Now that’s a ridiculous hat…

Thanks for all your sweet comments on my last post. It’s always sad to see my hair go and I definitely have days that I miss it, but in the end I know it is blessing someone else’s life AND I know my hair will always grow back. πŸ™‚ Sometimes when I feel a little sad about my hair I always feel so silly that I have emotions attached to my hair, but it ALWAYS reminds me of the scene from Little Women when Jo is crying/laughing over cutting her hair (watch 1:40-2:05)

Moving on from hair…

As I mentioned the other day, we had a VERY eventful weekend. We were juggling parties, friends, showers, family being in town and outdoor house projects… but it was great. We enjoyed it. πŸ™‚ One fun thing we did was celebrate Tony‘s fiancee’s 21st birthday! Hooray Abigail!! We ate delicious food and wondered around town and had a GREAT night!

The ladies! Melissa, me and Abigail (I’m cute underneath the marshmallow coat… it was just so cold!). Ps. I still had long hair here! This was my hair’s last night out. Okay okay, really now I’m done talking about hair. Haha!

See! Told ya I was cute underneath! This shot was earlier in the evening before it got quite so brisk. πŸ˜‰

Like every time we go downtown, we had to stop in at A Schwab’s on Beale! They have some of the most random items! Here pirate Melissa models the massive flyswatter!

Note to self: Don’t visit Tony and Abigail’s house after dark… πŸ˜‰

Sweets, you got a lil somethin’ on your head…

When pigs fly…

Christopher’s bear/wolf hat is attacking my poor little piggie hat! (Note the shock on my face!)

I have no idea what’s happening here…

We ended the night with a trip to Yogurt Mountain. As always Tony made a mess. And as always Tony decided to use his finger to wipe up said mess and then LICKED it! Euuuuw! Such a boy…

But that boy sure is lucky to have a girl like Abigail in his life! πŸ™‚ Happy 21st to the future Mrs. Tony! πŸ™‚

This is us from the princess party last summer. She’s wearing my wedding dress just for kicks and giggles. Little did we know that she would soon be engaged and planning a wedding! Ps. I miss my tan… summer come quickly!

Anyone else ready for summer?
Opinions on which hat was most ridiculous?
Anyone try on a wedding dress before you were engaged?

63 responses to “Now that’s a ridiculous hat…

  1. Hahaha..too cute. I’m pretty partial to the pig hat πŸ˜‰

    My friend and I found turkey hats in Target last Fall and ended up buying them! Check ’em out: http://shannalikebanana.wordpress.com/2010/09/27/weekend-in-reverse-starting-with-deep-dish/

  2. I’m jealous that you tan at all. I don’t. I can rock the fake tan though. I wear a marshmallow coat, too! And I love Little Women. Winona’s best work, hehe.

  3. Aww Little Women is so good!! And you cutting your hair TOTALLY reminded me of it!! You and Jo are both amazingly selfless πŸ™‚

    Haha I WANT that hat and flyswatter!! Brilliant!! πŸ˜€

  4. I miss my tan too! I am SO ready for summer to be here…

    Love your pig hat! haha looks like you guys had a great weekend!

  5. The pig hat is hilarious πŸ™‚ It looks like your on holiday where you live. I heart Little Women!

  6. I did not try on a wedding dress before I was engaged, but my mom tried really hard to get me to when we were shopping with my older sister! I like the pig hat best! πŸ™‚

  7. you look AWESOME in that blue color! oh, and the pig hat πŸ™‚

    hehehe.

    xo.

  8. I can’t wait for summer! I think it’s fine to try on dresses for fun, but seriously shopping is another thing:)

  9. It is just hair, but it’s a physical loss all the same. And as women, hair is a huge part of our idenity.

    I just bought pink bunny ears for Easter. πŸ™‚

  10. love the new haircut, so fresh and fun for summer! oh and p.s. took the typing test πŸ™‚ – scored 71wpm, not too shabby haha

  11. I’m ready for SUMMER!! πŸ˜€

    Haha, love the hats! πŸ˜€ My favorite one is the piggy! πŸ˜€

  12. Yall are rockin those hats! πŸ˜‰ I lov little stores like that, they’re so much fun to go through.

  13. I’m so ready for summer! I need to start wearing my dresses! I love Little Women, by the way! Such a great book and movie!

  14. haaha umm I am in love with that pig hat.

    I am most certainly ready for summer, or spring at least!!!! I hate how there is still snow here ! boo!

  15. Your pictures of the random store stuff made me giggle.

    Little Women is a great movie and an even better book. Thanks for sharing the clip!

  16. I would so want to do the whole trying on dresses early thing, but I feel like I’d jinx myself. lol

  17. I love your new hair Rach!!! And you guys are all so adorbs hehe. I think the pig one is the funniest. lol and your expression is priceless.

  18. I cannot wait for summer to get here and your pig hat is priceless!

  19. Haha, I love that part of Little Women! Every time I get my hair cut, I have to re-enact it just to freak people out πŸ™‚

  20. I’m definitely reader for the summer! And all those hats are hilarious. πŸ™‚

  21. That piggy hat is the best!

  22. I’m a big fan of the pirate hat. It’s quite flattering!
    I’m soooo ready for summer. I just need to get away from all the stress of school!

  23. hahah I love the piggy hat!

    I’m soo ready for summer. I’m going to start counting down the days soon! πŸ˜‰

  24. Rach, you are adorable with any hair. I admire your selflessness and your blog is cool! It was so nice that you stopped by my blog to say hi today :). Thank you!

