Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego?

You may not be wondering about Carmen, but I’m sure some of you are wondering why my updates have been infrequently lately. Well, here are just a few things going on lately.

1. 3 day weekend away from home

2. Tony closed on his house and moved out. Oreo misses him already.

3. Started a new job (so no more blogging while Little Girl naps in the afternoon). I have SO much to write about this, but today’s update is going to be short and sweet so I’ll save it for another time.

4. Went through our entire house and sorted through things for a yard sale (this was a huge project – we’ve been up laaaate several nights this week doing this).

The yard sale is at a friend’s house so we loaded up the car with as much would fit!

It’s ridiculous how much stuff we had that we never use – this wasn’t our first car load!

5. Christopher has been running a basketball league on Thursdays from 5:30-10:30 at the outreach center we volunteer at. And he’s also playing in it. So being the good wife that I am, I’m there to support him/help out.

6. Finalize plans/prepare for the Princess Party (which is TONIGHT!)

7. Continue working on the fence with every spare daylight moment

8. Working on the first draft of a project (more details on this later)

9. Fix some tasty food:

Recipe for BLTs (yeah, this is an old recipe, but it’s still tasty!)

Sloppy Joes from Skinny Taste (if you guys haven’t checked out her blog yet, you need to!)

Skinny Sloppy Joes

Ingredients:

1 lb ground turkey
1 tbsp seasoned salt
1 cup carrot, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 cups tomato sauce
2 tbsp tomato paste

Directions:

1. Chop all the vegetables really fine, using a chopper or food processor.

2. Heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add the meat to the pan and break it up as it cooks. Season with seasoned salt and cook the meat until it browns, then add onion, garlic, and carrots to the skillet.

3. Reduce heat to medium and add red wine vinegar and Worcestershire sauce, cook 5 more minutes. Add tomato sauce and paste to pan, stir to combine.

4. Cover and reduce heat to simmer and cook an additional 5 minutes. Serve on whole wheat kaiser buns.

Recipe slightly adapted from Skinny Taste

Recipe for Zucchini Casserole (also from Skinny Taste!)

So as you guys can imagine, I’m pretty overwhelmed right now. Just lots and lots going on. But you know what brought a smile to my face this week despite all the stress and busy-ness? When Christopher brought home these:

Love this little bit of sunshine sitting on my kitchen table 🙂

42 responses to “Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego?

  1. Your zucchini casserole looks amazing! 🙂

  2. I love all those recipes and I love Skinny Taste blog!!

    Looks like you guys got a ton of stuff to sell! It’ll be a year soon that we’ve been in our house so we haven’t really accumulated junk. We use pretty much everything!

  3. What a fun way to use up summer zucchini, love that casserole idea! Hope you have a wonderful weekend 🙂

  4. Haha I used to LOVE playing Caren Sandiego!! 😀

    Wow you HAVE been busy!! And awww those flowers are beautiful- so so sweet of your hubs! 🙂

    Have a GREAT Princess Party tonight!! ❤

  5. A busy time, can’t wait to hear about the new job! Enjoy your princess party! and I love the flowers, very summery 🙂

  6. That is so nice of Christopher to bring you flowers! You are busy with GREAT things to be busy with 🙂 I know you can handle it all and I can’t wait to hear all about your new job!

  7. You definitely have been busy! If you find the time, you can come here and organize my stuff for a yard sale since obviously you have some experience now. 😉 But really, I hope things calm down for you soon!

  8. I used to watch Carmen Sandiego all.the.time! I loved it! I am excited to hear about how your new job is going. Have a great weekend busy lady!

  9. Zucchini casserole sounds great!
    Can’t wait to hear about the new job!!

  10. Wow, you’re so busy!! Best wishes on the new job! So excited for you! And I can’t wait to hear all about the Princess Party!! 🙂

  11. OOOOOOH, ZUCCHINI CASSEROLE! yummm.

    Congrats on the new job! I can’t wait to hear about it, Rach!

  12. Wow, what a busy week! Sounds like a lot of fun stuff, though:). I am going to have to check out Skinny Taste…someone else just told me about that blog. I am all about new healthy recipes!

  13. I hope everything is able to slow down for you! I know how being so busy can be stressful. Gina’s site is awesome. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting her several times and she is just so brilliant! I’ve actually made the zucchini pie before and love it!!

