Goin’ to the Chapel…

My cousin is getting married tomorrow. He’s my closest cousin in age (six months younger than me) and my closest growing up. We put on plays for the family, bossed around our younger siblings, and were quite convinced that we would marry each other someday when we grew up. We were rather shocked at age 5 when we found out that we couldn’t marry each other. But we got over it and moved on. πŸ˜‰

Nick and I when we were little bitties πŸ™‚

Nick and his gorgeous fiancee, Kelsey. She’s stunning, sweet, generous, funny and intelligent. They’re such a fabulous match and I’m so excited for them!

Aren’t they adorable? I know their wedding will be gorgeous! I’ll take lots of pictures so you guys can feel like you were there too! πŸ™‚

And now it’s time to talk food!Β It has been so nice out lately that we decided last night was the perfect night for some summer grillin’! I did my research and decided I wanted to try a recipe from Β The KitchnΒ using some tips fromΒ The Athlete’s Plate. It was a serious success. These will most definitely be our go-to burgers from now on!

Bacon Cheeseburger

Ingredients:

6 slices turkey bacon
1 tsp bacon grease
2 lbs 80/20 ground chuck
1/2 small onion, finely chopped
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp garlic powder
freshly ground pepper
6 slices of cheddar cheese
6 whole wheat kaiser buns
1/2 small onion, sliced and sauted
1 tomato
1 heart of romaine
ketchup, mustard, mayo

Directions:

1. Fry bacon in skillet until crispy. Save 1 tsp bacon grease.

2. On clean counter or cutting board, form the ground beef into a 2-foot long snakeΒ use your thumb to make a deep trough in the center (see picture). Evenly spread or sprinkle the next five ingredients in the trough. Sprinkle with ground pepper.

3. Pinch the trough closed, then divide your snake into 6 equal portions. Gently pat them into 1 1/2 inch thick patties. Push a little well into the center of the meat, about an inch or two around and a quarter-inch deep (this ensures that the patty stays flat). Put patties in fridge while you wait for grill to heat up.

4. Prepare your grill to a high heat, add the patties, and grill for about 2 minutes on each side. Don’t push down on the patties! Gotta keep those juices inside. Then move them to a less hot part of the grill. Add cheese, close the grill and cook for about another two minutes.

5. Toast kaiser buns on the grill for 30 seconds, top with cheeseburgers, bacon, sauteed onion, tomato, lettuce, ketchup, mustard and mayo. Enjoy!

Tonight we have friends coming over for a movie and pizza night. I love having Friday nights set aside for this… so wonderful. I have a serious pizza addiction. Well, that and spaghetti. I just can’t quite seem to say no to either of those things, haha! Love ’em! πŸ™‚ Have a happy Friday!
56 responses to “Goin’ to the Chapel…

  1. How awesome. So excited for them!1 and yum I am so hungry!! it all looks so fantastic!! Hugs have a great day tomorrow! Anne

  2. How adorable are they? and that picture of you two is just too cute!!! Have fun this weekend πŸ˜‰

  3. Their pictures are adorable! They look like such a sweet, happy couple. Have fun!

  4. I could eat pizza and spaghetti every night! I love me some carbs! πŸ™‚

    That’s so exciting about your cousin getting married! I hope you have a wonderful time and please post some pictures after! I love seeing wedding photos. πŸ™‚

  5. First, love the new blog look! Second, those photos are adorable can’t wait to see wedding. Third, how in the world do you eat that huge yummy bacon cheeseburger?

  6. Because the movie Bambi wasn’t upsetting enough in the first place :-p

  7. I looove the kissy picture. πŸ™‚ have so much fun at the wedding! and omgosh, those taco melts!

  8. I hear ya on the pizza addiction…remember there is no “moderation” in the word pizza..ha

  9. Love those taco melts, what a great idea! One of my best friends is getting married this weekend too, I’m really excited for the festivities to begin! Have a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚

  10. Aawww, they really are adorable!!! And btw–love the new look of your blog! Or at least I think it looks different..lol

  11. Love the pics. Have fun at the wedding!

  12. Aw you two are sooo cute and they make a lovely couple, very photogenic πŸ™‚ ok how much do I want to eat that burger?! Yummy, good job!
    Enjoy pizza and film, a top evening plan in my book πŸ™‚

  13. That’s the cutest picture of babies hugging EVER! And I adore them.. sooo sooo cute! Take lots of pics at the wedding. πŸ™‚

    Now the spaghetti pic right before my lunchtime has given me a tummy cramp. Gotta have sketti! I could eat it every day (actually did when I was pregnant – LOL).

    Enjoy your weekend!

  14. I love the new blog! How did you design the header?
    OH MY GRACIOUS! She is STUNNING! please tell her I said that! I wish i looked like her! Jk i dont cuz God made me beautiful too but shheeesh! Seriously! They look like cute lil hicks! Such an adorable couple! How old are they?

  15. What beautiful wedding pictures. they just belong together.
    I love your new blog design- really nice!!
    I’m working on the pizza and spaghetti thing….kinda scary but definitely have fond memories of them.

