The Miniature Garden

Okay so I really don’t want to update because my last post was just so darn cute that I want to keep looking at it every time I look at my blog. Hehe… but time moves on and today is recipe Friday so I guess I need to update. πŸ™‚ But if you missed it – go check out OIAJ (aka Oreo with his face in a jar of PB).

In other news, we are getting really close to done with the fence. That means garden time! But this week we had to make a hard decision about the time it would take to care for the garden (on top of how hot it is already) and finally decided that we aren’t able to do a full garden this year like we had hoped (crossing our fingers for next year!). However, we decided that we at least needed some herbs!

Basil, rosemary and oregano – my three favorite!

Aren’t those pots so cute? I found them on the cheap and added sticker letters so I would know which was which until they grew bigger and I could tell them apart. πŸ™‚ I’ll keep you updated on their progress as they grow!

On the recipe front… I had a first this week! My first time ever to grill all by myself! I was so proud of myself. Everything from lighting the charcoal to placement of the meat and knowing when to flip it. And dinner turned out pretty well if I do say so myself (and so did the other 5 people who ate it!)Β :)

Orange BBQ Grilled ChickenΒ 

Ingredients:

6 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1 cup bbq sauce
1/4 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
2 tbsp grated orange peel

Directions:

1. Mix bbq sauce, orange juice and orange peel in bowl. Place chicken in a large resealable plastic bag and add orange bbq mixture. Seal bag, and shake to coat. Place in refrigerator for 1-4 hours, turning every so often.

2. Preheat grill for high heat.

3. Lightly oil the grill grate. Remove chicken from bag, discarding any remaining marinade. Grill for 6 to 8 minutes each side, or until juices run clear when chicken is pierced with a fork. Serve over brown rice.

And I made this Mexican dish that was really just a bunch of pantry items thrown together, but it was still very tasty! We enjoyed eating the leftovers all week for lunch. πŸ™‚

Mexican Meat and PastaΒ 

Ingredients:

6 oz dried multigrain rotini
12 oz lean ground turkey
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 cup salsa
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp chili powder
Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350. In a large saucepan, cook pasta according to package directions, drain.Β Return pasta to hot saucepan; set aside.
2. Meanwhile, in a large skillet, cook meat and garlic until meat is browned, stirring to break up meat as it cooks. Drain off fat.
3. Stir the cooked meat into the pasta saucepan. Stir in beans, tomatoes, salsa, oregano, cumin and chili powder. Transfer to casserole dish and cover. Bake 30 minutes.
—-

This weekend I get to hang out with my oldest sister’s family. Melissa (oldest sis) lives in Prague so I only get to see her every couple of years. I’m very excited to see my her and my niece and her husband and her pregnant belly (my future nephew!). There will be lots of photos from this weekend, I’m sure! πŸ™‚

31 responses to “The Miniature Garden

  1. Oh how cool! I want to have a HUGE garden someday πŸ™‚ Hope your mini herb garden thrives! πŸ˜€

    xo.

  2. awww….just saw your last post….love the matching tattoos πŸ™‚

  3. I’m starting my garden this weekend too and I’m so excited!! I can’t wait for some fresh basil!!

  4. runyogarepeat

    Such a cute idea, I love the little labels on the pots!

  5. YAY for gardening πŸ˜€ I wish I had one!!

  6. I love fresh herbs! I bought a kit to grow my own but I never got around to planting them. I would love to plant oregano, basil, and cilantro!

  7. I love your herb pots! Too cute! I have tried growing basil once and it didn’t go all that well. I want to try it again.

  8. pawsitivelife

    EEEK, we just got our first home and we wont move in this garden season but next year for sure I will have my own garden and I can grow some awesome food. I will also have to check out your mad fencing skills since we have to put one in πŸ™‚

  9. What a good idea with the letters on the pots! Have a GREAT weekend… can’t wait to see pictures!

  10. Mmmm- I wish we had a grill so I could make orange grilled chicken! I wonder if our George Foreman grill would work…
    And that Mexican meat & pasta dish looks yummy too!

  11. that is so adorable with the pots girl! you are SO cute! I hope you have an amazing weekend!

  12. omg love your herb garden! So adorable πŸ™‚

  13. just putting little stickers on your pots make them so cute! and even though it’s only 8 in the morning that chicken makes my mouth water πŸ™‚

    have a great weekend!

  14. How exciting that your fence work is almost done! I know you are going to enjoy your herb garden.

  15. Cute garden! I love those pots πŸ™‚

    LOVE when you do recipe Fridays!!!

  16. I planted some tomatoes this year, but the sad thing is, is that I had to move right after I planted them, so I am having to go back and forth once a week to check on them. Can’t wait to see what happens with your little herb garden and the chicken/pasta looks really good!

  17. yay for the fence! I love gardens. We had several veggies last year. Since we moved recently, this year we just have a couple tomato plants that are doing so-so.

  18. That pasta and the orange bbq chicken looks absolutely delicious! Good job grilling by yourself for the first time! Whoo-hoo! πŸ™‚

    Have a wonderful time with the big sis! My brother and his family lives in Alaska and I only see them once in a couple years, too…makes the time you have with them extra special. πŸ™‚ Enjoy!

  19. Those pots are great! WAY to go on the grill! We have propane and I’ve never even thought of using it. Especially since we were gifted a grill pan a few years ago, hehe. I’ve been wanting to venture into cooking fish though and that’s a good grill project so the house doesn’t get stinky. Have a great weekend!

  20. Queen of The Grill? You go girl! I’m still scared by the idea of it!

  21. love the mini garden! i have herbs to plant, but i just (sadly) haven’t gotten around to doing it yet… you’ve inspired me to get started!

  22. I loooooove rosemary, although it’s always trying to take over my parents’ garden πŸ˜› Definitely make the Nigella/Union Square nuts when it’s grown! So good!

  23. That’s so cool that your sister lives in Prague! I’ve always wanted to visit πŸ™‚

  24. Love the herb garden! The pots are precious!!!

  25. basil rosemary oregano??? great pics haha

  26. Those pots are SO cute. I really need to get my act together and plant some herbs:)

  27. Oh, I definitely plan on making that orange chicken. That looks so good! I think chicken tastes the best when it’s grilled.

  28. moveovercelery

    That is such a cute idea for labeling your herbs! Have fun with your sister, Rach. πŸ™‚

  29. Three herb winners there for sure. I’m going to get my herbs in this week! I’m so excited!

    Lots of yummy love,
    Alex aka Ma What’s For Dinner
    http://www.mawhats4dinner.com

  30. Pingback: Home Work and Home Grown |

  31. Pingback: This Italian GARDEN! |

Leave a Reply

