‚

  4. This is SO exciting that you got a bike! I can’t wait to read about your rides! πŸ™‚ And that bread does look amazing! There is nothing better than homemade bread! Hope you have a wonderful weekend!

  5. I need to check out craig’s list more often! My husband & I plan on getting bikes soon so we can hit up the trails near our home!

  6. Your crockpot meal looks fabulous! I want to buy a bike soon too. I totally miss riding around the neighborhood! Have a great weekend!

  7. Oh my gosh, what a steal! You can find all sorts of good stuff on Craigslist. Congrats!

    blt’s sound like the perfect spring lunch right now. πŸ™‚

  8. Wow what a great deal on that bike. It looks great. I know you are going to have so much fun peddling that thing!!

  9. awesomeeee bike! yes, may we all get out and play much much more!!! and that BLT is exactly what I am craving today, exactly!!!! I’m also always up for a new crockpot recipe, thanks for sharing! keep shining sweet bella…

  10. your food looks so incredibly goood!!!!!!!!

  11. What a fun new toy, yea plying! Cant wait to try honey wear bread!

  12. Ohhh the bread looks so yummy. Now to find time to cook!

  13. Hi twin! I also got a bike last month (T wants one too, but like Chris we’re still waiting to find his). I LOVE my bike! I use it to ride to the mailbox each day & when T goes running around the lake I ride my bike next to him – it’s so fun πŸ™‚
    Also, can’t wait to try that bread and new crock pot recipe (yay!)!

  14. Look at that sweet ride!! You did so good on the price – wow!!

    I am so hungry. Can’t believe I kept reading after the first food pic. Doh! Yummmmmy.

  15. I haven’t had a bike for years!!! Since my last one got stolen off my balcony when I lived in Venice Beach. Man, how I love a good BLT!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  16. yay for the new bike! double yay for the price!!! i don’t know what i would do without my bike!! hopefully you find one soon for christopher!

    and the honey wheat oat bread looks fabulous…i’ve been on a bread making kick lately, so i might have to try it out!

  17. yay! have fun with your new bike! πŸ™‚

    xo.

  18. ahh, I just got a bright yellow one at the end of summer and I loove it. i can’t wait for warmer weather so I can put it to good use! πŸ™‚

  19. Thanks for stopping by my blog today! πŸ™‚

    I got my husband a bike for his birthday and I am hoping he gets my very strong hints to do the same for me. Congrats on your purchase!

  20. I can’t remember the last time I had a blt! Looks yummy πŸ˜€

  21. Girl, You are much braver than me! While I love the idea of riding a bike, this girl has two left feet!!! When I was a kid I was on the ground when riding a bike more often than actually on the bike. I tried getting on one a few years ago and it ended BADLY… end result being me on the ground. Let me tell ya, these old bones hurt soooooo much!!!! LOL. I think the only bike I’ll be riding, if any, will be a stationary bike… risk of injury is FAR less! πŸ˜‰

    Happy Friday my dear… Hope you have a fabulous weekend!!!

  22. Aaaah I want a bike now!!! I think I may have one hidden in the depths of my garage…time to dig it out methinks! πŸ˜€

    Honey wheat oat bread?! YUM!! πŸ™‚

  23. Craigslist is where it’s at!
    congrats on the bike, have fun πŸ™‚

  24. Have fun on your new bike!! That’ll be great for you two to be able to ride together. πŸ™‚

  25. Cara Craves...

    Love the colour of the new bike!
    I am sure you will lots of fun biking
    adventures together with your husband.

  26. I’ve never baked bread, and it’s been over a decade since I rode a bike. Therefore you win forever πŸ˜‰

  27. wow! Your blog is awesome! Thanks for stopping by! I am glad you enjoyed my blog too! … I am now a following you!!!

  28. I love your bike! I bought my own last spring after using my dad’s and I am so glad I did. I love it!

  29. That bread looks fantastic!!

  30. Love that blue bike! Biking is definitely a great way to play exercise.

  31. Super sweet mountain bike!!! πŸ™‚ I’m super jealous! πŸ™‚ Have fun riding!

  32. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    Whee, what a beautiful bike! I need a new one, too, mine is totally rusted. πŸ˜‰

  33. The Teenage Taste

    Yay for the new bike! I love the color! πŸ˜€

  34. Your bike is so pretty! What a great price! I actually ride a bike designed for men. It makes me feel hardcore.

  35. I really need to get a bike. I love bike riding, and we have some great trails. What kind of bike is that, a hybrid?

  36. Wow – that bike is so fancy looking! Of course, I’m still riding my teal Diamondback from freshman year of high school. Biking is so much fun and I love that it’s so much speedier than walking. My bike was my main mode of transportation in college and grad school. Just watch out for the crazy driver!

