Recipe Day

It’s recipe day! HOORAY!

So Bianca was sweet enough to pass on a sugar free Red Velvet Cupcake recipe on to me that she found over at Mommy D’s Kitchen. I tried them out this week, but didn’t have enough red food coloring so they look kinda pink, haha! They were good, but I think I’ll experiment a couple more times. 🙂

Wanna know what else we had this week? An old favorite that we used to make all the time while living in China. Chicken stir fry. Loooove it!


Chicken Stir Fry

Ingredients:

1 Green Bell Pepper
1 Red Bell Pepper
1 orange or yellow Bell pepper
1 large Vidalia onion
1 large carrot, peeled
1 head broccoli
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast
paprika
granulated chicken bullion
seasoned salt
2 tbsp olive oil, divided

Directions:

1. Start two cups rice so it will be done by the time you finish everything else.

2. Julienne bell peppers, onion, and carrot. Cut stalks off broccoli.

3. Dice chicken into small ½” pieces and sprinkle paprika, chicken bullion and seasoned salt on top of chicken.

4. Pour 1 tbsp olive oil into wok and add broccoli. Let cook on low heat until broccoli is tender. Add carrots and sauté 3 minutes. Add bell peppers and sauté 3 minutes. Add onions and sauté until tender. Pour veggies into serving bowl and cover to keep warm.

5. Pour 1 tbsp olive oil into wok and add chicken. Cook until browned.

Recipe by my mom, Pam M.

We had breakfast for dinner again this week. Eggs, bacon, homemade bread, and biscuits with sausage gravy. Good stuff for sure…


Sausage Gravy

Ingredients:

1 lb turkey sausage
1/4 cup all purpose flour
2 cups milk
salt and black pepper to taste

Directions:

Brown sausage in saucepan, breaking up until well done. Using slotted spoon remove sausage, leaving behind the grease. Add flour and whisk together. Gradually stir in milk. Continue to whisk until you get a gravy-like consistency. Season with salt and pepper and add sausage back to gravy. Serve over biscuits and enjoy!

Also had some tasty enchiladas with red sauce this week. Shockingly, the boys didn’t notice the lack of meat. Normally they comment on meatless meals, but I snuck this one past them! 🙂


Enchiladas with Red Sauce

Ingredients:

2 (8oz) cans tomato sauce
1 (4oz) can chopped green chilies, undrained
2 tbsp dried minced onion
2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp dried oregano
1 clove garlic, minced

8 flour tortillas
1 small onion, diced
1 can fat free refried beans
1/2 cup fat free cheese (or soy cheese in my case)
1 small jar taco sauce
taco seasoning

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a small baking dish with nonstick spray and set aside.

2. Combine first 7 ingredients and puree together. Then place in a saucepan. Heat over medium heat until heated through, about 5 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, in pan sprayed with nonstick spray, cook onion over medium heat until it begins to brown, about 2 minutes. In a small dish, combine onion with refried beans, taco sauce, and taco seasoning until mixed well.

4. Heat tortillas in the microwave until slightly warm. Lay tortillas flat and spread about 2 tbsp enchilada sauce on each one. Sprinkle cheese in the center of each tortilla. Evenly distribute bean mixture in the center of each tortilla. Wrap tortillas up tightly and place them in the baking dish, seam sides down. Pour the rest of the enchilada sauce over the enchiladas.

5. Bake in oven for about 10 minutes, until enchiladas are hot. Remove dish from the oven and sprinkle shredded cheese over enchiladas. Return to the oven and bake for about 5 minutes, until cheese has melted. Top with sour cream and scallions if desired.

Enchilada sauce inspired by Lynn’s Kitchen.

So tell me about your Easter plans for this weekend!

17 responses to “Recipe Day

  1. I have a serious weakness for red velvet! That’s awesome that you’ve got a sugar-free recipe because everyone needs red velvet in their life!

    Easter is going to consist of a fancy brunch buffet at this hotel near my home with my family. I obsessed with brunch food – and super excited because they have a chocolate fountain! Until Sunday, I’ll just dream about swimming in it! 🙂

  2. mmmm everything looks deeeeelicious – hope you have a glorious Resurrection Sunday Celebration this weekend!

  3. Veggie stiry fry is the bomb:) Sometimes I use thai sauce with it too make it spicy 🙂

    My family and I are going to brunch on Sunday for Easter Sunday at a really nice restaurant, I am super excited because I have never been there before. It is buffet style so I will be sure to stock up my plate with some goodies!

  4. I am going to try that Red Velvet cupcake recipe this weekend, they are such a pretty color and perfect for Easter. I think i’ll keep them a bit pink 🙂
    Tomorrow I am going to my dad’s house to spend time with him and my stepmom’s family. I am psyched and ready to get away from school for a bit to visit with my loving family

  5. stir frys are so perfect for nights i don’t feel like getting creative! you can pretty much throw anything in the pan and cookit up (veggie and protein wise) and it will be yummy!

    xo.

  6. All that looks amazing but the enchiladas look to die for!!!!

  7. I love your recipe days!! I am actually DROOLING over those enchiladas- YUM! 😀

  8. Your breakfast for dinner looks so good! I just loooove biscuits and gravy..and just gravy in general. I could dip anything in it! Even grapes… 🙂

  9. Wait… you lived in China?! WOAH!!! How cool 🙂
    ALL of your recipes sound/look SOO good! I am going to check out all of em!
    Happy Earth Day and have a great weekend Rach

  10. That chicken stir fry looks yum-o!

  11. That is one breakfast I’d love to have for dinner!!!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhatsfordinner.com

  12. I love a good stir fry for dinner! They are so simple to put together and so fast too!

    I’ll be busy cooking away in my kitchen! Wish me luck! 🙂

    Happy Easter hun! xoxo

  13. Pingback: The day we bought a piece of Earth… « This Italian Family

  14. I’m making brunch on Sunday and I’m super excited!!!

    Your stir-fry looks delicious, thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

  15. Yum. That stirfry looks amazing!

  16. I’m going to spend time with my family!! 😀 Your food looks delicious! I know your family will love it! 😀

  17. Pingback: A Little Cajun Inspiration for your Mardi Gras |

Leave a Reply

