Thoroughly Spoiled

I have a zit.* And I need to pluck my eyebrows. And after chasing Little Girl around all day and changing some nasty diapers, I could use a shower too.

*I’m the girl who has had perfect skin her entire life until just this last year and now suddenly I find the occasional zit. I know, I know, I shouldn’t complain and etc, but I’m still adjusting to the fact thatΒ occasionally a zit is going to pop up with no warning. Wasn’t I supposed to be prepared for this in my teen years? No wonder people think I’m 14, haha!Β 

Anyway, I tell you this to point out that I don’t necessarily feel that I’m drop dead gorgeous today. And as I was getting ready to take Little Girl home to her parents, a new status popped up on my Facebook newsfeed. Here’s what it said:

Totally caught me off guard… but in a great way. Not our anniversary or my birthday… just ’cause. Yeah, I’m thoroughly spoiled to be married to this man. πŸ˜€ I may not feel like hot stuff today, but my husband says I’m awesome and he’s one really clever guy so I’m not gonna argue. πŸ˜‰

Speaking of thoroughly spoiled… I’m not the only one…

I saw this recipe on Heather’s blog and just knew I had to make it for Oreo. I changed a few things, but you can see that in my recipe (link below photo).

Doggie Biscuits

Ingredients:

1 tbsp yeast
1 3/4 cup chicken or beef broth
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup oat flour (or ground oats)
1/4 cup skim dry milk powder
1 egg

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Dissolve yeast in warm chicken/beef broth. Let set 10 minutes. Combine dry ingredients and mix. Add yeast mixture and stir. Add extra flour if needed until you get biscuit-like texture.

2. Roll dough into 1/4β€³ to 1/2β€³ depending on desired thickness. Cut biscuits from dough and place on nonstick cookie sheet (or spray with nonstick cooking spray).Β Brush biscuits with egg wash and bake for 45 minutes. Turn off the oven and leave biscuits in oven overnight until they harden. Makes 30 biscuits.

Tony says they’re pretty tasteless (yeah, he ate one), but Oreo loves ’em. But c’mon, is anyone surprised by that? I mean, we are all already aware of how much Oreo loves carbs… haha!

So for those of you with doggies at home who deserve a special treat, be sure to try out this recipe. It’s super simple and Oreo approved! πŸ˜‰

68 responses to “Thoroughly Spoiled

  1. so glad he liked them! the video is so cute πŸ™‚ he can come over and snuggle anytime!

  2. Girl– I am the exact same way, I am 22 and this part year was the first time I have had a few zits, it makes me nervous. Everyone tells me not too complain, but i am just not used to it!

    Aww, you are the luckiest girl πŸ™‚ I am so happy you posted this tonight because I was trying to make a decision and this is just what I needed to read, haha so thankyou

  3. I always had good skin too….until I got older. It’s hormones I tell ya. πŸ™‚ My sweet teen loaned me her Proactive and I no longer fear the monster zit. In fact, that stuff is miracle in a bottle. It’s my luxury skin item.

    You are so kind to bake for your Oreo. πŸ™‚ I need to be a better dog mommy.

    Love his Facebook update. Awww!

  4. Those doggy biscuits are adorable!!

  5. I need to make these cookies for my pup. She would LOVE them. And… aren’t husbands wonderful?? πŸ™‚

    P.S. Thanks for the reminder that I need to update my blog! I am a terrible, horrible, no good blogger lately!!! I am working on a few posts, though, so I’ll be back in the swing of things very soon. πŸ™‚

  6. How cute is Oreo!? I know my dogs would love these! πŸ™‚

  7. I was totally the same way… I started to break out in my early 20’s, as apposed to my teen years. What’s with that, right?? Ha, ha. I’m just now starting to get over it. πŸ™‚

  8. So sweet! And Oreo seemed very happy with his special treat.

    Also, I totally had acne in high school and early college. After some treatments it completely went away. But with this pregnancy, my face as gone crazy. It’s calmed down in the last week, but for over a month I was getting zits like mad. And was completely not prepared for it. Even though I’d lived through it once. Not sure we ever get use to it. πŸ˜‰

  9. you and your husband are just too cute for words! i love it!

  10. Now if you want to know something really weird…my dad had practically perfect skin until he was in his 40s! LOL.

    Chris is so sweet! It’s wonderful to have a hubby who makes you feel special, isn’t it?:)

    Oreo is adorable and so good! I’m very impressed!

  11. Be grateful it’s only the occasional zit! My skin has been awful for months now 😦 Stupid stress of phd and full time work transitions!

  12. I’ve been having a couple random ones poppin’ up too! I think it might be stress!

  13. You have *a* zit?? Oh girl, you got it easy! I’d love it if I only had *a* zit! You are gorgeous, and you’re husband’s the lucky one! πŸ˜€ But he’s quite amazing to say that about you too, just for random. Great post, Rach!

    -Tia

  14. It’s so funny you brought up zits today. I woke up with one smack in the center of my nose! And like you, I NEVER have skin problems! Clearly something’s in the air! Haha

    I love the Oreo video…pretty adorable. My dog lives across the country with my mom, but when I’m home this summer, maybe I’ll try making her homemade biscuits!

