The 6th Night (plus new recipes!)

I know you guys have heard a million times that Topher and I are bestest buds. We are just so used to always being together. When we began looking for jobs and considering careers after college there were some sacrifices that we both made because we didn’t want to deal with traveling or nights apart. We specifically chose jobs that give us lots of flexibility and never require overtime. Okay I take that back, Christopher has worked all the way until 5:30 (instead of 5) like twice this past year… 😉

Look at those gorgeous long eyelashes… love ’em!

I say all of that to say… since we got married in August of 2008, we have spent 5 nights apart. That’s it. 1 was for a men’s retreat soon after we first got married. 2 nights were for a teen girls’ retreat that I attended this past fall and 2 were for the teen boys’ retreat that Christopher attended this past December. And tonight… once again, ’cause we love these teens so much – we have the Spring retreat. My girls are coming to our house and Christopher’s guys are going to his co-leader’s house. So tonight will mark our 6th night apart. 😦 On the bright side, I’ll have Oreo so I don’t have to be weirded out by creepy noises or anything. Plus, I’ll have a bunch of giggling teen girls to entertain me. 🙂 So it’ll be a good night anyway. But I’ll miss this guy:

My goofball 😀

Okies, so you guys know that it’s Friday and that means new recipes on this girl’s blog! 🙂 Last week I made a comment about how I was going to make my 94 calorie muffins again and this time blow you away by how great they taste at 86 calories. But my goodness, once I get a challenge going… well, let’s just say I made a lot of muffins this week trying to get the least number of calories. I actually got a recipe that was down to 43 calories and one that was down to 50 calories. The 50 calorie ones were okay (not bad by any means), BUT… when you are having a muffin, you don’t want it to be “okay”… you want it to be YUM! So I tweaked a bit more and finally came up with… 58 calorie muffins. And yes, they are delicious! 🙂 [though they are very moist so if you are a drier-muffin-type-of-person these may not be for you]

58 Calorie Muffins

Ingredients:

1 cup Splenda (0)
1/4 cup Mrs. Buttersworth Syrup (20)
1/4 cup Crock Light Butter (200)
1/4 cup egg beaters (30)
1 cup no-sugar-added applesauce (50)
1/2 cup all purpose flour (220)
1/4 cup oat flour (75)
1/4 cup whole wheat flour (100)
1 tsp baking soda (0)
1/2 tsp salt (0)
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (6)

701 total calories
58 calories/muffin

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 12 muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray (I use Crisco). In large bowl mix together Splenda and syrup until combined. Add butter, egg beaters, and applesauce then blend until well mixed.

2. In separate bowl combine flours, soda, salt and pumpkin pie spice.

3. Add dry ingredients to wet and mix until just combined. Divide into 12 muffin cups then bake for 20 minutes or until lightly browned and done in center. Remove from pan and cool on wire rack.

Speaking of muffins, I saw these lemon poppyseed muffins on Colleen‘s blog. She found them on Sarah‘s blog who adapted it from Lynne who adapted it from Tammy… as you can see, this recipe has been around. 😉 There’s a reason… they are delicious!


Lemon Poppyseed Muffins

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup all purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tbsp poppy seeds
1 egg
1/2 cup and 2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp lemon zest (2 large lemons)
1/4 cup melted butter
1 1/4 cup low fat buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

1. Zest the lemons over a small bowl of sugar. Rub the sugar and zest together until the sugar is slightly moist and fragrant.

2. Add egg, melted butter, buttermilk and vanilla. Mix well. In a separate bowl, whisk together flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add liquid ingredients to the dry slowly and stir just until moistened. Be careful not to over-stir. Fold in poppy seeds.

3. Spray muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray. Divide muffin batter evenly into 12 muffin cups or 36 mini muffin cups. Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.

This should come as no surprise to you, but we are somewhat of spaghetti addicts in this household. 😉 This week I started thinking about sneaky ways to add delicious veggies to our spaghetti sauce without anyone knowing. So I did. And it was yummy! I’m not sure if it will work with picky eaters, but it sure worked for us. YUM! 🙂


Veggie S’ghetti

Ingredients:

1lb ground Italian turkey sausage
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 onion, pureed
1 bell pepper, pureed
1 handful spinach, pureed
1/2 cup carrot, pureed
2 cans tomato sauce
2 cans stewed tomatoes
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp basil
1 bay leaf

Directions:

1.Cook ground Italian turkey sausage in skillet over medium high heat, breaking up with spoon until browned.

2. Add cooked turkey, garlic, onion, bell pepper, spinach, carrot, tomato sauce, stewed tomatoes, oregano, basil and bay leaf to Crock Pot. Let cook on low for 8 hours. Serve over hot pasta or steamed veggies.

And finally, since it’s all warm and toasty out this second half of the week… we fired up the grill last night and had our fabulous turkey burgers. Love these!

Turkey Burgers and  sweet potato fries and homemade rolls.