  37. Um I love the color of your bike! Not to be super shallow or anything πŸ™‚ I feel like I’m so out of the loop on your life coz i’ve been so absent from blog-land recently… I’ve missed you!

    That bread looks PHENOMENAL by the way. πŸ™‚ and yes, my day WAS sunshiney, somehow, even though I’m in usually-rainy Seattle! πŸ˜‰

  38. YAYYYY i love bikes! Hopefully you can find one for your hubby soon!
    That bread looks GREAT btw; I love honey wheat XD

  39. I love playing too! I recently got a bike for my bday and I can’t wait for it to warm up so I can go for a ride πŸ™‚ I didn’t see your BLT recipe when I posted my recipe but it looks similar and so good! Crock pot recipes are awesome!

  40. Sweet bike beautiful!! I definitely need to get me one of those πŸ™‚

  41. Enjoy your new bike! I got one for Christmas and it’s my favorite thing ever!

  42. Nice bike and what a great deal! I would love a bike, maybe one of these days I will finally suck it up and buy one.

  43. What a great deal! Craigslist rocks. Have fun riding with Christopher.

    And yes that bread looks fantastic. There’s nothing quite like the satisfaction of baking your own bread.

  44. What a cute bike! I would have never thought to even look on craigslist.

  45. yayyyyyyy so great that you got SUCH an inexpensive bike! doesn’t it feel good buying things cheaper? πŸ˜€ that bread DOES look amazing! so soft and fluffy

  46. Yeeee for a new bike! πŸ˜€ It’s beautiful, just like you!

  47. Goodness gracious that bread looks fabuloso! Congrats on the bike snag, you reminded me that I so need to jump back into the Craigslist way of life – I don’t know why I ever stopped! Have a beautiful weekend girl, your eats look absolutely deliiicious πŸ™‚ God keep blessing you in huge ways!

  48. That samboa has my name on it *eye water*. Biking is such a good thing to be getting into these days. Well done you guys for scoring such a bargin on a great looking bike.

  49. Yay for new Toys Rach!!! Love that pic of you! And thank you for including the bread recipe—just got a craving!!m Hope you are having a great weekend!

  50. Fun new toy! & BLT’s are my favortite!!!

  51. ive been wanting a bike FOREVER. my brother works at sports authority and gets 30% off so im not sure what im waiting for.
    love honey wheat bread. im so nervous to make my own bread though!!

  52. I got my first bike on craigslist too, and eventually sold it on craigslist when I upgraded to a really nice road bike! I love, love, love having a bike πŸ™‚

  53. Nice bike! It’s so much fun to ride a bike in good weather…
    And I can almost smell that bread, it looks delicious!! πŸ™‚

  54. yay for scoring a great bike at an incredible price!

  55. How exciting! Bikes are SO expensive, which is why I got a used one, too. I can’t wait until the weather warms up more so I can ride more!

  56. hooray love your new blue bike! =) I totally scout through cookbooks before sending them to my mom too! ❀ one time I wanted to photograph so many recipes that I decided I might need to buy an extra copy for myself! haha!

  57. Nice bike Darling! πŸ˜€

  58. Awesome bike! I’ve recently re-discovered the joys of biking- sooo much fun!

    That bread also looks super-yummy!

  59. Sugo di Carne looks gorgeous! I’d love to do that.. Mmm.. checking out the recipe now!

    Hubby and I are thinking of getting a bike early this year but we both forgot about it hahaha.. Maybe we will one of these days!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofwoman.wordpress.com

  60. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am getting bikes with my boyfriend for our birthdays! And I need to try that bread soon.. Ill have to find some honey

  61. Love your new bike and the food looks so yummy!

  62. That bacon and shrimp risotto looks amazing! (The rest of the food does too.)

  63. Pingback: Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego? |

  64. Pingback: Finally in town!! |

Leave a Reply