  14. mmm, your recent meals look awesome!

    it sounds like you’re so so busy – i can’t wait to hear about your new job & how everything is going! 🙂

    also, your husband is so so sweet! i would love it if my fiance surprised me with flowers every now and then!

  15. I’m so excited to hear about your new job! Your life sounds so hectic right now though, so don’t feel the need to rush it.
    I love the flowers that Christopher bought home! They’re so pretty and it’s such a sweet gesture!

  16. I used to love Carmen!!
    You are soo busy girl!! I hope you have a relaxing weekend 🙂

  17. That’s a ton of stuff to sell! I am too lazy to sell any stuff I want to get rid of- I just end up giving it to Goodwill. I need to have a garage sale!

  18. Girl, I so understand what it’s like having soooo much going on! Sounds like you’ve been blessed with lots of good things coming your way though. Hope the new job is going well! And am looking forward to hearing about this project you’re working on!!!

    Hang in there and hope you get some “down” time soon!

    BTW- love the new look to your blog… It’s been a while since I’ve visited here since I usually read your posts through email. Bright and cheerful just like you! 🙂

  19. ohhh a new job? how exciting!!!!! and i want to hear about this project!!

  20. I need to try those recipes!! 🙂

  21. Ooh, I’d love to eat a slice of that zucchini casserole right now! And it’s been *forever* since I’ve enjoyed a BLT…that needs to happen soon.

    Congrats on the new job! And have tons of fun at the princess party tonight! xoxo

  22. what a busy fun crazy life!! live it up this summer 🙂

  23. Wow… you are awesome!!! Check you out 🙂 Also, congrats on the new job! I can’t wait to hear about it in a future post.

  24. i am sure you are so busy girl!!!! you are ROCKING at life right now- i love it! God blesses His children!!!!! keep living it up and having a blast! love you, you sunshine you!

  25. Sounds like you’ve been busy!!
    I love going through stuff. Hope the yard sale goes well. Whenever I organize, I wonder how I accumulated so much stuff!

  26. You are busy, girl! 🙂 A princess party! I want to come–how fun!

    Have a great weekend!

  27. Those flowers are SO pretty! I can’t wait to read about your new job and all that you have been doing!!

  28. Hey Rach! Loved this post! Zuchinni Casserole? can you say YUM! 🙂 hope all is well with you and Christopher, sending good vibes your way 🙂 ❤ Ang

  29. Rach! I’m so happy about everything that’s been going on with you lately! You’re definitely livin’ it UP! Good for you! XD

    And those eats look amazing…the casserole looks heavenly!
    Hope you had a great Sunday!

  30. I love that little bit of sunshine too, what a pretty flower arrangement 🙂
    I am glad to hear things are going well, update us when you have the time! I can’t wait to read more lady

  31. Yummmmmm looks like you’ve been busy!! I’m stealing some of those recipes… k thanks : )

  32. moveovercelery

    You guys definitely have been busy busy busy! I definitely understand.
    Haha, so totally random but do you guys drive a Honda Fit? If so, then I’m totally jealous. 😉

    Thanks for the blog reccomendation! I’ll check it out!

  33. runyogarepeat

    Hope your princess party was a blast!
    I definitely need to do a summer cleaning out of my stuff before I move into my new apartment – there’s a ton of stuff I don’t wear/use that I don’t wanna clutter my new space with.

  34. SOunds like you have been super busy! I’ve been slacking on posting lately because of being busy too, so I understand!! 🙂 Have a great day!

  35. i gotta make that blt and zucchini casserole ASAP!!!

  36. mmm! that zucchini casserole looks yummy! do you think it’d work if i made it with garbanzo bean flour instead of bisquick?

    xo.

  37. I know how tough it can be to keep your blog updated when you have a full time job and life gets crazy! No worries though, when you do post we love to read them 🙂 And you’ve inspired me to attempt a garage sale – usually we just donate the stuff, but I think if we partner up with some friends it could go well! I LOVE getting rid of stuff that we just don’t need/use – in fact, I might be obsessed with getting rid of things…

  38. I have been secretly searching for a zucchini cassorole recipe! I say secretly, because I feel like the urge has brought it to mind, but then I always forget about wanting it and then never make it. So, all that to say, thanks for sharing! Now, I’ll go make it!

  39. Pingback: Money Talk |

  40. Pingback: My very first flower bed {and a package full of sunshine!} |

Leave a Reply