  25. Hahhaa… love the hats! =D Love the piggie hat. =p

    I tried on my sister’s gown and ended up actually wearing it on my wedding day! =D I didnt not use the one I had ordered because I didn’t like it =p

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  26. i love that, it makes for great fun! Which it looks like you had. Love your smile.

  27. You are so stinkin cute.!!!. Love that white puffy jacket.

    Thank you Rach for always leaving such sweet comments. big Hugs Anne

  28. Looks like you had a great time with your friends over the weekend. πŸ˜€

  29. hahaha LOVEEE THESE PICS!
    girl your hair looks beautiful-youd look awesome with ANY hair!
    youre so adorable!

  30. I watched Little Women just yesterday! I love that scene.

  31. How had I forgotten about Little Women?! One of my all-time favorite movies! I’m adding it to my Netflix cue NOW!

    Love that piggie hat. πŸ™‚

  32. You know, I always thought Amy telling Jo that her hair had been her “one beauty” was an awful thing to say. πŸ™‚

  33. I love all of your pics. It looks like you were all having a great time. The piggy hat is definitely my fave and a fashion must have! πŸ™‚

  34. How did you make your cute little signature at the bottom of your posts?

  35. I’m lovin all of your pictures! You seem like you really enjoy EVERY moment πŸ™‚
    Awesome!
    I love your wedding dress πŸ˜‰

  36. I am SO ready for summer!! I cannot wait!

    I didn’t try on a wedding dress before I was engaged, but I was so ready to get married, that I went and bought my wedding dress the very next day after my husband proposed, I didn’t waste any time LOL.

  37. I love that pig hat! And your hair. It looks great!

    About wedding dresses, strangely enough my best friend from elementary school’s mother gave me her wedding dress to play dress up in. I still have it around somewhere!

  38. i think the pig hat is my fav πŸ™‚

  39. The pig hat takes the cake! Love it!

  40. I’m SO ready for summer! I’m setting out on Mission: Get Tan for Wedding as SOON as the weather permits. Today, I’m wearing flips flops. It’s getting close. I can feel it πŸ™‚

  41. I’m a huge fan of that piggie hat! And, I loved loved Little Women. I remember watching it over and over again! Oh Jo!

  42. i hope you bought the pig hat πŸ™‚ actually i should for the 2 year old i nanny for she is obsessed with them!

  43. Hilarious, and looks like ya’ll had a great time!

    Just got your response to the cloth wipe post. Here is my post on types of cloth diapers.
    http://www.hageration.com/2010/09/our-latest-adventure.html

    We paid $249 (plus tax) for 12 diapers and it’s worked. I do laundry every day but it works. We will probably pick up 6 more when the next kid comes along which would be an additional $124. So for FB brand it’s about 375 for a set of 18, for two or more kids in diapers because hopefully by the time numer 3 comes along Archer will be out of diapers. We may end up with more but to me the cost and environmental impact is worth it. Some people argue that you use more water washing diapers so it’s not such an environmental benefit but from ALL the research I’ve seen it still is.

    You can also buy diapers used which is cheaper but then you just have to deal if the liners peel or whatever. I really think could be prevented by not drying the diapers at all but in Seattle if you don’t dry them for at least a few minutes they wont ever dry. I have friends who love their bum genius and thirsties (covers with traditional cloth prefolds). Okay wow this is a ton of info for a comment. If you’d like more info email me!

    • Thanks for all the info! I did some research and was shocked to find that disposable diapers for one kiddo can easily reach over $2k… crazy! When we get closer to having these conversations for real, I’ll start asking you some serious questions. Thanks for your help! πŸ™‚

  44. Kath (My Funny Little Life)

    I love 19th century English literature. Thank you for posting the vid, I didn’t know that one!

  45. OBVIOUSLY I had some major blog catching up to do. I’ve been a busy, busy bee!

    but RACH, I looooove, love your hair!! I think it look fantastic. and for such an awesome cause. I’m prouda you!

  46. So, not gonna lie..I really love the pig hat πŸ˜‰ I think it’s my pig obsession!
    And looks like so much fun- Happy Birthday to Abigail! 21 is awesome!

  47. pawsitivelife

    Pig hat is where its at. BTW I noticed that you are a pitbull fan, and this past weekend I fell in love with one as well. unfortunetly they are banned where I live so our love must be concealed.

  48. ahah I love the hats! You guys are awesome. πŸ™‚

    Megan

  49. Little Women, I knew I liked you.
    It’s only like one of my favorite books and movies of all time.

  50. runyogarepeat

    So fun! I love the piggie hat. I am so ready for summer! It’s getting nicer here, but it still gets cold. I feel like I’m the only one bundled up, while others are in shorts (it’s only 50s).

  51. I have yet to ever try on a wedding dress! I have a feeling if I did I would be cursed lol! I am craving summer so so so bad. I just miss sunshine and heat!

  52. lolll girl those hats are super ridiculous, but you make ’em look good!!
    i wish WE had a yogurt mountain!!!

  53. So ready for summer and SO tried on a wedding dress before being engaged πŸ˜€

  54. What fun! My vote is for the pig hat…its AWESOME!

  55. Looks like fun. And you are all adorable.

  56. Looks like fun! I didn’t try on any wedding dresses until I was engaged…and luckily the 3rd dress I tried on was the one! I really dreaded going wedding dress shopping, so glad it was a good experience!

  57. What a fun shop! I know Thomas would have a blast in there trying on all the hats πŸ™‚ I personally like the fluffy bull-like one! Also, love that everyone else was in jackets & you had a marshmallow coat on – that would so be me in the crowd! I always get chilly!

  58. Pingback: An Artsy Date Night |

  59. Pingback: Walkin’ with My Feet Ten Feet Off of Beale |

Leave a Reply