  16. ohhh how cute! haha look at you Rach.
    Kelsey isssss gorgeous!! so elegant like she should be in a mag cover πŸ˜€ and pretty new layout, I love it πŸ™‚

  17. ohhh congrats to your cousins and his fiance, such a beautiful couple! πŸ™‚

    all of that food looks amazing! πŸ™‚ mmmmm… πŸ™‚

  18. Aw i love the pic with the bike. Are those their engagement photos?? Def take lots of pictures when you’re there!!

  19. The baby picture of you and Nick is gorgeous! The burgers look pretty good too πŸ™‚
    Hope you have a great movie night!

  20. Congratulations to you cousin, and the taco melt looks amazing!

  21. Awwww that first picture is TOO darn cute! I love both of your little shoes XD
    And I agree…his fiancee is stunning! I can’t wait to see pictures!

  22. Happy Friday! The first picture of you and your cousin looks like it is from a story book or something.. soo adorable and classic! I had a moment like that w/ my brother.. I totally thought I was going to marry him LOL.

    Have fun with the pizza night tonight ❀

  23. Aww I love cute couples, especially newlyweds, they are so bright-eyed and lovey-dovey. Have a blast at the wedding!

  24. how adorable are those pictures, tomorrows my bday so its a great day for them to get married πŸ™‚

  25. Oh my gosh, those pictures of the happy couple are outstanding. And the one of you two as kids? Greeting card quality!!! I love your new blog design, and the cute pic of you.

  26. Your cousin and his fiancΓ© look truly happy! Yay! Have lots of fun at the wedding!

  27. How cute!! Congrats to your cousin, they look so happy together πŸ™‚

  28. The new blog look is LOVELY!! So you- all sunshiney! πŸ˜€

    Those two are such a beautiful couple!! I’m sure they’ll have an amazing life together, and I can’t wait to read all about the wedding- I love weddings! πŸ™‚

  29. I love their pictures, so cute!!!!! Also, love the redesign πŸ™‚ Have fun at the wedding!

  30. So funny that you were going to marry your cousin…..isn’t it great to be a kid and have no rules! I can’t wait to see the pictures from the wedding….who doesn’t love a wedding? Have a great weekend!

  31. Awww I love weddings! Your cousin and his fiance are super cute. I hope you have a blast!!

  32. Your cousin and his fiancee are adorable!! It looks like they would have a great wedding. I can’t wait to see pictures! πŸ™‚

    And that burger is totally drool worthy.

  33. Whee, exciting! All the best for the two! πŸ˜€

    I like your new blog design, it looks so happy! πŸ™‚

  34. Congratulations on your cousin’s wedding! Make sure to post the photos! We’ll be waiting! =D

    You made me hungry with the burger! I told Hubby I’ll make him one haha.. =p (he’s right behind me)

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofwoman.wordpress.com

  35. Those pictures are amazing! I wish we would have done engagement photos. Congrats to the gorgeous couple

  36. I am also a pizza addict. Seriously. I can eat and ENTIRE pizza to myself. And will, so I can’t order it. Haha. My stomach just doesn’t acknowledge it has eaten pizza, so I can go forever.

  37. your family officially rocked in style back when you were a child (and now too of course)

  38. These pictures are so nice, they look very happy πŸ™‚
    I didn’t know about your prize winning chili, must check that out now!
    Have a fabulous time at the wedding!

  39. Congrats to your cousin! They look so happy together πŸ™‚ The spaghetti in chili look interesting, I’m intrigued!

  40. moveovercelery

    Congratulations to your cousin! She’s so beautiful! They’re a very cute couple. πŸ™‚ I hope you and Chris have fun at the wedding!

  41. Love the new blog header! Cute!! Your cousin and his fiance are adorable! I love summer/wedding season:). My best friend’s wedding is next weekend, I’m so excited! Yum, that burger and the taco melts look awesome!

  42. seriously adorable! πŸ™‚ have a blessed time!

  43. Oh my gosh, what a gorgeous couple!!

  44. Oh! OH! That photo of you and Nick is beyond adorable! Seriously cute! I love it!
    Nick grew up to be quite the cutie and his bride is beautiful. I am really looking forward to seeing wedding photos!

  45. Hope the wedding was fun!

  46. Those taco melts look great! I will have to make them when I get back home! I hope the wedding was a blast!

  47. AHHH he and his fiance are SO CUTE. and old timey πŸ™‚

    and even CUTER is that pic of the two of you! Wow his hair! πŸ™‚ I love it!

    There are too many exclamation points in this comment, sorry πŸ˜‰
    ❀
    n

  48. I love their pics! And the one of you two is SO adorable.

  49. Holy moly that cheeseburger looks good!! : ) Ok I’ll stop drooling now. Your cousin and his fiance (well, by now, wife!) are just adorable. How was the wedding?? I was actually at a wedding this weekend too! Tis the season!!!!!

  50. The picture of you and your cousin is so cute! Congrats to your cousin and his finance. Have a good time at the wedding!

  51. Give me the burger and taco melt and no one gets hurt.

  52. One word for that Taco Melt: YUM!

Leave a Reply