  15. Firstly, you are SO beautiful, and NEVER forget that!! πŸ™‚

    Secondly, that is SO CUTE!! I love you two- you are so sweet!!

    Thirdly, I am definitely making those for buddy!! He’d love them, and if they’re Oreo Approved, then they must be good! πŸ˜€

  16. Aw I love that you weren’t feeling your best but you got a cute message from your hubbie – he’s a good one for sure! I hate those annoying spots, always in a place where everyone can see. But I’m sure you still look lovely!

  17. My skin has been a MESS recently.

  18. Oreo is too cute! I love the dog biscuits you made him!

    Also, love the facebook update, you and your husband are adorable!

  19. Possibly the greatest opening line of a blog post ever! Hilarious.

  20. awhh πŸ™‚ your hubby is a keeper for sure!
    God is good and blesses good women with good men πŸ˜‰

    xo.

  21. Your husband is so sweet. I love reading little romantic stories like that.

  22. Your dog and hubby are both adorable, lucky girl πŸ™‚

  23. I have a doggie biscuit cookbook that my sister gave me for Christmas a few years ago…with adorable cookie cutters! This reminds me that I need to get in the kitchen and bake some.

  24. Oreo is cute as always! I’d definitely make those treats if we had a dog!

    I’ve dealt with on and off acne for about 5-6 years now. Some weeks my skin is awesome and then a week will come where, well it’s just not….

    This may sound weird, but I’ve been washing my face with olive oil…. I’ve done lots of research and some people swear by it! I plan on doing a post about it soon!

  25. Honey I am covered in zits lately..I have no idea what’s going on with my skin, but at 31 I am so OVER it!

    My dog would love those biscuits btw πŸ˜‰

  26. you have a recipe for dog treats! you are now officially my fav! my pups will go nuts over these!

  27. JDaniel4's Mom

    Dino-mite biscuits! Will you make bunnies too?

  28. Boo hiss on acne. I dealt with it through my teens and early 20s then started using treatment and it cleared up, even thorough most of pregnancy. However, the other day BOOM it’s back and still as surprising and inconvenient as ever. Good thing you have someone to remind you that you’re beautiful no matter what!

  29. Ugh, pimples.
    I love when you blog about Oreo πŸ™‚ He just reminds me of an oreo and I love hearing about his carb love!
    Your husband sounds like a real keeper πŸ˜‰ !!!

  30. How sweet of your husband to tell the world that he thinks you are awesome! I would say that makes him pretty awesome himself!! Those dog treats look great!

  31. I made peanut butter banana doggie cookies for Nautica. they were even bone shaped! she turned up her nose at them and proceeded to eat dirt. I was kinda hurt. I will trade you dogs..

  32. those doggy biscuits are sooo cute!! I miss having a dog πŸ™‚

  33. I’m totally making those treats for my doggy!

  34. Aww.. that’s really sweet of Christopher to say that =) And you are totally spoiling Oreo! Haha

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  35. Aw, what a sweet husband!!

    I have been thinking of making some home made treats for my puppy, I may have to give this a try! πŸ™‚

  36. I love making dog treats! It is great when you know exactly what your pup is eating πŸ™‚

  37. Oreo is so precious! πŸ™‚

    I made some really delicious and easy dog treats back over the summer… actually I make them almost every time I’m at home. i should post the recipe one of these days πŸ™‚ it’s literally just peanut butter milk flour and baking powder. πŸ™‚

    love ya
    ❀
    n

  38. Can’t wait to hear about your Easter plans!

  39. Cute dino doggie biscuits!! πŸ™‚
    Your man sure loves you and knows how to make you feel appreciated, that’s so lovely! You’re lucky to have each other πŸ™‚

  40. I love this.. you guys are so cute. and those dog biscuits look good enough for me to eat.LOL

  41. Aw, Christopher is seriously the sweetest guy ever! I love that he did that, just because πŸ™‚

    And girl, you are simply gorgeous… baby zit and all! I’ve been there, too…

    And i need to check out this recipe!!! Pretty sure Happy would just about die and go to doggie heaven with homemade treats like those!

  42. Aww looking at Oreo is making me want to run out and get a dog πŸ™‚ And your hubs is the sweetest thing ever. You are gorgeous girl zit or not πŸ˜‰

  43. I HAVE to try this out for my Cooper! Oreo is a doll!

  44. Saw you on the SITS website!! Can’t wait to try these for my bf’s dog!!

  45. So cute!!! Love the doggie longing looking up for his treat!

  46. I love all of Oreo’s pictures! I read this at the perfect time – I got a zit this morning, and I freaked out because I never got them in my teen years!

  47. I’m catching up.. but LOVE this and love adorable Oreo! He’s so well mannered. πŸ™‚

  48. Love that sweet fb status. Ain’t love grand? πŸ˜‰

  49. Pingback: You probably think we are crazy, but… |

Leave a Reply