Turkey Burgers

Ingredients:

1 pound lean ground turkey
1 egg
½ – 1 cups Panko bread crumbs
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tbsp dried parsley
1 tbsp dried minced onion
1/2 tsp seasoned salt
1/8 tsp ground black pepper
10 shakes Worcestershire sauce
splash of light soy sauce

Optional Ingredients:

hamburger buns/bread
bacon
sauteed onions (especially in the bacon drippings!)
tomatoes
cheese
lettuce/spinach
mayo
mustard
ketchup
heinz 57 sauce

Directions:

1. Mix turkey, egg, Panko bread crumbs, garlic powder, parsley, onion, seasoned salt, black pepper, Worcestershire sauce, and soy sauce. Form into 4 patties and put a light coating of flour on each patty just before you cook them ensuring that you shake off the excess flour. [The flour helps form a light, crusty exterior and holds the patty and makes it easier to flip]. Toss them on the grill (or skillet) until done.

2. Build your burger using as many or as few of the optional ingredients!

Spicy Sweet Potato Fries

Ingredients:

2 large sweet potatoes, unpeeled
1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 tbsp fresh rosemary sprigs, chopped

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 450. Cut the potatoes into 1/2″ strips. Toss with olive oil, garlic and salt.

2. Place potatoes in a single layer on a large nonstick cooking sheet. Sprinkle with rosemary. Don’t let the edges of the strips tough each other.

3. Bake for about 30 minutes, turning the potatoes once, until they’re browned and can easily be pierced with a fork.

Recipe from http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Spicy-Baked-Sweet-Potato-Fries/Detail.aspx

Have a happy Friday!

29 responses to “The 6th Night (plus new recipes!)

  1. Aw so cute you make sure you spend time together and I’m sure that’s what makes you so happy! Have fun on your retreats, I look forward to hearing about it. Food looks yum as usual, can I come to dinner pleasse? 😉

  2. I love adding veggies to my spaghetti too 🙂 Love the muffins!! I hope you really are extending that dinner invite 😉

  3. I always add veggies to my spaghetti too. And your muffin recipes sound delicious. Especially the poppy seed, that’s definitely my all time favorite type of muffin. 🙂

  4. So sweet you’ve barely been apart!!! You’ll make it through the night and it’ll be sooooo nice the next night. 🙂 I have to try those 58 calorie muffins!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  5. awhh…try to have fun! you’ll be back in the arms of your man before you know it 😉 those new recipes look fun!

    xo.

  6. Only 58 calories! I have to make these when Lent is over! Your meals always look delicious!

    My husband & I are rarely apart! We enjoy each others company so much. Well, most the time! haha

  7. 58 calorie muffins? Yay, I can have three at a time!

  8. It’s precious you’ve only spent 5 nights away from each other!! You two are so cute. :):) I’m sure he’ll miss you just as much as you’ll miss him! but like you said, you’ll have a lot of giggly girls to keep you company. 😛

  9. LOVE sweet potato fries!!!

  10. It’s great you and your hubby have a lot of time to spend with each other:)

  11. awww how cute!! mark each apart-day!! 🙂 And yes I agree–muffins should be YUMM

  12. runyogarepeat

    Aw, you guys are so cute! Having teen girls over will be fun though, and you can giggle about boys.

  13. i love when you post your recipes!! especially 50 calorie muffins 🙂

  14. Nights away from the hubs are never easy. Although you’d think I’d be used to it by now, but I don’t think you ever are.
    You eats this week looked great!

  15. Hope you guys have a great weekend with the teens! I’m sure your reunion will be sweet.

    How great that Christopher could find a job where he never works OT!

  16. moveovercelery

    How crazy that you’ve only been apart for five days. And how adorable that you counted them! 🙂

    Also, 58 calorie muffins? Heaven!

  17. love your husband story! I can’t believe you’ve only spent 5 days apart…
    My boyfriend is my best friend and I can’t wait until we’re married 🙂 Someday…hahaha
    I still need to make your low-cal muffins! I’m all over it!

  18. I love reading about you and your husband. You guys are too cute! I’m also loving all of the muffin recipes. Best baked good ever.

  19. Oh wow, those muffins must be made asap, they look amazing, and you can’t beat 58 calories, I mean really!!

    My husband has long lashes too, and I always tease him an call him snufalufagus, he hates it, hahaha.

  20. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

    Doesn’t it suck to spend a night away from the one you love? My husband is military, so we’ve spent MANY a night apart, and it never gets any easier.

    I’m really intrigued by the 58 calorie muffins! They look delicious… and sound so healthy! I will definitely be trying them out. Plus, I love muffins that are a little moist. 🙂

  21. I LOVE muffins! I’m so intrigued by the 58 calorie ones 🙂

  22. I love muffins that get around 🙂 I also have barely spent time away from my husband…probably the same amount as you. I can’t really relate to people that travel all the time..I wouldn’t like that!

  23. You and your husband are adorable 🙂
    Hope you don’t miss him too much ;)!!!!

  24. UMMMM 58 calories for one muffin! I’m game 🙂

  25. Yummy recipes as always! I’m checking out the spaghetti recipe now! =D

    Since Hubby and I got married, we’ve never spent a night apart and I wish we won’t have to! =p

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

